We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night out”

Restaurant la Sirene de la Mer
Ranked #440 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We specialize in Mediterranean cuisine, more specifically Lebanese cuisine, with a focus on seafood! We have an in-house fish market with some of the freshest known seafood in the city. Extensive wine list, outdoor patio, private room for 70 people, and a private parking lot.
montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday night out”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had been to this restaurant once before and was curious to see if the quality was still as good as I remembered. It was still great in terms of service, quality of food and wine and getting a table on a sat evening even though we had no reservations. The location is a bit awkward. . . Far from downtown and with absolutely no surrounding ambiance. It is located on a sort of through four-lane strip linking two neighbourhoods. On the plus side, there is a big parking lot. Not the place to go in summer if you want a romantic terrace experience. Curiously it is very noisy . . . Hmm. . Not much romantic ambiance inside either then. Oh, just concentrate on the good food. Isobel in montreal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood concept, great service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'd been going to La Sirene restaurants around Montreal Island for more than 15 years, but had never come to this flagship. Very nicely appointed but not stuffy. We enjoyed the fact that the clientele was nicely dressed up for a Saturday night, not overly so but enough to make it a bit festive. Very friendly and personal services - from the maitre d' to the owner to the wait staff. The restaurant is Lebanese owned and themed so there is plenty of ethnic flavour.

The concept here is a great one - the restaurant is adjacent to the fish market. You get a piece of paper at the table with your table number and one or more members of the dining party go next door and pick out the actual seafood to be grilled or fired, from filets to whole fish to scampi and shrimp. I recommend ordering smaller fish fired as you can basically eat the whole crunchy thing.

Appetizers are wonderful - from the typical baba ganouj and hummus to grilled octopus, a terrific eggplant salad with smokey grilled eggplant mashed with fresh scallions and tomatoes,as well as very nice salmon tartare, sometimes served with mango, tomato, olive oil and thyme, sometimes with capers. The Middle Eastern salads are very fresh and well flavoured.

The grilled and fried fish entrees are outstanding, served simply with toasted pita and a rich tahini sauce. Try the brown rice with vermicelli and fried onions. I mentioned that my grilled halibut filet might be a tad overcooked (although still excellent) - I had a new filet perfectly grilled at the table in minutes. That's service.

One of the best desserts I've ever had was the crepe stuffed with ricotta, tabbed with chopped pistachio nuts and ladled with a rose water syrup.

I recommend this fine restaurant with a long tradition of excellent service to anyone who comes to Montreal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish and ambiance”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was a guest on an eight person dinner.. Other diners come here frequently and I was pleasantly surprised. One enters the restaurant one of two ways - either through the main entrance OR through their fish market which displays all the fresh fish available to purchase and go. The food is outstanding. Great Lebanese and Armenian appetizers. We went to the fish shop, picked out the fish we wanted and it came fully cooked to our own wishes. Excellent service.

Website: http://www.sirenedelamer.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

the food is great fresh fish . all these lebanese entree you just clean the plates with pita. my first experience but not last.service very fast and staf very freindly. my new favorite restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierre z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfectly clean, friendly atmosphere, good food and reasonable price.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

All together nice place to eat and go back regularly. This is what we will do. Food was good, excellent advice on choice of regional wine to go with our selection, efficient and prompt service. An added plus, you can either order from menu card or go to the adjacent sea-food counter to choose the fish and portion from there. It was an enjoyable dinner and no surprising inflated bill at the end. It appeared that we were not one of few satisfied clients as all tables were occupied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boroushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant la Sirene de la Mer also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant la Sirene de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing