We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a memorable birthday dinner”
Review of Maison Boulud

Maison Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Maison Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $71
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: French cuisine by Signature Chef Daniel Boulud. Reservations are suggested and only taken up to two month in advance. Walk-ins welcome. Garden and terrace open in summer.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“a memorable birthday dinner”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had heard of this restaurant from friends and decided to try it on a recent visit. Perhaps the most memorable element here is the consistently superb service - from the front desk to the servers to the sommelier.

Beautifully prepared food in a charming setting made for one of the nicest evenings in Montreal in a long time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    123
    60
    32
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Coninuously Amazing”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Daniel's continues to hit it out of the park each and every time I eat here. There has never been I time that I have left and said the food was bad. I most recently had lunch there in the bar where they have a lovely prix fix and it was absolutely delightful. The chairs are deep and comfortable right by the window of Sherbrooke Street (so you can watch the hustle and bustle of Montreal), tables perfectly sized and the food to match. I love this place for lunch, dinner or cocktails late in the evening. The service, from the moment you walk in the door until you leave is perfection. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoores33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My second visit and as often customers do, I will share the not so good one.
For the type of hotel and restaurant I'd expect much more. We were a party of 5 and 3 of us selected sea bass. By the time the waiter took the orders (at least 30-40 min), it turned out they were out of it. Then the wait continued throughout the whole evening. The service resembled the one of a teaching culinary school, polite but extremely slow. Only the deserts took 40 mins or so. Quality of the food itself was average - nothing special in terms of fish; they also used the cheapest and smallest scallops possible.Desert was very good and turned out to be the highlight of the evening. I really regret that such a nice place went so much down the stream...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were provided with a table next to the Ritz pond and water fall.
Mediterranean flavored menu.
After two glasses of champagne, I started with the raviolo stuffed with ricotta cheese and a soft egg, garnished with whelks. Very nice dish. My companion had the salmon duo and said it was good.
She had ordered the lamb from Quebec, served with ricotta gnocchi and loved every piece of it.
My black cod, paella done with Fragorla pasta was interesting.
For dessert we had the vacherin rhubarb and the Limoncello and chestnut. Both excellent.

Very good bread. Service very attentive and friendly.

Only negative comments, alike all the Daniel Boulud's restaurants, the service is too fast and they want to turn the tables over. Cutlery should be improved for example, I could not enjoy the sauce that was served with the raviolo as they did not provide a sauce spoon or at least a dessert spoon. The fish dishes are not served with fish forks and fish knives.
Surprising but when mentioned to the waiter he told me that it was a bistro and not a fine dining restaurant.
Bistro where one spends $400.00. As expensive as Europea without the attention to details.

Very good wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible service, amazing food, and great view.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best service I have ever seen and amazing food. Everything was delicious and they had an amazing patio out back with a fountain and garden that was incredible. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Boulud also viewed

 

Been to Maison Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing