We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Delicious”
Review of Restaurant Ruby Burma - CLOSED

Restaurant Ruby Burma
Cuisines: Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Surprisingly Delicious”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent food rich in flavour at very affordable price. I am a fan of Asian cuisines, never had Burmese food before though. Just discovered a new favourite kitchen "BURMESE". Thank you Ruby Burma

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Burmese food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience with Burmese food and we really enjoyed it a lot. The chickpea fritters were really tasty with a nice sauce. The Northern Lights salad was really excellent, it could have been the whole meal it was so good. It is served cold, so not exactly the best dish for a cold day but we had two other hot dishes so it worked well. The beef curry with rice was the perfect dish for for a cold day. If you order it spicy it is moderately hot. The hot noodle dish was also very good. Decor is nothing to write home about but the staff are very nice, bilingual and happy to help you choose. I would definitely go back to try other dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great taste, lousy service”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a place to go if you are principally interested in flavour. The restaurant itself is pretty basic (pictures of the food in the window, etc) and the service was woeful (our entrees arrived 10 minutes apart), but the flavours in the food were fantastic. The prices are cheap and you can bring your own wine, so if all you are looking for is a delicious meal and don't much mind the decor and the service, then this place is worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beyond the realm of cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

this is very much a restaurant for locals, and the night we went, that was who was in attendance. we were greeted by the owner, nicknamed Ruby, who warmly showed us to a table. although Burma is surrounded by countries with their own tasty cuisines (India, Bangledesh, Thailand, Laos and China), the food that we had was both like and unlike these. Ruby asked us how hungry we were and helped us to choose Burmese chickpea fritters that were crunchy and mildly spicy with a zingy Tamarind sauce, the fish chowder which was gingery and warming, the complex and delicious pickled tea leaf salad (i couldn't detect the tea leaves, but the overall effect was a taste and texture sensation) and Shan Khaut Swae, a traditional Burmese noodle dish that also comes with chicken broth if you want to "soup" it up.

what makes this food so wonderful is the freshness of all the ingredients and the intricacy of the flavours and textures. the menu is vegetarian and vegan friendly, although meat is also available. i can hardly wait to go back to try all the other things that looked interesting.

this would be a great place to go with a group of six or so, to allow for more sharing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my first time having Burmese food. Food was very mild yet full of flavour. I could taste the individual flavour of spices in all the dishes. Potatoes may have been over used as they were present in all the dishes we ordered. Overall, a very good dining experience with good service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ruby Burma also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing