We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wine bar that loves its veggies”
Review of Le Vin Papillon

Le Vin Papillon
Ranked #281 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wine bar that loves its veggies”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

First, a word of warning - Vin Papillon does not take reservations and it is popular. It is also small, seating about twenty-five. It's first come, first served, and you will probably have to wait. There is no comfortable place to do that, so the best strategy is to arrive too late for lunch, too early for dinner, preferably on a Tuesday. Additionally, this restaurant is best for parties of two. Larger groups might have to wait a very long time before they could be accommodated. All that said, it is certainly worth a little inconvenience. A wine bar is all about wine, of course, and the list here is interesting, fairly priced, and offers a number of private imports. The wine waiter is patient, well-informed and able to describe the unfamiliar in both languages effectively. There are several wines offered by the glass as well. The menu consists of small plates, intended to be shared. They recommend three to four for two persons, and that is what we had. Every review of VP that I've read raves about the roasted cauliflower and with good reason. We also liked the Brussels sprouts (yes, sprouts), done with Speck , a variety of prosciutto. And there was a plate of gnocchi, which the waiter informed us were not the usual potato preparation. They weren't, but were intensely good all the same. We avoided the cheesecake as it was served in that annoyingly popular Mason jar, but went for the semolina cake, which was lovely. The menu changes constantly and tries hard to be locally sourced. But in the depths of a winter that will not leave quietly, that means that the vegetables, which the chef clearly loves, tend toward the hardier sorts. Not a hardship in this case. If you roll your eyes at sprouts and cauliflower, you are in for a surprise. I am looking forward to returning later in the year, when the terrasse will open and the tomatoes will be ripe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friend had recommended but I had no idea what to expect. They serve small portions of 'tapas' with an ever changing menu. We had a few plate including a root of celery plate that was amazing. Excellent! Arrive early if you want a table. No reservations and there is a lineup

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravo_deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This place has it all”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The romantically dim lit and cozy atmosphere of this wine and tapas bar will pull you in right off of the street, if you are one lucky enough to see this small establishment. Once inside, however, the aroma of the delicately prepared dishes will convince you to stay, even if all of the twelve tables are filled.

Fortunately, the attentive staff and maitre d' will not only recommend a wine for you to enjoy while you wait but they will allow you to taste their wines until you find the perfect one to suit your tastes.

Only once you are seated does the exceptional culinary experience begin. With a menu that is constantly changing there are many reason to continue to return. The staff is able to recommend dishes that you will enjoy, but there is not a single dish that is not more than enjoyable.

You must try this very fine wine bar, and by the time you are paying the bill, you will be planning your next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A truly sensational meal”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The meal was certainly one of the best I have anywhere in the world.

The rave reviews since its opening a few months ago are certainly accurate.

Every dish was sensational. They are wonderfully creative and so different to your run of the mill tapas that has spread rapidly across the city.

The grilled oysters and potatoes with egg and caviar were the highlight but every one of the other nine dishes we shared was truly memorable.

The restaurant is small and the atmosphere has a real buzz. If I have a criticism it is the white wine, while quite delicious, wasn't quite cold enough. The wait staff was excellent.

We left at 9.30pm and there was a line-up of 15 people waiting to enjoy the culinary experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile


I am surprised that I have read great reviews of this place (more on other sites). I told my server that I has a dinner later and only wanted something light. He didn't listen to me. He suggested very heavy plates. On the positive they did adapt dishes for to not include meat.

Also, didn't serve the wine properly, which I am not usually that bothered by, except the wine was 17$/ glass (also he under poured it). For that pricetag, I would prefer a real glass, one the nose of the wine can actually come through. I mean it is supposed to be a wine bar, afterall.

I was surprised because I have heard great things about the service and food here and it was mediocre at best. Not that it waste terrible, but it wasn't worthy of the joe beef name.

In total, 60$ for 2 glasses of wine, with 2 plates, I was not impressed enough to go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miztiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vin Papillon also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Vin Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing