We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Based in New Zealand, where there arent any Starwood hotels, so staying at a W is a treat. The W Hotel in Montreal does have the Wow factor with the design led hotel room, good space and nice touches like the Acura car service (free one way trip around the city), excellent city centre location right next to a subway stop and close proximity to the old town. Door staff were very welcoming and the concierge was helpful in finding us a number of local restaurants to eat.

We had a great time travelling around Canada and the States and the W Montreal was our favourite hotel on our trip

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent place. Service is amazing and leta not forget if you ask for a coffee machine in our room u recieve a nespresso machine. The lounge is a must visit . Font desk. Bellmen were excellent.
I stayed at the W union square in nyc and there are a huge different in quality and service

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend away in Montreal. Located right on the subway and on the edge of Old Montreal we where able to explore the city easily. My wife had a massage at the Away spa with Mike and she said it was the best one she has ever had. The staff looked after our every need and the swank room was perfect for the quiet get away we needed.

Room Tip: Corner suites of course have a more windows and a way better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingnutTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the hotel,
It is nice to hear your wife enjoyed her experience at AWAY Spa. We will pass along your good comments to Mike- he will be very happy!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Warmly,
Your W Montréal’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Overall good stay, great location, right downtown within walking distance of Old Montreal where there are lots of restaurant choices. Also within walking distance to train station, which is how I traveled from Toronto on VIA. Check in was quick and easy, and I was upgraded based on my status with Starwood Preferred to the "Mega" room. Good size, generous room. Shower area is cavernous, as is the deep tub! Bathroom area is open to the rest of the room and is separately by a thin blue curtain. Huge windows over looking the downtown! (I was on the 5th flr)

Only cons that I experienced were problems with the TV reception, seems the HD channels were not always available. Had to call maintenance twice during my stay to resolve. And second, was no in room coffee available. Free coffee and tea is available in the morning in the lobby ("Living Room"), but I personally like have in room coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28_apg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review W Montréal.
Sorry for the inconveniences with the TV reception but we are happy to hear that you liked your stay here! Also, note that a coffee machine is available on demand. So next time you visit, just dial 0 and it will be a pleasure for our Whatever/Whenever service to bring you a coffee machine.
Sincerely,
Your W Montréal’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the hotel. There was no view but the room was clean, spacious and quiet. The hotel has a convenient downtown location. The price was slightly high considering the amenities. Reccomendable if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great hotel with a very hip vibe. It was almost as if I walked in from the streets of Montreal into a Vegas hotel. The room I had was fantastic. Oversized reading chair. Wild bathroom with a soaking tub, walk in shower, HUGE! Perfectly quiet, comfortable, and the lighting added to the level of relaxation.

The second level lounge was another great surprise. An illuminated bar with a fallen leaf theme. Talented and experienced bar staff with a good combination of quality spirits.

The staff was the true standout. From the moment I check in, the doorman remembered my name. Not because I gave him a $50 tip (because I didn't), but because it really seemed like he cared. Made me feel like I was at my father's country club, minus the snobbery. Checking in at the front desk was easy, quick, and professional. Tips and suggestions from the front desk and concierge, again outstanding. Had dinner at the restaurant at the bar, followed by a late lunch the following day. Hostess remembered me, greeted me with a great smile - "welcome back".

Great location. Couple blocks to St. Catherine. Couple blocks to Old Port. Easy getting to from Pont Champlain.

Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to whatever you can afford. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeffeSpringfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the W Montréal,
While each guest is special for us we strive to provide a unique and personalized experience and make them feel at home. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our cocktails at Plateau lounge, our mixologists made the most unique and tasty cocktails. We can’t thank you enough for such positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warmly,
Your W Montréal’s Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First time to canada, and i loved it. The W was perfectly located justva few blocks from the shopping area. everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and spoke english & french. The room was very nice, a bit small but nice. room service was incredible (brought us a pack of smokes at 5am).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFILI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 166 in Montreal
1,830 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 166 in Montreal
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,547 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $186 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing