We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creme de la creme of burgers”

Burger Royal Restaurant
Ranked #159 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: American, Diner, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: LOCAL FLAVOUR PHILOSOPHY:Farm to tableGrain-fed Free Range hormone & antibiotic FREE Beef & PoultryIn House Grind Handmade PattiesQuebec Farmed beef and chickenLocal products. Living GreenFresh Products EverydayNATURAL . SIMPLE . DELICIOUSBurger Royal evolved from the idea that a burger should not only taste great, it should also utilize healthy ingredients produced in a sustainable environment. We provide a premium quality menu that appeals to health conscious diners, vegetarians and those who just want a fresh juicy burger. Our philosophy remains bright and enlightened. We represent a new take on an industry that has long suffered from poor quality and processed food products. We are a group of people dedicated to implement better standards and positive environmental practices. NATURAL . SIMPLE . DELICIOUS
Brooklyn New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Creme de la creme of burgers”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a craving for burgers and went by the reviews here and chose Burger Royal. We were not disappointed. The burgers were huge, juicy, and tasty. Great onion rings and fries as well. We had the classic 6 oz. with our own toppings. I picked bacon, lettuce, tomato, special sauce and pickles. Everything was farm fresh. We'll be returning when we visit Montreal again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“expensive, but very good”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I went with a friend (we had living social coupons), so we went to try it out. My friend and I are big burger fans.
I ordered the 6oz ATOMIC Burger (Havarti cheese, caramelized onions, jalapños sriracha, spicy mayo), my friend ordered the 12oz DOUBLE ROYAL (Double meat patty, cheddar cheese,
lettuce, pickles, royal sauce). The burgers come with no drinks and no sides. So we each order 1 side, I ordered mac & cheese with bacon, and he ordered chilli cheese fries, and he ordered 1 soft drink. The total with tax was $46.

The price for a
3oz burger ranges from $5 to $11
6oz burger ranges from $8 to $14.

Sides ranger from $4 to $11. They also have hotdogs, beer and milkshakes.

The burger was very good, great flavor. The mac & Cheese with bacon, was not very runny with gooey cheese, but great smoke flavor from the bacon. The sauce that's on the burger is very messy, so not a great choice for a first date (LOL). Would I go back, most likely, but then again $10 for a burger? Not a great idea for a family, that would get very expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atsendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST AND TINIEST HOTDOG EVER!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a take-out hotdog waited forever for it and when we opened

this Big fancy container...there was the tiniest and most unappealing hotdog I had ever

seen!,,,, little diced up tomatoes..relish.....2 BITES and it was finished...for $6.00 plus tax,

the worst value ever !

Luckily............everywhere else we wnt did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbumm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgerRoyalMtl, Owner at Burger Royal Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hello SunBumm,

I am sorry to hear you didn't like the hotdogs. Our hotdogs are made from the finest beef here in Montreal from scratch. They are 8 inches long and severed on a lightly toasted organic bun made down the street from our restaurant.

I encourage you to try us again as we have a large following for both our hotdogs and burgers.

Warmest regards,
Sarah
Co-Owner
Burger Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We recently bought a voucher off Living Social and decided to give the place a try this weekend. Party of 2. Tried the Spicy Chiquita and the Hangover burgers. Burgers can be purchased as a 3 oz or 6 oz .You can chose Beef, Chicken or Veggie Burger. Both the ones we tried were excellent.Everything is very fresh and made on the spot. The buns are also very good and made by a local baker.
We also tried the Caramelized onion poutine, which was also yummy. Drinks are served in glass bottles . The burgers are messy so make sure there are plenty of napkins on your table.
We took a chocolate chip cookie to go, which was probably the best cookie we ever had.

This is a definite must try restaurant if you are in the Montreal Area. Enjoy your Burger :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmees00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Montréal”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My fiancée and I gave that place a try and we both had a really tasty experience. We had the big boss and the pulp fiction burgers, both 9,5/10 on our scale. We also ordered a side of Poutine and it was really decent. All of their soft drinks are glass bottled, just like the original coke. Also, you must try their milkshakes. On top of that, service was a 10/10.

A couple from Montréal

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Royal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Burger Royal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing