We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, lousy clientele”
Review of Hotel 10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 10
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, lousy clientele”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had read on Trip Advisor to expect some noise at this hotel. I did not find the club below to be particularly noisy, but I was awakened by banging and loud shouting in the hall at around 3:30 a.m. This continued on and off for a couple of hours. The next morning, I asked if I could change floors and was accommodated immediately, with profuse apologies (I was not the only person who complained).

However, the next night, three floors up, the same thing happened at around 2:30 a.m. There was also loud music, and I wondered why I could hear the club on the fourth floor when I hadn't on the first. It turns out the music was coming from one of the rooms on the floor. After about half an hour, I called the front desk. They said they would send Security immediately. I don't think it did much good, as the music kept going. I managed to fall asleep again, only to hear more loud banging and yelling at a quarter to five in the morning.

The staff did what they could, but this hotel seems to be for those out to party until the wee hours. That's fine with me (Montreal is a great city for that), but you'd think they might have some respect for other guests in the hotel once they get back to their rooms. I was surprised that this happened twice, with two completely different groups of people. And the staff seemed used to it. In fact, as I was checking out, one guest was thanking the attendant for having carried him to his room the previous night. Great service! But, sadly, no sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LK_IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    240
    72
    26
    28
See reviews for
74
239
40
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I agree with those people critizising the noise at the hotel... back when I stayed at the hotel (October 2011, when it was still Opus) the hotel restaurant would turn into a night club with people coming and going out until late. The worst part of it wasn't the fact of having people downstair, because you wouldn't here the noise, but having people in the corridors making noise.

But... I am giving a good rating to the hotel because I stayed there for 10 nights and I really enjoyed the hotel. The location is just perfect, in the main avenue of the city, not far from the business centre and at a stone's throw from bars and restaurants.

Then the service was excellent, the young staff of the reception was always willing to help with a smile. And not only the people from reception were nice but also the staff from the bar, the restaurant, the doors, etc... just an example, I left an important document back at the hotel and the staff from the reception kindly sent it to me back to Europe with no cost and in record time!

The breakfast was very nice too; one critic to it... since it was served on the hotel's restaurant, it's common to have sticky floors (carpet basically) from the previous night's parties... but that's the problem of having carpets also... although they should pay special attention to that fact.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Chose this hotel for the location close to Maison Symphonique de Montréal and good restaurants, also good price during the week.
At reception staff seemed confused, a new hotel system was being implemented. Next morning, the room was on my bill even if it was prepaid, and at a different rate. They took the room charged out and then charged it again 4 days later, they will now take it out after I complained. Not one we are sorry!
Room was clean but needs refreshing: carpet was torn and curtain not holding well
The worst was the breakfast, the wait was incredible, 15 minutes to get a coffee and 45 minutes to get some food. They were clearly understaffed, the young waitress was very nice and it was not her fault. At least 3 bosses came and checked on the situation as clients were probably complaining at the reception, but none of them picked a plate up or helped out!
I mentioned this at the reception and the only response was I know!
This was a very frustrating hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aubergeQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent the weekd end at Hotel 10 last week.
What a great Hotel.
From arrival to be greated by wonderful Marie Eve at the desk and Lovely Rahel at night.
Housekeeping was amazing. Very clean room.Bed very comfortable.
With the nightclub on lobby closed, no issue with noise.
This hotel is on the right path!!!!!great location. Great Place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel 10 is an older Boutique style hotel. Clean and modern in design. It's obvious the hotel is older, but steps have been taken to make it newer and modern. Between 5-9pm they have a cocktail hour in the lobby where they give you a complimentary glass of Prosecco.

Am definitely satisfied for the price!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here while visiting for a Canadiens game. This hotel has a great feel and is very welcoming when entering. Located approx. 15 mins from Rue Saint Catherine which is a primary location for shopping and approx 30 mins from Old Montreal. The hotel offers a courtesy shuttle in a Mercedes that will take you anywhere in a 5km radius from the hotel. The driver offers great insight on the city when dropping you off at your particular location. The rooms where very clean and had a great boutique feel to them.

The only downfall to this hotel is that the parking is rather expensive at $24.00 a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Needed to bed down for the night just before Christmas '12. Convenient to where other family members were gathering for evening together.
Hotel 10 perfectly adequate, but hardly a "Design Hotel' "providing a unique boutique experience unlike any you'll find in Montreal".
If that's the best 'boutique hotel' Montreal can provide. mmmmm!
Perfectly clean and comfortable, and acceptable at $159 excluding taxes (and goodness how many do the Quebec and Montreal authorities have to add? We counted 8 on our bill!)
What is totally unacceptable in this day and and age is to find hotels charging for internet access, in this case $14.95, outrageous.
Better to charge $15 more on the bill rather than highlight this rip-off.
I travelled extensively on business in Europe, Middle East, US and Africa, I thought this habit of charging for access had more or less died out when I retired 5 years ago.
Maybe I'm missing something in Canada, but come on folks, get real, it costs you very little if you have 21st century cabling.
I would add the breakfast was very good, service excellent, but again $25 dollars a head?!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 10

Property: Hotel 10
Address: 10 Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 4C9, Canada (Formerly Opus Hotel Montreal)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#48 Family Hotel in Montreal
#49 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#50 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 10 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Opus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing