We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ambiance”
Review of Hambar

Hambar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hambar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Saint-Paul
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very nice place to have a 5/7 with friends. Nice choice of wine by the glass and food is excellent..will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    69
    29
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a fantastic place to have a lazy saturday or sunday morning brunch or breakfast. We had the smoked salmon with goats cheese followed buy a small ham selection which we shared. Both were generous great grazing choices. A glass of champagne followed by a lovely cheeky white french. Staff were attentive very knowledgable and gracious. We had a coffee and liquor infront of a roaring fire next door. The interior has huge windows that fill the space with lots of light, walking in there is a glass display chock a block filled with legs of Jamon at the other end of the room is a floor to ceiling glassed cellar, two of my favourite things together excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The charcuterie is amazing !”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'll start with the not so good: a little "trendy", "in-crowd", seen and be seen, well designed place (why am I mentioning this ? because it seems very important there and I'm all about the food). Te service is good if a little uneven.

The good: the food esp. the charcuterie plate which is freshly cut for you. That platter still lives in my dreams. We shared a platter and then a plate of tartare which was good, but not great. The accompanying salad was great! The wine list (even by the glass) is quite good !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jssurleplateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
288 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very trendy with great food in Old Montreal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm glad I took the recommendation to eat here. Food and decore are excellent. Decent value at lunch and clearly a very "in" crowd. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great charcuterie platters”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A lovely visit, where the children were made very welcome. A selection of tapas style starters and a charcuterie platter made for a splendid and not too heavy meal. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hambar also viewed

 

Been to Hambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing