We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Great Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Roberval
Ranked #78 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We decided last minute to go to Montreal and Le Roberval was one of the only hotels available. Was a little worried after reading some of the reviews but decided to give it a chance.

Got there much earlier than we could get into our room, but were checked in and given access to the parking garage ($15/day). The parking garage is behind the hotel across the street - there are a few spots in front of the hotel for you to load and unload. The parking garage is very tight - if you're driving anything bigger than a small SUV you might be in trouble. While we waited we walked down to Old Montreal - only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful, took the time to show us everywhere we wanted to go on a map.

The room wasn't bad at all - a little old but more like a small apartment than a hotel room. Very clean as well. Had no toiletries in the bathroom but went to the front desk and were given them immediately. Shower is more like a water cannon, but at least the water was hot, and it's better than having no pressure. The kitchen has dishes for you to use - there is a sign posted informing you of a $25-$30 charge if you don't wash them yourself. Air conditioner is in the "living room" with the TV (only 2 English channels) and a pull-out. It is very loud, but turning it off or shutting the door was not an option as it was pretty hot that day. Bedroom has no TV in it. Bed is pretty hard, not very comfortable at all unfortunately.

We were on the corner of the hotel at a pretty busy intersection, so there is traffic noise as well as a hospital close by. That didn't bother us too much, the bigger problem is that the inside hotel walls are pretty thin, and there were other guests who thought nothing of screaming in the hallways at 3 in the morning.

There is wireless internet in the rooms, they give you the password at the front desk. Seemed to work pretty well. Continental breakfast included as well, same as you would expect. Toast, cereal, bagels (Montreal has the best bagels!), fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea.

All in all, a pretty good hotel. Couldn't beat the price. It was a little more room than we needed for one night but would be good for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleone3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review in regards to your stay at hotel Le Roberval.
We certainly appreciate your comments.
We always take them very seriously and use them as a tool to keep improving.

As a matter of a fact, we are actually changing all our beds, for brand new superior category mattresses. We are also changing our television system, to add several English and foreign channels, as well as updating to flat screens LCD televisions in all the rooms. Some of the older TV sets will be installed in the suites, so most of them will now have 2 televisions.
Older, noisy air conditioning units will also be changed before summer.

Traffic noise can be a bit of a problem to some guest, but we certainly have quiet rooms facing Labelle street or an inner courtyard, that can be booked upon specific request.

In regards to the fee for washing the dishes, it is rarely charged and is mostly there to prevent abuses. We are currently discussing the possibility to change our policy to that effect.

I hope I was able to convince you to consider our hotel for a future stay in Montreal!
I'm sure you will appreciate our improved facilities!

Thank you very much,

M.Roy
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    221
    118
    44
    27
See reviews for
135
150
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

I went to school in Montreal, so I guess I'm at an advantage when choosing a place to stay. This place might not seem so great from the outside and it's nothing really special inside either, but it's spacious and has all the things you'd need. It's a great value for what you pay and - I can't stress this enough - the location is wonderful. You're just 2 blocks away from the Berri-UQAM metro station, which connects to a few lines, and is nestled between the Village and the Latin Quarter, two very interesting and fun neighborhoods. The Old Port is also not too far away and the express bus to Dorval/Trudeau stops in front of the hotel. If you just need a central place to crash and aren't planning on spending a lot of time in your room, this is a great option. Breakfast is included and is in the basement - not the best in the world, but for a free breakfast it could be worse. So, if you want to save some money and spend it instead on some of Montreal's amazing restaurants, but would still like to be in the heart of it all, this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garspolyglotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My family visited Montreal for the first time in July 1, 2010. Because we want to feel the real atmosphere of Montreal, we decided to stay at a hotel in Downtown area, and unfortunately we chose Le Roberval which turned out later to be a very bad decision. And here are some of the reasons..

1. It is REALLY noisy!! I am usually not picky of the quietness of hotels but this hotel is beyond any tolerance of mine. It is noisy all night. I was waken up many times during the night due to the traffic outside. I closed all windows tight, but it's just useless.

2. Unsatisfied service: When checking in, we told the clerk that we would like a QUIET room, so we preferred rooms in higher levels. When we pulled our luggage to the 5th floor ( by the way, the highest floor is 6th floor), we found our room was facing a major road, and actually, the room was located at the corner of the intersection of two busy roads! The room's very noisy day and night. :-(

3. Over-charging: when we checked out, the bill charged us $60 for two nights parking (before taxes), and the price should be $15 per night. The clerk refunded us after we found out this issue, but he didn't show any apologies at all. Even $15 per night is quite expensive, since the parking is in a different location and you have to pull your luggage cross the street to the hotel. The parking site is quite small, you'd better to be a good
driver to park there.

4. The rooms and the building have some stale smell, everything in our room is quite old. TV is not working ( yes, you can turn it on, but the image is as blur as the most strange paintings in the art gallery in downtown. The screen of the TV is very tiny too, I have not seen a TV which looks that shabby for more than 20 years!) There is no shampoo. And it even charges you $25 if you use the dishes and don't wash it yourself!

The only thing decent in this hotel is the breakfast. The food is not bad, and there are many choices of food.

Avoid this hotel if possible, or you might feel regretful for your money as we did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had a kitchenette in our rooms and as usual we used the dishes and left them dirt in the sink. When we came back to our room after morning cleaning, we were surprised that how come they didn't wash the dishes. But we didn't acre and we washed them our self. On the day of checkout we left some dirty dishes in the sink. Now I see that the hotel charged my credit card $28.22 for not washing the dishes. Ridiculous! If you go to any other hotel, they do the dishes without saying anything. It is part of their service. The hotel managers don't have right to charge their guests for these nonsense reasons and even $28.22?!! How many hours did it take for a poor maid that get paid less than $10, to wash my dishes?

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kfarbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajkot
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

stayed in the hotel for a diabetic conference (international!!) in sept. 2009. was told on arrival that only a room in the cellar was available inspite of our advance booking. had to lug our luggage all the way down 2 flights of stairs and back up again. toilet was jammed and not working. plus points : polite staff, the basement room was HUGE could be more useful if we were a group of 8 people maybe. otherwise location wise good with metro station nearby and lot of food joints in walking distance. definitely good value if you consider it is 2 star

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

The place sucks in too many dimensions to list them all, but I'll try.

1) The nightly noise is beyond horrible. Windows face the main street where traffic never ends, with abundant honkers and ambulance/police sirens thrown in for good measure.
2) The location is tolerable but doesn't qualify for "good". The Old City is half an hour of walking away, and there are no convenience stores or decent eateries anywhere around.
3) Our room had an A/C blasting right above the kid's sofa, essentially rendering it useless. The bathroom was pathetically small, the curtain leaked, and I can't quite compose myself to describe what the place smelled like.
4) Do not repeat our mistake and fall for the advertising that mentions a garage. It is located 5 minutes away from the hotel, and will be charged separately at a rate of $15 a day (FYI, private lot charges $10).
5) Free WiFi connection (which actually lured us in) required a re-login every 20 minutes. It might be fine if you need it for emails and news but forget anything else.
6) Continental breakfast sucks anywhere, anytime, and Le Roberval was no exception.

The only redeeming quality was kind, decent, and good looking staff at the reception. They even spoke English pretty well, a rarity in Montreal. All in all, get a decent room in a network hotel closer to the Old city or, failing to afford that, find a cheaper, cleaner, and/or quieter place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry you didn't appreciated your stay with us.
We do our very best to offer quality accommodation at affordable rate to all our clients and their comments, positive or negative, are always appreciated, as they are the best way for us to keep improving.
However, I'd like to reply to your review to clarify some points.

1- We are indeed located at the intersection of Berri street and Rene Levesque Boulevard, which are major streets of Montreal centre. There is therefore some noise from the circulation, as for any major downtown area. However, we do have rooms facing the inner courtyard, for guests who prefer quieter rooms. They are available upon request.

2- The Old city is located 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. Only 4 blocks south on Berri street. From there you can stroll all around the Old Montreal area, which is quite extended.
For guests who doesn't want to walk, the Berri metro station is located only 50 meters away and the next 2 stops are located in the Old city.

3- The AC units are located in both the bedroom and living room in most suites. While it can be unpleasant to people sleeping the sofa bed, this can be easily solved by leaving it to cool the room during the day and turning it off when you go to sleep. As for the bathroom, curtains are checked and changed regularly and we put a lot of emphasis on maintaining clean rooms including the bathrooms.

4- Our underground garage is shared by our 2 properties, located one next to each other. It is located directly across Labelle street which is a very low circulation street. One can't possibly take more then a minute and a half to get there from the hotel. Montreal hotels can charge up to 25$ / day for parking. Our rate of 15$ for underground parking is therefore quite reasonable. While outdoor, unsecured parking lots may charge 10$ at times, their rate fluctuate according to demand and events in town and can go up to 20$ / day. There are 2 of them located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel for guests who prefer that option.

5- Our WI-FI connection ask for re-login after 60 minutes and not 20, and ONLY if there is no activity.

6- Continental breakfast may be unsatisfying to some clients who wish to have warm items or meat on their menu, however we offer extended continental buffet, including fresh pastries, croissants, bagels, bread, cream cheese, cereals, fruits salad and much more, which is satisfying to a majority of guests. In any case that is clearly mentioned upon reservation and can hardly be a point to complain about. Several restaurants located within walking distance offer American breakfast.

Thank you for your good comments regarding our staff, they do work very hard every day to give quality services to all our guests.

Finally, higher end, more expensive, chain hotels, may be more convenient to some guests. But our mission has never been to compete with such properties, ours is to provide guests with a quality budget option for accommodation int Montreal. I'd also like to mention that most issues stated in your review would have been immediately resolved if mentioned to our team during your stay.

I hope you still enjoyed your time in our wonderful city and that your experience won't deter you from coming back.

If you wish to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to contact me,

Thank you very much,

Martin Roy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

Good quality/price and amazing staff. The room is clean. Unfortunately, the building keeps at night the (too) warm temperature of the day. The A/C is too old so if you put it on, the noise makes you feel like you're in the middle of a monster truck's show and it doesn't really work anyway. Other idea : open the window to let the fresh air of the night in, but though the location of the hotel is great for a tourist, it is located at the cross-road of the most noisy streets of Montreal so you can't sleep either, with trucks and cars and ambulances alarm (yes a very big hospital is on the other side of the street). My advice : Book this hotel during winter.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#70 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Property: Le Roberval
Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing