We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable !”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable !”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was hoping for a quiet and relaxing getaway with my boyfriend for valentine's day but what I got was soo much better ! The room was beautiful and being from Montreal I was able to run all my errands because the middle of downtown is just a 5 minute walk. We got incredible service on every aspect... Parking, check in, room service, you name it... It was great ! The food was very good and not over priced ! I had brought movies just in case we had a DVD player but even though it isn't in the room from the start, a quick call to the front desk and someone came up within 5 minutes and hooked it up for us ! All in all... One of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time ! Highly recommended !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassigirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your experience.

It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us during your Valentine’s Day getaway! We are really pleased to see that our entire team and our ideal location contributed to make this special occasion a lovely one to remember.

We look forward to welcome you during your next visit in Montréal!

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    349
    127
    54
    40
See reviews for
108
572
119
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've stayed at the W for work and fun and almost and it's consistently been a great experience.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful: from the front desk to room service personnel, every one is always friendly and smiling.
They manage to convey a very warm feel that makes each stay feel like being at home! Overall, they set the bar for me in terms of hotel service. Now everywhere i go i expect the same service and friendliness as at the W Montreal....which most of the time is not matched.
The location of the hotel is perfect and is the perfect anchor for any visit to Montreal. If you're coming in winter it's even connected to the city's underground path system.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor - above 5 is ok. Rooms ending with 16 are very nice corner suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for writing this beautiful review about W Montréal.
The location of our hotel is indeed ideal for those who want to discover the city as well as the underground city which is greatly appreciated during the winter season!

We are glad to hear that you have been able to feel at home with us and that our enthusiastic staff always goes above and beyond to make your stay even more enjoyable. We will definitely pass along your kinds words to the team!

We hope to welcome you back during your next stay in Montréal.

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our stay at the W was nothing short of outstanding. The hotel itself has a very young hip vibe. Our room, although small, was very clean and had a lovely view (we requested this and they immediately changed our reservation to accommodate us). The room's decor was modern and sexy. The shower is separated from the rest of the room only by a large glass window so those with a need for privacy beware. As a couple we found this detail fun and very appropriate as the reason for our visit was a Valentine's getaway.
I was most impressed with the service. Every staff member we interacted with was incredibly friendly, willing to help, and went above and beyond to make our stay at the W a special one.
My only complaint would be that the food was not great. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast and I found both meals to be "just ok" and definitely not worth the price.

Overall I was thoroughly impressed with the W Montreal. I would absolutely recommend and will definitely return!

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room with a view that is away from the hotel bar/lounge and plays music unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at W Montréal and for posting this nice review.

We love when our guests come to W Montréal to celebrate special occasions like Valentine’s Day.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay among us! It is our pleasure to accommodate to our guests’ wishes when possible. It is also great to see that you enjoyed the design of our rooms with its electric blue accents and the open bathroom concept!

Please be assured that we will share your positive feedback with our team.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Whenever I travel out to Montreal, I look nowhere else to stay but the W! Nice hip hotel close to everything in the city. The rooms are very clean and found nothing to complain about them. Although the rooms are a bit small, but its not a big deal for me since all I need the room for is to sleep. The club and lounge areas on the hotel are also pretty cool, alot of pretty women to see.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lewis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I decided to visit Montreal for our honeymoon in August. We stayed for 4 nights. We are very happy that we chose the W Montreal.

The hotel itself is very modern and chic. It is definitely a hotel that is trying to be trendy... maybe too much so but, that is really my only complaint. We stayed in a "Fantastic" suite. The room was huge and had a wonderful, open concept. It was also nicely decorated and very clean. The service we received while we were their was spectacular. They went out of their way to be accommodating and make our honeymoon special. Besides the service, the location of the W Montreal is my favorite thing about this hotel. Old Montreal is my favorite area of the city. It is such a romantic area and it was wonderful having it within walking distance.

Overall, my husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the W Montreal; it was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your last experience at W Montréal.

First of all congratulations for your wedding! We are really pleased to see that we contributed to make your honeymoon a special moment to remember!

We aim to provide our guests with the highest level of service. Your kind words will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Customer service is top notch. Best hotel in Montreal! :)
Very modern and hip. They really make you feel welcome and don't want you to leave. Between the 2 bars, lounge and restaurant, it has a resort style of feeling, there is plenty to keep you entertained at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us.

We strive to provide our guests exceptional service from the moment they arrive and it is great to hear you appreciate our efforts!

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the W after braving a blizzard and were very pleasantly surprised with how friendly the staff was, from the valet to the front desk staff. Check-in was quick and easy. The room was fine, but nothing spectacular. Others have mentioned that the rooms are dark (they are), but that didn't really bother us. The curtain-as-a-door to the bathroom was just strange, but whatever floats your boat...I think the teal blue color just got to me after awhile! At any rate, we enjoyed the drinks at the Plateau Lounge both nights and the comfortable, quiet atmosphere there. At times, you feel like you need to dress as a fashionista while staying here, so if that's not your thing, be mindful. We did not eat at the restaurant or have room service, so not sure how great either was. I did notice that there are options for your pet on the room service menu, however...quite humorous! Good location...only a few blocks from great restaurants and shops of Old Montreal.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your last stay at W Montréal.

Your satisfaction concerning the service provided by our entire team is very important for us, and it was a real pleasure to share your comments with them. It is also nice to hear you enjoyed your cocktails at Plateau Lounge.

Nevertheless, we are sorry to read that our rooms did not meet all your expectations and we understand that the open bathroom concept doesn’t fit everyone. Please note that we will undergo extensive room renovations at the end of 2013 which will give a new look to our rooms.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Your W Montréal’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
1,331 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 164 in Montreal
1,769 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,114 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Property: W Montreal
Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing