We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Gite Ocoin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gite Ocoin B&B
Ranked #12 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place was a blast, primarily due to the owner/manager, Jean-Rene. What a character! A wonderful, welcoming hospitable person, full of great (and VERY humorous) stories. The breakfast was very good, and he helped us a lot with itinerary selections, etc. Easy (free) parking, access to metro and restaurants very convenient. One tiny draw-back: rooms are small and one shares a bath. That said, rooms are VERY pretty, and bathrooms VERY clean and well-appointed.

Room Tip: We took a room with toilet and sink, sharing the shower in the hallway bathroom. Were very satisfied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estoril2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

If I ever go to Montreal again, I will stay here again :-)
The host is extremely nice, friendly, helpful guy who just seems to love keeping an B&B and meeting people.
B&B is located couple of blocks away from a metro station (Frontenac?) and there is possible to park your car for free on the street. There are four rooms in the B&B and at least ours was very comfortable. Bed was huge and even though we shared our shower/bath room with one other room, it did not trouble us.
Breakfast was very good and if you give Rene a heads up beforehand, he will cater to your allergies as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at his B&B for two nights and enjoyed it very much! I could recommend this place to everyone who visits Montreal. The host is very very very friendly, full of stories and never short of good advice on where to go and what places to visit. The room wasn't big, but had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious. The location is close to a Metro station and it was easy to get around the city from the B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'd recommend Rene's place to anyone. I enjoyed the character of the place and huge breakfast prepared by Rene (giant pancakes!). Our bedroom was nicely decorated and came with all amenities. Most of all I found the host to be a great guy who clearly loves his role.

It's located around the corner from a Metro stop, and you can easily walk to the port and old town. There are bus lines very close by too.

Definitely recommended for those who appreciate B&Bs over hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehouseoflard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rene (the host) is very friendly. He made awesome blueberry pancake for the breakfast. The room is confortable and clean. It is located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood and close to old Montreal. I will for sure return to this b&b next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hg4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at Jean-René's place for 4 nights at the end of march 2013 and I felt like I was at home. Jean-René is such a nice guy! He gave me advises about things to do in Montreal. The breakfast was just delicious; you have to try the pancake au bleuet!! I had the private room with private bathroom; the room was very clean, a little bit small but it is decorated with taste like the entire house. The location is very close to the metro.
Jean-René really helped me for my other trip. I will definitely stay there whenever I go back to Montreal!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parisian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had such a lovely time at this B & B. The host, René, is so down-to-earth, kind, and welcoming. I have never felt so at home apart from when I have stayed with family! The decor of the B & B is stylish yet warm. Our room was small but quaint and smartly designed with a lot of attention to detail. The breakfast was filling. There was a choice of pastries, toast, yogurt, and fruits plus a hot entrée prepared by René. We had blueberry pancakes one morning and a cheese omelette the other. Both were very tasty and filling. My husband and I have already decided that this is the place that we would like to stay on our subsequent visits to Montreal. The location is extremely convenient. Less than a 5 min walk to the Metro (Frontenac station), near a wonderful Polish patisserie, and also near a convenience store. And parking and wifi are free! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#16 of 146 in Montreal
387 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#10 of 146 in Montreal
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
#11 of 146 in Montreal
324 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#2 of 99 in Montreal
361 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Angelica Blue Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Ocoin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Ocoin B&B

Address: 1930 due Dufresne, Montreal, Quebec H2K 3K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $92 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gite Ocoin B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gîte Ocoin consist of a self-contained, fully serviced four bedroom, two bathroom ground floor apartment with it's own private entrance. In the same building as your hosts, it is ideally located in a quiet and safe area of the city just three blocks from the Frontenac subway station and a mere twenty minute walk to the central core of the city with it's festive venues, museums, shops, restaurants and eateries, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gite Ocoin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing