We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good pizza!”
Review of Mangiafoco

Mangiafoco
Reserve with OpenTable
Mangiafoco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #189 of 6,488 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: saint-Sulpice
Description: Restaurant boasting a fantastic location, in the heart of Old Montréal. Discover a spot that is both modern and warm—where numerous design details take centre stage—and savour pizza baked in a wood oven in accordance with the great Neapolitan tradition. The Mangiafoco is a unique concept where the famous Italian cheese made of buffalo milk is celebrated! Four different choices of in house mozzarella and a great variety of products to choose from an extensive list to complete your selection! Come to share a delicious experience in Old Montreal around a good glass of wine.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

food - really good. wide variety of choices on the menu and antipasti selection was very varied and with some nice surprises. e.g. truffled peaches. the main focus is on the pizza - we had the spicy pizza with salami and a plain one, both were cooked very well. flavours were spot on. bread base was very thin. the mozzarella bar consisted of truffled and plain burrata alongside quebec and smoked mozzerella. we chose the quebec variety and was interesting - i didn't love it as it was relatively crumbly and salty - but a new experience!! food came quickly - antipasti may have been stored and simply plated up but what else do you expect.

ambience- really very polished. reminds me of a swanky bar or lounge but well catered to families, couples and parties of many people.

service - very good. nice and to the point. friendly waitresses.

price - relatively expensive for what it was but the great decor and satisfying food made up for some of this.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HAPPYTraveller123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2018

I decided to try this restaurant after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm really glad I did. I was dining on my own and was made to feel quite welcome. The atmosphere is lovely and I was offered my choice of seating, at the bar or at a table (despite it being during peak dining hours). The wine selection is good, although the wines by the glass are a little more limited. I ordered a goat cheese salad that was absolutely wonderful and then a thin crust margherita pizza. The wait staff were attentive, without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. It is a little pricey, but it is located in beautiful, old Montreal!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary-Lu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

After walked through the old harbor it was time for lunch. Most restaurants were closed (because of Monday?) and Mangiafoco was the second restaurant open for lunch and first with table available for us. We were seated in the back next to the kitchen. Looking at ceiling above our table it seems they forgot to finish it and to match it with the style with the front and mid section of the restaurant. Positive is that each table has more privacy than you normally get. We all ordered pizza. They have gluten free dough and lactose free mozzeralla. For main course other than pizza the menu is limited. Only two pastas. The pizzas themselves were okay but not something special.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tonkrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

This was our second time dining here and once again the food was fantastic. Had the calamari to start with an arugula salad followed by one of their pizzas...everything was superb. The place is lively and the service was just right.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank pbradley111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick bite. Had calamari, caprese salad, arugula salad, and margherita pizza. Perfect! All were excellent.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Justwright5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangiafoco also viewed

 

Been to Mangiafoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing