We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch”
Review of Prohibition Bistro - MOVED

Prohibition Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience. It was breakfast and lunch.
Although very busy, the staff were incredibly attentive and polite. We were not rushed nor were people at other tables.
You need to book if you want to experience the fantastic menu.

Helpful?
Thank S D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not just brunch done well, but new taste brunch done superbly!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went here for Sunday brunch with a group of people, because my friend had heard good things about this place. Good thing we arrived before the rush, because it isn't that big a place.

Brunch is a fine weekend tradition, and I almost always have eggs, but how could I resist maple challah French toast with fried chicken? I saw a plate of it going out to another table, and it was game over.

It was delicious! Decadent and sweet from the maple syrup, but balanced with the seasoning on the chicken. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Nice. Our table is all good friends so got to sample what others were having. Not a bad meal at the table! And you know you're hitting some good new recipes when the least loved entree was the Huevos Rancheros. Nothing wrong with it, just wasn't a new flavor to be savored. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here last night with a friend. The place is casual, dimly lit and very clean. We ate at the bar and were served by one of the owners. The service was great, he was around when we needed him and didn't linger. We had meatballs to start, they were good but still a bit cold in the middle. I had the catfish, it was tasty but a bit overdone for my likes. My friend had the fried chicken and it was to die for!! We also shared the bacon wrapped deep fried Mars Bar. It was probably one of the best things I have ever eaten! My overall experience here was very nice and I will return. Good food, well priced for the Monkland village.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Reviewed by The Gazette as a gem. Well, I dint find it even close to be one. Hamburgers (praised by paper) was not on the menu. I ordered uber sweet something - two pieces of bread and very deep fried chicken. With sirop on a side. Crazy. And it was 15 dollars. Average ambience and almost empty space. Makes me wonder... how it was reviewed by paper...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IliaNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big disappointment...”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I reviewed this place before, and it was smashing for breakfast.
So naturally, I had great expectations for dinner.
Not so.

1) I had a nice Chardonnay, and that was the only good thing about the meal.

2) Catfish was overcooked. I am not sure it was catfish. It felt like it had been frozen and then rewarmed in the microwave, drowned in cheap oil and maybe butter. The risotto was a joke: clumped cafeteria grossness would be a better description. A rip off for 18 bucks.

3) Hanger steak: again, cafeteria fast food could have been better. Poorly cooked.

I scarfed down my fish because I was hungry but couldn't eat the "risotto". My husband struggled to eat the steak. In the end we gave up, paid the bill and ran away to have dinner at an Indian restaurant down the street.

VERDICT: DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THEY CAN BE SO GOOD FOR BREAKFAST, AND SO HORRIBLE FOR DINNER? OFF NIGHT? I WOULD LIKE TO GIVE THEM ANOTHER CHANCE, BUT I AM NOT CERTAIN I WOULD HAZARD ANOTHER DINNER THERE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunello Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prohibition Bistro also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing