We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Boulud

Maison Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Maison Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $71
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: French cuisine by Signature Chef Daniel Boulud. Reservations are suggested and only taken up to two month in advance. Walk-ins welcome. Garden and terrace open in summer.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food was okay but not great. Expensive, small portions and found better restaurants in old Montreal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globtrotter657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    119
    59
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“High end wannabe....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

While staying at the Ritz we had a snack/drinks here. Everything was fine but not excellent considering the prices they demand. We had to remind our servers of our drink order. Not acceptable at this price point. Very limited menu for young persons.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cigauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in Montreal on a shopping trip and stopped into this wonderful establishment! I wanted a nice lunch while shopping. I knew I would get that at Boulud. I have dined at the one in New York as well. The stellar food, gracious, low key service with no prevention is what always brings me back to Boulud. Don't get me wrong, food is wonderful but service is what keeps me coming back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vanessa z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
241 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is close to perfection. The food, quality of ingredients, presentation, atmosphere and last but not least the near perfection of the service. I had four meals (brunch, breakfast, lunch and dinner) at Masion Boulud and I could not find one fault. Just superb.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
588 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Very good but needs tweaking to get outstanding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a very good meal but there were a number of things which detracted from the overall experience. Cold bread which did not seem to be very fresh, slightly clumsy service and most unforgivable cool plates for hot food. Given the choice in Montreal we are unlikely to return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Boulud also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Maison Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing