We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old with shared bathroom, but clean and wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Ranked #50 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It wasn't easy to find a place in Montreal. I did a lot of research as I wanted to be near downtown but to have an affordable option. I have to be honest, I thought that this place was going to be worse. Tommy, the guy in reception was very patient with my french (one of the reason on going in a flash visit to Montreal was this) and was extra nice on showing the way to move around the city in public transportation which was not too far away. The neigborhood was quiet and apparently safe.

Beds were good, batshroom and showers too. I'm not crazy on sharing, but it sures lowers the price a lot.

Very good breakfast, lots of options and no limit to eat as you like. Also excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Montreal is the kind of city where you can scarcely find a decent hotel for under $150. I've tried out a lot of hotels. This hotel was my most recent attempt, where i paid $90/night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, it took me more than 20 minutes of waiting just to check in, which was very annoying. The room was quirky but large and comfortable. I slept well here. The hotel is located east of the downtown on a street that is used by prostitutes during the daytime hours. If you have a car (as i did), the hotel is less than a 10-minute drive to the downtown, which is quite convenient. Unfortunately, there is no place to buy food anywhere near here (either restaurant or convenience store). The complementary breakfast consists of breads and cereals, and is ok. There are no telephones in the rooms, which seems crazy for a place that charges $90. The internet is dreadful. It didn't work during most of my 3 days, and when it did work, it only worked in spurts of a few minutes at a time. Without phone and internet, i felt totally cut off from the world at this place. Finally, the reception is closed after hours, which strikes me as a security risk. In a city that has few good hotels under $150, this place is probably an acceptable option. But if you need good WiFi during your stay, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtsTravelerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here with my friends for a weekend this summer and I had a blast. For the cheap price, the service and hotel is great. The staff is so helpful, and Shahrzad really took the time to give me great local places to go. They were super accommodating and even upgraded our room. My friends and I had a great time in Montreal which is so beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was our first time in Montreal. We were there for just 3 days. But, thanks to all the help the staff gave us, none of our time there was wasted. The hotel is a few miles from the Old Town, but just a block from the nearest Bixi Bike Station. What a great way to get around the city. It made the hotel's location within reach of the museums, old town, and olympic park. There are dedicated bike lanes separated from the roads by concrete dividers everywhere. Yes, the rooms and breakfast are basic, but, because of the features above, we liked it enough to book an extra night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vandercleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is a historical buidling and the rooms look that way. They definitely need to do some refurnishing, painting and cleaning. We had a two-bedroom suite for 6 people and it was very tight. The bedrooms were really small and the bathroom and toilet not laid out well. The area is not great but OK if you have a car or a bigger group of people to walk to the subway station. The hotel is very close to the Olympic park and short drive to downtown Montreal. They offer a lot of delicious pastries for breakfast and the owner's wife gave us great advice on sites to visit, etc. The hotel is good for a budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Czech_couple_in_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is very nice to find a hotel that has a personal touch and is not a standard chain hotel.
The price is very reasonable and the proprietors extremely helpful with information.
Unfortunately laundry service could not be provided due to full capacity.
Breakfast was very poor, no fruit and no juice.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jaddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A friend and myself booked a room here and were nothing but disappointed with it. First of all, the location was horrible. We didn't feel safe walking around and there were 3 prostitutes soliciting us as we walked out. Secondly, the rooms are disgusting. We book a family room, and the tv was from the 1980s and the windows didn't open with no air conditioning. Also, there was tape on the ceiling holding the cracks in the ceiling. It was so bad we had to leave and the rude receptionist would not give all of our money back. Terrible place.. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mick072293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#71 of 144 in Montreal
35 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Le Sieur De Joliette
Le Sieur De Joliette
#76 of 144 in Montreal
57 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Chasseur B&B
Le Chasseur B&B
#40 of 144 in Montreal
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Simone
Le Simone
#33 of 144 in Montreal
170 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#12 of 144 in Montreal
132 reviews
Saint-Leonard
Days Inn Montreal East
Days Inn Montreal East
#72 of 144 in Montreal
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie

Address: 3130 Rue Ste-Catherine East, Montreal, Quebec H1W 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing