We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills”
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Roberval
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No Frills”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is an average city hotel that caters to tenants staying for a couple weeks or more. Most units have a kitchenette . You rarely see staff which is nice, in a way, almost like an apartment type feel. It is 100% smoke free, ant are extremely strict on this. It is very centrally located, with metro service within about a block or so. No luxury here. Parking is in an adjacent building with staffed underground parking.... But confusing to find at first.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeMortimer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Chloe,

Thank you for your recent review !
I certainly agree with you that frills and luxury is not our specialty ! :-)
I do believe however that we offer a very good value considering the services we offer and our location.
I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that you'll consider staying with us again on your next visit to Montreal !

Sincerely,

M.Roy
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    226
    119
    44
    28
See reviews for
137
154
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose our hotel based on price, location and the availability of a Continental breakfast. The reception staff was bilingual and very helpful, and the housekeeping was friendly and efficient, but did not speak English. If you want a great view and lots of luxury, then go elsewhere, but we weren't in our room that much to have that be a priority. The location was superb, and we felt very safe, but the street traffic did get noisy with the windows open at night. Great value. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMa_Lou_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at hotel le Roberval !
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Thank you very much,

M.Roy
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way! We love the Montreal hospitality!
While inquiring about the hotel and booking over the phone, the staff were accommodating, professional, courteous and resourceful.

The location of the hotel could not have been better, within a walking distance to restaurants, the old Montreal, shopping, parks and the metro station.

We had a one bedroom apartment, with a small kitchenette, living room and it was perfect for our 16month old toddler. The room was very quiet, despite the fact that it is on a major boulevard. The mini apartment was clean, although we wished we could have had it cleaned every day, rather than every other day- However, when we broke a glass plate, the management and cleaning staff instantly cleaned it up. Again very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanchoyStellche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to post a review of hotel Le Roberval !
I'm glad we we're able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed both our services and central location.

Housekeeping service is definitely made on a daily basis, so I'm not too sure what happened during your stay. However,, please do not hesitate to send me more information about your exact dates of stay and I'll make sure to follow up with housekeeping department.

Once again, thank you for posting your impressions !

Sincerely,

M.Roy
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

One block from one of the best Metro Stations (Hub for several lines) so transportation is good. Also buses run by here, too. Get a 3 day card for unlimited rides. Hotel is two buildings that are connected. Must have been an apartment house once. Nice big kitchen in the room. We had only an alley view. Maid service not strong on tucking in bottom sheet. Changed sheets after 4 days when it should have been three. But a good value with a really decent Continental Breakfast. An 8 dollar cab ride from the main railroad station. We took the Amtrak Adirondack from Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Bill,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your impressions, following your recent stay at hotel le Roberval.

I'm glad you could take advantage of our central location and enjoyed our amenities !
I have forwarded you comments to housekeeping so they can review and see what happened.

Sheets are indeed changed every 3 days as a standard procedure, however, guests can also request a linen change at any time during their stay, by placing the service request card on their bed.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite this inconvenience and hope we have the chance of welcoming you back on your nest trip.

Thank you very much,

M.Roy
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent four days in Montreal in August specifically to attend the Montreal International Film Festival. This was a last minute trip so our usual resting spot was unavailable. The location of this hotel is excellent and was well within walking distance of the three theaters that were part of the Festival. I read the reviews prior to the booking so up to the last minute, I was prepared to cancel and book something else. Reception staff is bilingual and were pleasant with the exception of one occasion. The room we booked had a mini kitchen but other rooms have a full kitchen which helps with the overall cost. Lots of families were staying here so I am sure that the kitchen came in handy. Our room temperature was OK and the water in the bathroom was hot. Housekeeping was a major problem. The carpet was never vacuumed the entire time that we were at the hotel. The carpet was worn through in several places with the floor showing through. Bathroom has those soap dispensers that you squeeze to get soap. They were difficult to use so if you have any grip or arthritis in your hands, you may want to bring your own soap. We ran out of soap in the bath and sink areas. These soap containers were large so obviously housekeeping hadn't checked them in some time. Front desk staff contacted housekeeping staff when we contacted the desk about the issue. The staff member, who was generally polite, flew off of the handle with comments that this issue was our fault. We did use the parking which is underground and narrow but we were able to negotiate that. Overall, I rated this hotel poor. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay.
I regret that we weren't able to meet your expectations.
I have already transmitted your review to our housekeeping department to insure such issues are avoided in the future.
Such practice are certainly not part of our usual quality standards.

I'm glad you could still appreciate our central location and hope that despite inconveniences you mentioned, you appreciated your stay in Montreal.

Thank you very much,

Sincerely,

M.Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked this place through the Hotwire secret hotel and was guaranteed a 3.5-4 star hotel , this place is barely a 2 star. We were upgraded to a suite (haha) as we were travelling with a small child . There was a kitchenette which was the only reason I didn't pack up and go to the holiday inn next door. Thank god we were only using it to sleep and were out all day . I travel frequently and have never been so disappointed with a hotel as this one and hotwire in general , they need to check these places before they hand out stars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyzeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at our property.
I regret that your stay wasn't up to your expectations.
I must say this is certainly due to some confusion with Hotwire's star rating.

Our hotel is rated 3 stars by Quebec tourism commission. However, it is rated 2 stars by Hotwire, according to their own rating criteria. As such, we show a high satisfaction score and receive positive reviews from Hotwire clients, who feel this rating is accurate and that we meet or exceed expectations.

Of course, your disappointment is understandable if you expected to book a 4 stars property.
I hope you still enjoyed your trip to Montreal and I'm glad you found the kitchen in your suite to be useful.

Sincerely,

M.Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good value for downtown hotel. Close to metro. Walking
distance to old Montreal and many restaurants. Excellent free buffet breakfast. Clean rooms and good maid service although sometimes rooms not done until late afternoon.

Room Tip: If choosing suite option select murphy bed as mattress more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nortravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression of Hotel Le Roberval with the TripAdvisor community!
I'm glad you enjoyed our central location and our complimentary breakfast.
I hope you enjoyed visiting our beautiful city and look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Montreal!

Best regards,

M.Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#80 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Property: Le Roberval
Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing