We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation & location very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Citadelle
Ranked #80 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation & location very central”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is part of the McGill university, the accommodation was clean & very spacious. I booked a double room, and got two large double beds, with plenty of extra room around them. The bathroom was huge! There was coffee making facilities and a small fridge, as well as tv and free wifi in the room. The hotel is in a very safe location, and quite central, with bus stops and metro stations also nearby. The staff on the front desk are helpful, speak English as well as French and will make helpful recommendations on dining if asked. The hotel is less than 10 mins walk from a local 747 stop (the express bus straight from the airport for only CAD10)

All in all a great find!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
34
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was only a little over a block from the Festival, clean, comfortable, and much cheaper than other options. It is affiliated with McCain Gill University. There wasn't a great view, but we weren't in the room that much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LavenderPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location, central to everything. The jazz festival performances were all nearby and so was the restaurants /patios of St Catherine St and St Denis. The staff were friendly and eager to help. Rooms were clean and functional Good value for money..

Room Tip: If possible choose floors above 10 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolkatacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had such a wonderful time at this property! As per the other reviews, this is a very clean and well situated hotel. We really enjoyed the junior suite. Located on the 20th floor, it had a separate bedroom, a very large living room, small kitchen and washroom. There are very few suites, so if you want one book early. Although our unit was located adjacent to the elevators, we didn't hear them.

The front desk staff were incredibly helpful. The only negative to our entire 5 day stay was the noise created by a group of high school students celebrating their graduation from 11:00 p.m. into the wee hours. This predictable situation could have been proactively managed by regular monitoring of the corridors.

Our unit was well appointed with effective airconditioning, hairdryer and iron. The only missing items were a bedside clock radio/ipod dock and dishes and cutlery in the mini kitcheonette.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed here for the Grand Prix, and I met up with him on the last night. I was really impressed with this place. It did not feel like a residence at all and was of good value. The room had a very similar layout to a standard hotel room and included amenities like a coffee maker. I was quite surprised at the large size of the bathroom (I think we may have been in a wheelchair accessible room, so I am not sure if this is standard) and the granite (stone) countertops. As we had a late night flight, we were not sure if the staff at the front desk would be able to hold our luggage for the day, but they did! I can't think of anything we required from a hotel that they were not able to provide.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo_Traveler_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Clean, spacious, comfortable and well appointed rooms await at this hotel. Its a 15 minute walk from virtually all the main sights in Montreal, including the Musee des Beaux Arts, Notre Dame and Vieux Port, albeit in different directions. High quality cafes, restaurants and stores abound in this area so your needs are easily met. The downsides for me on this trip were (a) no free or even on-site parking (b) fitness room with no functioning treadmills and (c) no pool although Expedia advertised one. But these drawbacks did not amount to much in the grand scheme of things and I heartily recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of the area. And if you are traveling for a long time, the laundry downstairs is a Godsend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for f1 and were quite happy with the hotel (it did not seem like a residence at all). The location was close to the metro (buy a pass from the airport as you will make use of it) which made it very accessible to the race track. We were a block from the grocery store which was helpful when picking up a lunch to bring for the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
568 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#70 of 164 in Montreal
262 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#43 of 164 in Montreal
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Citadelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Citadelle

Property: Residence La Citadelle
Address: 410 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Citadelle 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Citadelle, is located in the heart of the action on Sherbrooke Street West, just steps from McGill's downtown campus and Eaton center. This hotel-style residence was completely renovated from top to bottom and boasts a 26th floor common space and fitness center with breathtaking views of the city and mountains. A definite must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Citadelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing