We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of money and time”

Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.69*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #9 of 77 Fun & Games in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with the Biodôme, the Botanical Garden and the Insectarium, the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium is part of the Montréal Space for Life, Canada's largest natural museum science complex and Montreal's top must see attraction. Packages available. Change your perspective at the Montreal Space for Life. Plunge into a thrilling odyssey to the sounds of symphonic music at the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium. Discover the beautiful starry sky above Montreal with a skilled astronomy interpreter. Like an explorer, embark on an exciting virtual journey that will take you thousands of light years away from Earth, to the stars and beyond! Located close to the Biodome, the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium offers a completely fresh experience of astronomy. Thanks to cutting-edge technology you will live a unique experience of the Universe through two different shows - one focused on science, the other more whimsical. Its exhibition, Exo: Our Search for Life in the Universe, enriches this cosmic journey. Get ready for an unforgettable experience!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a waste of money and time”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

You must be kidding. Such a big deal about this new Planetarium and this is what we get in Montréal? 2 shows and one hour between each other. After seing the insignificant first one (except the excellent musif of Philipp Glass), I didn't want to loose my time and see the other one. I have visited the previous Planetarium and it was better. The exhibit was nice but not enough - I was expecting much more. We have so many talented groups who could have brought some ideas to amaze the fans of the stars. 2 floors that are wide empty white walls. You call that a Planetarium?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MlleK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    129
    67
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Billed as a "totally original approach to astronomy," it is anything but. The first show features lots of pretty pictures and special effects, but without any explanation or scientific accuracy. The second show is your standard planetarium view of the night sky, which is fine, but hardly totally original. I was not the only person who had a hard time staying awake. The disappointing experience was not helped by the lack of clear signage coming out of the Metro station and sidewalks that had not been cleared of ice and snow.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“IN THE SPACE OF AN AFTERNOON”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Montreal Planetarium, LIVING SPACE.
Life, Space, a moment of giddiness and excitement.
A reflection on our little person.
The smallest being that we are, we are connected to this vast space.
Finally we get out of our small daily hassles, the evening news on television.
I left the exhibition as well as 2 shows, full of energy.
A Sunday like no other, I wish you all.
good visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelL139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A family of four (two girls 8 and 12) - we all left the first presentation 'Continuum' wondering what we just saw - a film of nothingness.

The second presentation, a narrated session "From Earth to the Stars" was much better. An interesting view of the stars above in the Montreal sky, before taking a trip into space to view some of the galaxies. Interesting, but many people fell asleep in the comfy chairs - maybe the narration was not as exciting as it could have been.

Overall, a worthwhile experience - but really quite average.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JP-6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The first show, Continuum, is really not a science show. It is a fabulous sight, sound, almost overwhelming experience, flying THROUGH the sun, past exploding celestial comets/planets/ whatever. No words, just Philip Glass music -- very dramatic. Marvelous colors and shapes. Not for very little kids or very sensitive folks. Very intense.. The second show is the usual planetarium show, well done.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing