We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #20 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just love this hotel. I love the staff, the location, the drinks, the service, the rooms, the view, the valet parking guys. I love that well-traveled teenagers and older travelers are just as welcome as hipsters. It is worth every nickel. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions concerning your recent stay amongst us.

We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your overall W experience. We will share your nice comments to our team and especially to our ambassadors.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for W Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been to Montreal many times for business and this trip was a romantic weekend getaway. This is a fantastic hotel with great amenities. The bars and restaurants are very trendy and the hotel is in close proximity to both Old Montreal and Downtown Montreal.

Our check-in took a bit longer than I would have liked and our bags were not up in our room like we were told but in retrospect these were very small things that did not have a negative impact on our weekend.

The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. We had to counter an offer on a house and even though the business center did not have a scanner, the concierge went to the admin office and had it done for us. Great service.

We would definitely stay here again. Safe travels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this nice review.

We are glad to read you appreciated our hotel, its design and prime location. We strive to provide our guest an outstanding service from check-in to check-out and it is always a reward to read such positive comments.

We are hoping to welcome you back in the near future,

Warmest regards,

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent service, everybody was really friendly, helpfull&... good looking, almost intimidating. It's Chic, modern, full of energy hotel. Excellent location- close to everything. I loved idea of having everything in hotel - so you don't have to ever leave the hotel:) including really popular nightclub. Have a couple drinks and then just go upstairs and sleep is handy. If you are looking for quiet sleep, this could be an issue. We heard music from our room. I saw a dog, so must be pet friendly, which I wouldn't expect. I would recomended for party people visiting Montreal. $ per night starts at $240 + tax and goes high from there. Overall excellent experience - couples special occasion is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for room where you won't hear nightclub to get good night sleep or ear plugs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and are pleased to see you enjoyed the hotel, its location and the service provided. We are indeed a pet friendly hotel. Please refer to our website if you would like to have more information on our P.A.W (Pets Are Welcome™) program.

Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your night.
Please note that your concerns regarding the soundproofing of our rooms are being addressed to the team in charge of the upcoming renovations.

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here for our anniversary in March. I had been in contact with the concierge previously for hotel reservations so they knew of our special occasion. Not only did they upgrade our room to one of the super sexy ones with a huge bathtub, they also surprised us with chocolates and bottled water in our room after we checked in. Daniel, the concierge, was fantastic, making sure we had reservations at Au Pied de Cochon before we even arrived. The Acura service was also quite nice - they drove us to Au Pied de Cochon one night, Joe Beef another night, and even to the bus station when we departed for Quebec City. I've stayed in other W's that have the Acura Experience and it's NEVER available, so this was an unexpected treat. We loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time to review W Montréal.

Congratulations again for your anniversary! We are delighted that you chose us to celebrate this special occasion and that we contributed to make it unforgettable.

We will certainly share your comments with our team and especially with Daniel.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Warmest regards,

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for our anniversary and we had a great trip. We told the front desk staff of our special occasion and they upgraded us to a gorgeous room! This hotel was in a great location to go to all the different spots in Old Montreal that we wanted to check out. So many restaurants/shopping etc very close.
We didn't check out the restaurant as the menu didn't seem that appealing and was overpriced when there are so many great places to eat in the city. Went to the night club but there were about 5 other people in there so we didn't stay long. We found it was great value as we paid in advance for a discount. Beds are soooo comfortable and room was very nice and clean and spacious!
The staff was so helpful in any suggestions, directions, reservations, you name it. Helped make our anniversary trip GREAT!! :)

Room Tip: Make sure to let them know if you're celebrating a special occasion!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

Congratulations again on your anniversary and we are delighted that you chose us to celebrate this special occasion.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your positive comments. We will certainly share this with our team.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and celebrate many more special occasions with you!

Thank you!
Your W Montreal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the W Montreal for a week in April. Great location; subway right beneath it, everything within a 15 minute walk. Front desk staff and concierge that I interacted with were very nice. David from concierge even remembered me a few days later.

The rooms are gorgeous. Though it's not a hotel for friends. The glass walled shower looks out into the bedroom and isn't frosted. Lots of overpriced items to buy in the bedroom. Extremely comfortable bed.

I didn't go to the club or the bars, and didn't hear any of the noise from them either. The lobby and hallways are fairly dark, with lots of LEDs.

Were there pretentious people around? Absolutely; but you can take care to avoid them and enjoy this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review!

We couldn’t be more pleased to see you spend a lovely time with us and that you enjoyed our prime location and the design of our rooms.

Thank you again for your kind words and please be assured that we’ll pass them along to our team especially David.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's trendy, I'm not. It's hip, I once might have been. It's modern, I usually hate modern. But I LOVE the W. I'd probably usually say it's too loud, too dark, too pretentious, and the lobby/bar may be all of that. But the rooms are sublime. We stayed in a king room on the 8th floor, 814 to be exact. It was huge, and the bathroom is probably equal size as the bedroom with an open concept that makes the entire room seem like a massive studio. Furniture is plush and chic. Sitting chair as comfortable as they come as well as a very cozy bed. W has their own brand of mattresses. Bathroom included a walk in shower with rain fall shower head and room for the Montreal Canadiens starting five. Also includes a deep, long bath tub. The room is loaded with extras! Ipod dock with surround sound speakers, kaleidoscope, rubber ducky, beyond well equipped mini bar which even has souvenirs, tv bigger than most hotels. Location is close to everything in the old quarter. Subway stop directly across the street. The view looked over Victoria square but no noise could be heard from the busy area. The room is loaded with extras! Staff are the best at what they do. From the housekeepers to valets to concierge. I would say its probably not a good hotel for families or the elderly, but to say I enjoyed my stay would be an understatement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for reviewing W Montréal. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed yourself amongst us and that you liked the design and the amenities in your room. We will surely share your comments with our team.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#40 of 165 in Montreal
535 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $202 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing