We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poutine = a lot of food”
Review of Mache!

Mache!
Ranked #518 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Morgan Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poutine = a lot of food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Go in hungry because none of the servings are small, including the salads. We made the mistake of starting with an order of fried onion rings, which were served hot and crisp and very tasty. We then shared the BBQ pork poutine and a salad, and could barely finish. For the uninitiated, poutine is layers of meat, gravy, and sometimes cheese or other ingredients, layered over a mound of French fries. Very tasty, very filling, and very not on anyone's diet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fhorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    51
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great casual food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had great pulled pork poutine (poutine isn't my fav, but this was great) and my daughter had Shepards pie and coleslaw. Great food, casual atmosphere, low price!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Mache”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This tiny spaced, tucked in on St-Denis has pretty great burgers and even better french fries, which they also use for their poutine. Menu choices presented some local favourites. Service was with a smile and fast enough. Great place for a quick sit down burger. Pulled pork sandwich was a bit too sweet for me, but that's a personal choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

See reviews on this site and as we were in the area we tried it and not disappointed, meatball dish was great, really reminded us of home cooked meal. Make some time to come here just make sure your hungry. Plus the value is amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colmodub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the pulled pork poutine and it was fantastic. The taste was great, and for 7$ it was definitely worth it, considering there was so much I couldn't finish. My friend had the pulled pork shepherd's pie and she loved it. Would definitely go there again. You get a lot more for your money than you would in any greasy spoon restaurant (like Valentine, Ashton or La belle province). Quality food, great service and excellent location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mache! also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
 

Been to Mache!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing