We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
GREAT and free!

This is such a great yearly event in Montreal! The humor, the crowd, the energy. Even if you... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2018
JHeskin
,
Duluth, Minnesota
via mobile
Great venue

Excellent free venue for all ages. Great experience, 1 sq km of Montreal filled with comedy shows... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2018
CanadaTourist1
,
Canada
Read all 80 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Montreal
from $106.82
More Info
from $57.86
More Info
from $22.50
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
46
17
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
17
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shows club soda comedy festival place des arts bought tickets lots of fun all ages gala acts comedian ethnic stage metropolis hilarious audience theatre clown
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This is such a great yearly event in Montreal! The humor, the crowd, the energy. Even if you don’t speak French you’ll find so many things to enjoy. I can’t believe all the stages and outdoor activities are free, wow! We had such a great time.

Thank JHeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Excellent free venue for all ages. Great experience, 1 sq km of Montreal filled with comedy shows, clowns, juggling acts, children activities. There are a variety of comedy shows throughout the week, varying in price from free to $100+.

Thank CanadaTourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Spent 4 days and 3 nights in Montreal for the Just for laughs festival. Saw three galas and three other shows. The high kites for us were the BRIT -ish show hosted by Nish Kumar and the Deon Cole ( from Blackish ). The gala were good but the other shows were great
Sometimes it is just better seeing g artists that you may not be familiar with. Stayed at the hotel suites Square Phillip's which was excellent. Valet parking was free with a 3 night stay.
We ate at the food trucks in place des arts. There was variety and quality to choose from. The piri pork chicken stand was delicious. Just for laughs is awesome. Can not wait for next year.

Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Activities everywhere. Large crowds. Lots of food trucks. Great weather. Happy people. Everyone seems to be "in the mood" to have fun. Lots of free entertainment too.

Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

its always a good time at Just for Laughs in Montreal. got a chance to be here for the festival in July. had a great time.

Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Every year we welcome comedians from
Around the world to come here to our city for our Annual
Comedy Festival called “
Just for Laughs , “ right after our Jazz Festival
Until
July !!
When it’s hot outside and you hang around St Catherine street watching people , eat out of food trucks and watch jugglers perform .

We went to the small venue last night in Place des Arts , in the Salle Claude Leveillee Hall
Small sized for about 120 people to see two comedians , South American comedian and Maz Jobrani, he is from Los Angelos/and he is Persian :he is so funny / and he is on Netflix too / look him up , usually
He heads the Ethnic show but here was a small venue and mostly just him
With just 3 rows of the audience / small quaint place , very nice .

Come to Montreal in the summer , walk freely on our Main Street St Catherine street, coffee shops and restaurants and food trucks !

Thank SunshineMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We spent an evening at the festival. Kids really enjoyed the maze and the potato sack slide.
Aside from that...the various acts walking up and down the street is something to see. Bird-people on stilts, Wendigo-type forest creatures, clowns....
Board type games are strewn throughout the festival centre for all to play.

1  Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

This was way better than my expectations! I was only able to go to the festival for 1 night and wished I was able to spend 4 or 5 nights taking in the shows.

The comedy was first class and the activities that happened in and around the venues was great.

2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

It is between few blocks and full with stages,performances,food choices from all over the world.The fun starts at afternoon and goes till very late

Thank LynnM112017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

You'll find many of the world's top comedians here, and plenty of up-and-coming talents who sometimes outshine the stars. It seems like all of Montreal is out on the streets for this festival, with great food trucks, music, games, and free shows. The nightly galas feature a star host bringing on 8-10 comedians in a tightly-packaged show that's recorded for Canadian TV. Buy a two or three-show pass and use it for the big names, you'll get 4-5 free shows from a large variety of choices. This year was my fifth year in a row attending, I'll be back again for sure.

1  Thank MarkLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews