We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of Restaurant Mezcla

Restaurant Mezcla
Ranked #141 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $44
Cuisines: Latin, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: The Village (Gay Village)
Cross street: Sainte-Rose
Description: THE CONCEPT Nuevo latino is a mix of South American, mainly Peruvian, cuisines adapted to French and European cooking techniques. Mezcla specializes in that mix of cultures and influences that will surprise and delight discerning palates. THE CONCEPT Nuevo latino is a mix of South American cuisines adapted to French and European cooking techniques. Mezcla specializes in that mix of cultures and influences that will surprise and delight discerning palates. THE PRODUCTS All fish come from environmentally responsible fisheries. + Private import wines from a variety of Latin American countries and from Spain. Most of our dishes are proudly prepared using local Quebec products.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went to Mezcla in August for a group dinner. I wasn't sure what to expect but I was definitely happy that I went. We chose the tasting menu with 5 courses and an amuse-bouche. Let's just say that after each course we asked ourselves if it could get any better (creative presentation and delicious) and it did! We were sad that it was over but the dessert was icing on the cake! Great staff and service as well. I definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Synsiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    38
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best meal of our lives!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are ready to celebrate the pure joy of fine food, in an unpretentious atmosphere with friendly people--this is the place for you. Off the beaten track, in a quieter part of town. The men I was with ordered the beef for 2. It was the best beef they had EVER eatten. There was so much of it--we took it home and devoured it the next day. Amazing service. We learned much about Peruvian spices and were absolutely thrilled with every dish. A month later, we are still talking about how good everything was. Art on a plate. Who knew food could taste this good. Wonderful combinations. Fantastic and caring wait staff. We made a reservation through Open Table and the restaurant even called us the night before to confirm and to see if we had any special requests. Only drawback was the tasting menu was not available in vegetarian or pescatarian versions (maybe they'll add that), and that everyone at the table had to partake in order to participate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank budgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“SUPER FIND..excellent all around”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants recently visited. Service was impeccable and very friendly, food creative and delicious. This is a Latin American restaurant prepared in french style. The $75.00 ..... 7 course chef's option was perfect, giving you a broad selection from the menu making next time an easier ordering venture. The menu is extensive and everything sounds fabulous...too hard to select. (Hence the chef's selection) Highly recommend. Reasonable wine selections but very good. Open kitchen. A little on the noisy side, small space. Ask for a window seat. Interesting neighbourhood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beyond5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went here for a special occasion and had a larger party (8). The service deserves the first credit. Our waiter was attentive and charming. Someone at the table even commented "even though the restaurant is full, he's treating us like we are the only ones here". The ambiance of the restaurant is very nice and comfortable, but non-pretentious. The food was good, we got the tasting menu, which was plenty of food and paced well. A couple of the dishes were great on concept but just slightly off in execution-still really good, but just short of being excellent. That said, its hard to do a party of 8 and make them all feel special, with everyone single person leaving satisfied, and Mezcla definitely did that for us. Thanks to the staff especially!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised! !”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I must say I was not excited about going to this restaurant. It was the 2nd tapas place I had been to in 2 days. We ordered the 5 course chefs choice. We were served, 1. Duck – huancaina – yuca, 2. braised bison short ribs 3. fingerling potato – aji amarillo – cilantro -fresh cheese – Bojita Olive – egg. 4. Blood pudding empanada and 5.saku tuna and for dessert - Maple Syrup Souffle w/vanilla ice cream. They were all delicious (even the blood pudding). The wait staff was awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalGalMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mezcla also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Mezcla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing