We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little hole in the wall with special asian dishes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satay Brothers

Satay Brothers
Ranked #241 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Description: The Satay Brothers outdoor stall at the Atwater market is open from May 15th to October 15th. You can enjoy some Satay goodness at the flagship restaurant located at 3721 Notre-Dame O. , Only a few blocks west of Atwater.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall with special asian dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place for some uncommon asian dishes. Totally worth to try. We let the waiter to suggest the dishes and it was great. We loved the curi soup, the pork bun, the noddles. So yummy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJMontreal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food for a quick bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Service is good and casual. Food is absolutely great for a lunch or a quick bite. The place is always packed but worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayLindeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great restaurant at Atwater market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

So my boyfriend had heard of this restaurant and insisted that we try it and i'm glad we did! We picked a few this up (didn't end up eating there). We LOVED the papaya salad definitely a must have. Laksa lemak (a soup) was our 2nd best. We did enjoy the pork buns and the daily satay but we would go back for our 2 first choices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Amy-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Asian cuisine at the Atwater market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

when shopping at the Atwater Market in Montréal, SAthay Brothers is a must for a quick lunch "al fresco" at the market place

The cuisine is excellent and changes every day, the service is friendly and quick and the prices are fair, the place is clean

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierluci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Laksa has texture, flavours and comforting served with a great smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Singaporian food meets Montreal at the Atwater market.
Since 1947 street food in Montreal has been banned. Their are thoughts of bring it back this year and one of the places is at the Atwater market..
From spring until fall, the outside tented area of North America largest flower market, which is one of the city run markets, a section of the market is dedicated to some wonderful specialities.

One of which is the Satay Brothers. With their team they prepare delicious freshly cooked an prepared Singaporean specialities. Alex and his brother Matt prepare specialities such as Laksa ( my personal favourite: Coconut milk, fresh chilly, fresh coriander, tofu, quail egg, fish, noodles and a broth, served right to you on the picnic tables. The papaya salad is yet another favourite.
The longest line up in the market tented area where fresh foods are served.

Its different from sushi, pizza, sandwiches... I guess because I love flavours, spices, textures and chilli... the Laska... has my taste buds singing after each morsel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satay Brothers also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Satay Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing