We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location Wonderful Property in Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, CT USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Location Wonderful Property in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We used to travel to Montreal regularly but have not been there in more than a year so the Downtown Courtyard is new to us. The location is perfect you can walk, Bixi Bike or Metro everywhere from here. We were just a short block from the Jazz Fest which was a nice advantage. Montreal is such a great city to visit with French heritage, culture and cuisine at it's core, yet you also have an amazing array of other cultures that enrich the city and delight the tourists. As a base the Courtyard Downtown could not be better. The rooms are large with floor to ceiling windows and subdued decor. There is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The fitness center is a huge beautiful glass enclosed room on the top(11th) floor of the one of the buildings. There is an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and outdoor deck on this level as well. The other building in the hotel complex is a tall skyscraper that is only partially occupied by the hotel; the remainder of the building (most of it) has rental apartments. The Courtyard moniker implies something lower down in the Marriott hierarchy but this one is in my opinion on a par with the Marriott Montreal flagship, Chateau Champlain. I think the prices for either are about the same too. I am glad to now have the choice in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB88fml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    235
    54
    15
    31
See reviews for
216
257
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I love this hotel for it service and convenience to Chinatown and Festival. The people at the front desk was outstanding. The restaurant waitresses were great, they gave great service. I highly recommend this hotel when you are in Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Immediately at check-in, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large with nice furnishings and a comfortable bed. We had a mini fridge, coffee maker, and in-room safe. The view was wonderful. In-room A/C controls actually worked and allowed us to keep the room a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was clean. The only possible negative to this room is that there was no bathtub. So, if you like to take baths, you may want to see if they have rooms that offer them. The restaurant was pretty good with a nice cocktail list. The service was friendly and my steak was perfectly cooked. They don't offer complimentary breakfast of any sort and we did not try the restaurant for breakfast so I can't give an opinion on that. The location was perfect. It was a short walk from the train station, metro station, and old Montreal/Port area; tons of great restaurants within walking distance; a walk to cirque du soleil; around the corner from Chinatown; and only a couple blocks from the Francopholies music festival going on at the time. It's a highrise hotel, which surprised me for some reason, considering this is a "Courtyard" brand hotel It was basically a full-service hotel in a great location with friendly staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estoltz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I just spent three nights at this Courtyard and as others have mentioned, this is one of the nicest Courtyards out there. It is nicer than some of the Marriott's. I will explain later why I did not give an excellent for this hotel. Here is our experience:

Arrival: From the Montreal airport, we took the "747" bus and the stop was half a block from the hotel. The 747 bus is a regular city bus that starts right outside the baggage claim. We purchased the weekend pass which we could use for the subway and other buses. The bus we was on had luggage racks (similar to a car rental shuttle) so we could place our luggage on the racks. We did notice other buses did not have the racks. Since we arrived on a Saturday afternoon, traffic was very light. From the time we got onto the bus to getting off, it was about 25 minutes. Just a warning, the bus does not stop at each stop, just like a regular bus. Make sure to press the button so the driver will know you want to get off. Also, some of the drivers does not mention what stop is next, so just watch out. You might miss the stop.

Checking In: There are three reception desk and each one had a staff member assisting a guest. I waited about five minutes and the person that assisted me was very friendly. I wish I got his name. The person explained everything about the hotel and he also mentioned that you need your room key in order to press the floor in the elevator.

Room: We had a room with a queen size bed and the size of the room was pretty generous. Besides the bed, there was a desk, a sofa, and mini refrigerator. The weird thing was while sitting on the sofa, the television seemed far away (I guess that's a good thing). The bathroom was also very spacious. The best part was there was a card that showed the television channels.

Location: There is a shopping mall across the street that had a supermarket (IGA) where we picked up some snacks and drinks. There was other restaurants within this mall. Since this mall caters to the office workers, most of the restaurants was closed on Saturday and Sunday. There are two subway stations that are about a 5-10 minute walk. Depending on where you want to go, will determine which station you need to go. One of the subway stations is near the art complex where there is also a Starbucks, if you are into this. From Old Montreal, it was about a 15-20 minute walk. As for restaurants, there are a bunch within walking distance.

Check out: Check out was quick and we caught the 747 bus back to the airport.

Negative: The only negative was we had a room that at night, a blue light would shine into the room. The blue light was part of the design of the building. We could have pulled the curtains back, but we wanted to have the sun wake us up. For some people who have difficulties sleeping, the light might be a nuisance.

Final Comment: My wife and I found the Courtyard to be a great hotel. Originally we was going to stay at the Springhill Suites in Old Montreal, but decided against it because of the airport transportation. We was glad we did because getting from and to the airport was a breeze because the stop for the 747 is right near the hotel. The hotel is new so it does not have the worn down look yet and the location is great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is better than any other courtyard I have been in. Better than many Marriott's in fact.

And consistent with other places in Canada, service is outstanding.

The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are beautiful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SNDBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the downtown courtyard for a mix of business and pleasure as we attended the 2014 F1 race in June. The location was excellent as it was an easy walk to many local establishments and about a 12 minute walk to Old Montreal.
I would give this a 4.5 or 90% rating if TA allowed for that and not a 100% only because it's not a full service hotel and our room was without a bathtub which is my wife's preference. This courtyard also didn't provide complimentary breakfast for their Platinum guests as many others do.
The staff were all superb from the rookie at the front desk to Jean-Sebastian at the door who helped us with directions, taxis and dining suggestions and never had his hand out looking for a tip as so many hotel employees do.

Rooms were large and clean with fairly comfortable beds so they hit the mark in this area

Bonus feature: after a long day of walking around the Circuit de Gilles Villeneuve upon returning to the hotel you can enjoy one or more of the several excellent drafts that the have on tap at the lobby bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bathtub in your room then you should make that request ahead of time and not assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscriminateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel and wished it could have been more. The hotel is less than a year old and very modern. We were lucky enough to have a corner room which was huge. There were floor to ceiling wraparound windows,a massive wardrobe, fridge, coffee maker, pull out desk, free wifi, very big king size, comfy bed, lovely big shower cubicle and great clear LG TV.
Lifts took us from the hotel lobby down into the underground car park. And the lifts had Tv's!
We didn't get time to use the pool, but found the laundrette on the 11th floor very useful.
The breakfast was good value and delicious.
We found the hotel to be perfectly located and walked to old town in about 10 minutes. The Jazz festival was on our doorstep, as was Chinatown.
If I had to criticise anything it would be the very low powered hair dryer supplied in the bathroom, but that would be very very picky!
I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner roons are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley999Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Property: Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Address: 380 Rene-Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Montreal Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is located in the heart of downtown Montreal in the quartier des spectacles district, on Rene Levesque boulevard West. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is a contemporary design by Brian Burrows Architects of Montreal; development by the CANVAR Group of Montreal, a leading Montreal real-estate developer. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is sure to become a landmark in the downtown Montreal core.Located one block from Montreal's Convention Center and minutes away from the world famous underground city, Place des Arts Theater, shops and boutiques on vibrant Ste. Catherine Street, Bell Center, and 3 street corners from old Montreal.Our hotel in downtown Montreal operates as a full service boutique style hotel, predominately serving corporate travelers; with ample underground parking, sauna, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view.Our lobby dining room & lounge at Le Darlington features ample seating in a warm spacious and inviting setting serving: “a la carte” breakfast and continental menu for lunch and dinner daily.For meetings up to 300 people, we offer modern, spacious, well equipped, comfortable meeting/banquet facilities.Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville will easily become the place to choose for corporate travelers, business meetings or a weekend getaway. We are sincerely looking forward to serving your lodging requirements.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing