We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel with friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Ranked #47 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel! Owners were very friendly - showed us maps & where to eat etc. Rooms were clean & had everything you need for a night, have things like shampoo. No phone in the room - make sure you have cell phone! Looks different from usual hotels - laminated floors (a bit squeaky), bathroom looks like home bathroom. Not fancy, but clean & does the job. Beware some rooms have shared bathrooms. We had a room with a private bathroom & 2 beds, & it has a fridge. A microwave is in the breakfast area, so we could save left overs. Breakfast is simple - bread, bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee, orange juice - good enough to start the day. Rooms not very sound proof. We could somewhat hear next door talking/watching TV, & hear some traffic from the roads in the morning - noise level still acceptable. Free parking is limited, but we manage to get the last spot every night. If everyone parked tight, may fit 9 or 10 cars. Neighborhood was quiet, no shops around, so it is not convenient if you are hungry at night. There is a snack machine in the lobby. Location is a bit far from downtown on public transit. But if you have a car, it is only 10 minutes drive from down town. NOTE: there is a BIXI station VERY close to the hotel! Less than 1 minute walk! If you bike, this is a good option! Given the price, don't expect a 5 star hotel, but we were extremely satisfied, & we definitely recommend this hotel to our friends!

Room Tip: Make sure you know whether you room has a private bathroom or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKCCHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    42
    20
    19
See reviews for
53
84
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel was selected after going through a number of regular hotels. My first reaction after seeing the hotel was" is it a hotel or someones apartment"? We were told that we have got a "big" room in the hotel but that particular big room is the like a study room. it did not have a closet, nor a telephone to contact the front desk. It had two full bed laid in front of each other, a very small mirror , a chair and a tv. The bathroom is very small and shower place was the smallest and I mean it. Breakfast was good and chef was good too. location was good but the rooms should have been more spacious. After a tiring 6 hours drive with a toddler, I definitely wanted to have a more cosy and spacious room. No place to keep 2 suitcases. Though its very much affordable still space was my biggest complain. cleanliness was ok

Room Tip: second floor corner room with two bed ( supposedly the bigger room in hotel :) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Horrible place! Very rude staff, rooms are dirty, dated and smelly.
Location is another disaster!!! There so many other hotels in the same price range and much better. Be aware- choose something else!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NataRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It wasn't too bad, but my daughter and I are never coming back to this place. For starters, I was told that the bus scheduled was already printed in the lobby, when I nicely requested a copy. I already knew that, I just wanted a copy. Big deal. They make you feel like you are bothering them by asking for little things like that. The lady co-owner of the place is nice and tries to accommodate you and satisfy your needs. The other two males, including her husband co-owner, does not. What I shame! I mean, he even asked me why I didn't bring a car in the first place, after I mentioned the place was far from downtown. There's nothing going on in that area of the city and to get to the metro you have to get on a bus ride first. Breakfast was ok, but nothing memorable. The room was being renovated and had paintings covering spots that weren't painted yet. Why would you rent a room that hasn't been finished yet. Amazing! Dust on furniture, lots of it. The only reason why I'm giving the place two starts is for the price, but of course, you must be aware, you are definitely get what you are paying for. Only stayed there for a couple nights, then changed to a more centralized location. That's when my vacation started.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeachingMama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Old building but looks nice like a palace. The Breakfast was so good. First of all, this hotel is near downtown, so very convinient to access to city's center. Room is clean. At the balcony, you can see the river and the beautiful color of sunset.
For me, the staff are so kind. When I left my shirt and asked to ship the shirt, they were so kind that they shipped my item on their cost..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed at Manoir Ville Marie a few times now and go back next week. The owners & staff could not be nicer. They are always renovating the rooms. The experience gets better each time. This is a great place to stay in Montreal. All rooms have Wi-Fi, parking and free continental breakfast. The breakfast room can also be used anytime of day or night to make yourself a coffee or tea, etc. This is my new place to stay in Montreal. My sister might try it also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

OK, let's start with the place itself. It does not have a hotel feel, but it is not what comes to mind when one mentions a B&B. It is more like having a quasi hostel in a quirky building, actually an old post office. My room was way bigger than I expected. It included a small refrigerator.The furnishings were somewhat old. The building, as mentioned by other reviewers, had a bit of a funny smell. Opening the windows helped with that. The curtains had one translucent panel instead of two solid panels, but that helped me wake up early. I lucked out in that the evenings were cool, but the lack of control of the ac could have been an issue otherwise.

The neighborhood, not exactly Boardwalk/Park Place, but nowhere near as dismal as some reviews would make it out to be. There are some industrial buildings in R.Rouen, but there are predominantly average residential buildings in the area. In fact, nearer to the metro, some new units are in construction. Bus 34, across the street from the hotel, takes you right to the Papineu Metro stop. Alternatively, you can do a 10 minute walk up rue Prefontaine to the eponymous Metro station.

The wifi connection was strong. I just did basic e-mail and wiki travel research, not streaming or heavy downloading, but all worked smoothly .

The breakfast was included in the price. Nothing but basic, but don't look a gift horse, etc...

So would I recommend it? It would depend on the individual's tolerance for the aforementioned. With a little patience, it may grow on you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyjafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#18 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Saint-Leonard
Days Inn Montreal East
Days Inn Montreal East
#40 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#25 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Simone
Le Simone
#33 of 144 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Le Sieur De Joliette
Le Sieur De Joliette
#67 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#13 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie

Property: Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Address: 3130 Rue Ste-Catherine East, Montreal, Quebec H1W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing