We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, but book with them (not online) to avoid hassle.”
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Roberval
Ranked #80 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel A LOT, and I usually book my trips online like most people. Ive never had an issue with this, but Le Roberval sure gave me one. Upon checking in, I was asked for a voucher. There seemed to be a language barrier so he said I could wait until checking out but it wouldn't be a big deal. I had no idea what he was talking about.

The next AM upon checking out, a man told me unless I turned in this "voucher", I would be charged for my room though I had already paid through Kayak.Com and showed him my email receipt. I told him I've never received a voicher to turn in and that seems like something his hotel had to retrieve, not me. He made me stay on the phone with kayak.com for over 40 minutes threatening that if I left without having it faxed that he would charge my card. I was livid, as this took time out of my time in Montreal. Eventually Kayak called them on the other line and sorted it out. I did not have to be involved at all.

Other than that, the rooms were homey, the beds were very comfortable, and the location, okay. Just be careful how you book this place...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrityNPunk887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 541 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Roberval was great. The room was cozy and well-equipped with a bathroom, kitchen (with stove, fridge, dishware, and table), balcony, and bed. The halls of the hotel are a bit tricky to navigate and the parking lot is sort of a nightmare (with very narrow passageways and no elevators) but those issues are minimal (unless you have impaired mobility, in which case the parking garage would be something of an issue. The hotel itself has elevators, of course).

The location is pretty good. Definitely walkable to the old city and one of Montreal's major metro stops, but if you're looking to literally be in the center of things, this place isn't that. It's technically in the latin quarter, which is not the best area. But like I said, things are walkable. The area also isn't awful, and if you're planning on doing touring anyway it doesn't really matter.

The service was good and the receptionists were helpful. We got a great recommendation for a breakfast place not far from the hotel from one of the women behind the desk which was great. Overall, it's a great value for the price--inexpensive accommodations but doesn't feel like a "budget hotel." It is actually quite nice, clean, and air conditioned, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilypadhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was nice to have access to a small fridge, a sink and ustensils without having to pay a supplement. It's was also nice to have a breakfast included even if it was a bit rudimentary. Having free wi-fi is most appreciated.

It is well located : 15 minutes walking distance to Place des Arts approximately. The decor of the room is rather basic but the room is clean (which is more important than the looks, I think).

Finally, only negative point is the the mattress wasn't firm enough, but it's the case for many hotel I went before.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquesge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Location - a walk to good eating and some directions felt dodgy. 4th Floor room very noisy - street noise with 8 lanes of traffic in 4 directions and stop lights/intersection. Window had two glass layers but not double glazed (sealed) so still very noisy and air con was set into wall allowing more street noise in. fortunately aircon was very noisy so we used that to drown out all but trucks & sirens. staff v good but deposit required on check in was $100 more than total bill so felt like thieves before we even saw our room - which was clean and spacious. "kitchenette" had fridge and cutlery and no cooking (no stove, oven, toaster or microwave). breakfast had highly processed cereal (fruit loops and wheat flakes), fruit salad from tin. coffee drinkable and yoghurt good and croissants good - so breakfast reasonable for price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FCarroll18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Got it through a discounted price. Hotel is in a good location. Close to the village. Was given a single bed room when at the time of booking there was no indication of the room. (I had looked for this info. & so assumed it was a double bed) Hotel was full so couldn't get a different room. Despite that it was quiet. Free continental breakfast. Parking is outside and not on site. Room was clean. Hotel staff seemed nice and helpful but did not really interact with them much just through observation of other guests. This is more of a suite type of hotel as there is a kitchenette area with basic kitchenware. Wifi was good. Would stay here again at that price.

Room Tip: Contact hotel if there is no clear indication of what the room type is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EternalFyre83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Roberval on Rue Berri. We stayed in the kitchenette, which was clean and well stocked with dishes and cookware. the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good light fare: yogurt, coffee, croissants, cereal, canned fruit and such. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The lighting, desk, kitchen table and medium sized television were all adequate.

The hotel is two blocks from the Rue Berri-UQAM station and an easy walk to the restaurants and stores on Ste. Catherine near the Village.

It is not a luxury hotel and is well priced for medium budget travellers. I would stay here again. Thanks

Room Tip: We were close to the door to Rue Berri and heard people banging luggage as they came in or out . Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at this hotel thru Hotwire and we were extremely satisfied with our stay. Our room was very clean. The hotel was located walking distance to Rue St Denis, Old Montreal and St Catherines (downtown). there was parking nearby for 15/night. the only negative I found was the towels being a bit thin and the a/c possibly not enough to cool the room on a hot summer day as it was the older room a/c type. breakfast was ok- enjoyed the montreal bagels on our first day.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
860 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#119 of 165 in Montreal
482 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#57 of 165 in Montreal
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
585 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 165 in Montreal
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $76 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing