We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A welcome addition to the Marriott family in Montreal. Not your typical Courtyard with a great lobby bar and restaurant and feel of a full service Marriott. Good location, great service! Definitely will be back on my regular Montreal trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ulsterman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments concerning your stay at the New Courtyard Marriott Montreal.

We sincerely hope to serve you again when your travels bring you to the Montreal area.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    235
    55
    16
    31
See reviews for
216
257
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

nice new hotel feel and great location, walking distance to both downtown, chinatown and the old port. friendly staff who were able to guide us and give directions. parking facilities were very convenient and accessible. arrived early but were able to check in ok. only let down was that we were given a low floor room so the view was not that great, expected a higher floor room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oggieonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the New Courtyard Marriott Montreal. We at the Courtyard Marriott Montreal strive to insure that your stay is an enjoyable one and it is with your comment that we can improve not only our product but also our service.

We wish to let you know that while our hotel has 11 floors and most rooms have a great view due to the distance that our building has from other buildings is quite far for a downtown location. Most urban hôtels cannot offer any view at all.

We sincerely hope to serve you again when your travels bring you to the Montreal area.

Yours truly,

Francis Browne
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

1. Great location, close to everything food, office, and train.
2. In and out overnight parking up to 3pm next day for CAD 27 (include tax), but you need to paid at the check in desk in order to use your room key to get into the garage behind the hotel.
3. Brand new hotel with high ceiling in the room, and big bathroom, good water pressure, include fridge, k-cup coffee machine.
4. Brand new pool and fitness center should stop by.

Room Tip: pick the higher floor, will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLatcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the New Courtyard Marriott Montreal.

Your tip about the rooms on higher floors is correct but I must say that foe an urban hotel all of our rooms have a view. Most urban hôtels have a side that the windows give a view of a brick wall. We do not have that challenge because our hotel was built away from other buildings and the buildings that are close by are not higher than 2 stories high.

We thank you for your comments and sincerely hope to serve you again when your travels bring you to the Montreal area.

Yours truly,

Francis Browne
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This Courtyard, which just opened in Sept of 2013, is better than most Marriotts I've stayed at and is well above what a normal Courtyard is. The room was well appointed and large, with a very modern and clean look along with a large bathroom. The hotel uses RFID cards instead of magnetic keycards and provides Keurig coffee in the room. English is well spoken by most people on the staff, including housekeeping.The gym, located on the top floor, provides a nice view looking South/East and would make for a nice workout during the day (at night there is too much glare from the lights to look out). If this hotel had a ballroom/meeting facilities and an executive lounge, it could just as easily be rebranded a Marriott or Renaissance.

The hotel is in a good location, about a 10 min walk to the Old City and close to the metro stop as well. Street parking is difficult in the area with only meter or zoned parking, so I would just stick to the hotel garage. At $23 it's reasonable and provides in and out privileges. The only exception would be if you are staying Saturday night, you can park on the street since meters don't have to be fed until 1pm on Sunday.

The driveway for the hotel is not located on Rene-Levesque, the main street in the front, but rather behind it. This is also where the entrance to the garage is located.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fia000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We thank you for your review concerning the New Courtyard Marriott Montréal. It is interesting that you mention that we could be rebranded as a Marriott or a Renaissance because we had also asked ourselves that very question. We do have over 5000 square feet of meeting space and they are not on the main level but located on the 2nd floor and on the 11th floor of the hotel and may not be in the view of most guests. We can hold events from as little as 12 people to almost 200 depending on the type of event.

Again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to be able to accomodate your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place made me feel at home right away. I dreaded coming to Montreal. I've been all over the place and the only place I have ever been mistreated as a visitor (in the eighties) - is Quebec. A young lady at reception (Mai Linh) removed my misgivings right away with friendly, prompt and superb service - and accent-free English. She knew the area and had helpful tips. When you drive up, into the courtyard, it's neat and new and tidy, unlike the rest of this town, starting with the dilapidated concrete infrastructure that greets you when you enter Montreal. But this place is an oasis. Right away, when you drive up, there's somone friendly, competent and not pushy, to greet you. Check-in is quick and friendly. The lobby looks great and the restaurant is to the right of the lobby. Parking in this town is not fun, but what a difference at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown Montreal. When you drive in, you see quality construction. In the hotel's parking, all the concrete is WELL painted, thick and white. Lighting is great. There is enough ROOM to move around - even for larger vehicles. Friendly staff are around to greet you. The pipes are not only properly insulated but covered in reflective white lagging. Little details are indicative. By contrast, as an example, morons don't cover their concrete (unlike this place) and let road salt in to wash the cement stone out of their concrete resulting in stalactite formation and structural weakening through secondary efflorescence. By contrast to much I have seen in this town, this place is well planned and well built. Somebody used his or her noggin here. The elevators are nice and big and have TV. Hallways are wide enough. Key cards just touch the door to open. This place does not have the old sliding and de-magnetising card system, which usually dies when you're loaded with stuff, sweating bullets and in need of a washroom, realising you next have the pleasure to schlepp your stuff back to the lobby to re-magnetise. Not here. Latest technology. My room was large, comfortable and all tricked out. I've had to pay more for less in other places. My bathroom was all marble. Great magnifying mirror on the side of the big mirror. Lots of water pressure. Excellent drainage. Fast and accurate thermostat and fancoil unit. The restaurant: Darlington Steak House. I had a vegan meal that is normally difficult to make tasty. They made it tasty. They have both fancy things and simple things. The bread that comes with dinner has a crispy crust and it's fresh and warm. It comes with more than enough butter. How many places do you know that chince out on those details? Restaurant staff is warm and friendly and speaks accent free English.
Importantly, the TV in the room has all the right channels, including CNN, History, Comedy, A&E, Fox, although Spike is missing, which is amply offset by other offerings until my favourite, dysfunctional redneck shows return to Spike.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serious_Neatfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feed back and we will pass on your great comments to our staff and specially Mai Linh.

We hope to be able to serve you again in your futur stays in Montréal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This Marriott Courtyard is awesome! Big rooms, nice views, big bathroom, and brand new. Everything is so clean. The gym and the pool on the 11th floor are amazing too! best hotel gym I've ever seen. The room is comfortable and having a Keurig right in the room was a big hit with me. The location is great, and the parking is easy being right next door in an underground parking lot.

My only complaint is that this hotel is SO new they are literally still doing construction on it. Meaning anything above the 11th floor is not even open yet. The construction work starts at 7am every morning and continues until 5. It was so loud especially since our room appeared to be right next to the construction service elevator. Also the room service left something to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We thank you for your great comments. We at the Courtyard Marriott Montréal strive to ensure that our guests experience are great.

We have put mesures in place inorder to limite the rentals of room close to the construction elevator and we will be removing the construction elevator by the end of the month of November.

We hope that you will choose the Courtyard Marriott Montréal for your futur lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice new hotel that is right downtown. The location seems Ok as it is a few blocks to St. Catherine St.

We got off to a bad start because after we checked in, they said to park in the garage which was around the back. We could not find the garage as there are no signs for it. We eventually figured it out after circling a few times. Very annoying especially after driving so long.

Our room was great. It was very large and the shower was large and had excellent water pressure. Very quiet too.

The restaurant was very good for breakfast and the waitress was very friendly and had no problem that we did not speak French. That was really nice.

The clerk at the concierge desk was not very helpful as he could not provide Metro directions to us. It seems like they are rotating concierge duties with the employees and it's hit or miss.

Because of these annoyances I cannot rate this higher.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRSAMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the New Courtyard Marriott Montreal. We at the Courtyard Marriott Montreal strive to insure that your stay is an enjoyable one and it is with your comment that we can improve not only our product but also our service.

We wish to let you know that your comments are very important to us and rest assured that measures will be taken in order to correct the situation for our future guests.

We sincerely hope to serve you again when your travels bring you to the Montreal area.

Yours truly,

Francis Browne
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Property: Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Address: 380 Rene-Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Montreal Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is located in the heart of downtown Montreal in the quartier des spectacles district, on Rene Levesque boulevard West. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is a contemporary design by Brian Burrows Architects of Montreal; development by the CANVAR Group of Montreal, a leading Montreal real-estate developer. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is sure to become a landmark in the downtown Montreal core.Located one block from Montreal's Convention Center and minutes away from the world famous underground city, Place des Arts Theater, shops and boutiques on vibrant Ste. Catherine Street, Bell Center, and 3 street corners from old Montreal.Our hotel in downtown Montreal operates as a full service boutique style hotel, predominately serving corporate travelers; with ample underground parking, sauna, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view.Our lobby dining room & lounge at Le Darlington features ample seating in a warm spacious and inviting setting serving: “a la carte” breakfast and continental menu for lunch and dinner daily.For meetings up to 300 people, we offer modern, spacious, well equipped, comfortable meeting/banquet facilities.Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville will easily become the place to choose for corporate travelers, business meetings or a weekend getaway. We are sincerely looking forward to serving your lodging requirements.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing