We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at a budget price”
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Roberval
Ranked #75 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel at a budget price”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early August. This hotel is located in a fairly dodgy area of the city, but with the advantage of being close to metro, and easy to walk around. We were located on the ground floor (same level as reception), and there was a lot of noise in the corridor outside our room all night on the first night (Sunday), however it wasn't as bad for the remaining 2 nights. We asked the reception staff if we could change rooms, but they were unable/unwilling to do so. The rooms were pretty basic, although clean. The breakfast was also reasonable.
I would stay here again, but next time would ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather0664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of hotel le Roberval.
I regret we couldn't provide a room on higher floor during your recent stay.
I guess the hotel was probably full, otherwise we would have been happy to offer another room.

I'm glad to see you would consider staying with us on a future trip to Montreal and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again!

Thank you very much,

M.Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    232
    123
    45
    28
See reviews for
140
158
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ON Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week. The location is very good. Our room was clean and nice but a little bit too dark. And the aircon is too noisy. Breakfast was simple and ok (We had same breakfast for a few days!!). The parking entrance is very scary (too narrow like a hole). But with the price, I think Roberval is still a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Oddly this has the making of a good tourist hotel, The location is adjacent to a lesser desired area of montreal,but felt safe.The apartment booked had 2 bedrooms,(clean but very dark no view in 1) kitchen, lounge: only a settee for 3?.to sit and relax. Continental Breakfast was a good,plentiful and included fruit, fresh bread, croissants and pastries coffee. Service to our room was late in the day. Ensure that HAVE and you USE the door note to request service. reception staff spoke english But do not be fooled by the website photos (retouched?) to improve image,The hotel is painted a drab dirty coffee or dark colour in most areas, A bright light airy look, would move this to the opening comment Dennis St & Subway 2 minutes Old port 25min walk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roberval in August 2013. For such a centrally located hotel it provided very good value. Situated on the corner of the Village and five minutes walk from Rue St Denis we were at the heart of the restaurants and nightlife whilst Old Montreal was one stop on the Metro or a fifteen minute walk. The Metro station was two minutes away and the 747 airport bus stopped very near to the hotel.
Our room was clean and comfortable. It had been recently decorated and included a kitchen, with cooker and fridge. The continental breakfast was simple bur plentiful and included fruit, fresh bread, croissants and pastries. The reception staff all spoke good English and were very keen to help. Our request for towels was carried out before I returned to my room. The only thing lacking was a view from the window.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWare_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel location is good,but our room was extremely inconvenience.Dinner table and toilet door where located very close.No any view from the window. just dark wall
Breakfast simple but good..
Parking was as nightmare for us.We wait about fifteen minutes until our way to go was free.
Staff good and polite.
I can recommend this hotel but you have to be very careful with choice of room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room with kitchenette and it was handy. Moreover, the subway station was 3 minutes away and the bus stop from/to the airport was also a few minutes away. Finally, we had a lot of choice for breakfast and the personnel was quite friendly. I recommend if you stay in Montreal for a few days.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niniepuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed three nights at this hotel at the beginning of June. It was hot and humid in the city at that time but my room remained cool as I opened the windows and drew the heavy curtains. I found he hotel clean and comfortable - the staff were friendly and a good breakfast was served each morning, included with the room charge. For other meals, one could make use of the small kitchen which was included among the amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a kitcken if you want to make your own meals while travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
815 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#117 of 164 in Montreal
455 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#45 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 164 in Montreal
856 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#78 of 164 in Montreal
568 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#43 of 164 in Montreal
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Property: Le Roberval
Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing