We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown Apartment building, poor management”
Review of Sunset Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Suites
Reviewed November 25, 2007

First of all, it took almost an hour just to have the door answered in this very run-down apartment and poorly maintained building by the manager "Maria" (whom I think lives in the apartment?). Our on-line reservation was not honored (we were told it was cancelled when we never did so) and we were given a price higher than what we were supposed to pay. The manager insists it was really reasonable for us to just pay that amount and that we don't have to go through Travelocity. But because we had kids and did not want to drive around looking for a hotel, we decided not to argue and to stay anyway. The rooms have good square footage (as other reviewers have said) because it is REALLY an apartment building with actual people living in it, BUT the place is very rundown and the manager reminds you that it is not a hotel - so do not expect to have towels delivered to you, no wake-up calls, concierge.... and just "don't complain much". We did however complain later about our reservation not being honored through Travelocity, and it took almost 3 months just to have the issue addressed by the manager who would not budge and we still paid the same higher rate and just let the matter go ------There are better accomodations in Montreal for what we paid . We had to park at the streets because of some construction being done and the hotel is easy to miss through the mesh of freeways. Travelocity advised us to write a review.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed in a two bedrooms suite/apartment with a another couple, friends of us. The building is located a little far from Downtown, but it had a garage we could use, which was good. The area where it is located is not very good.
The building looks like it was very good in the past, but it needs some urgent repairs. The apartment we stayed was very big, but in a very bad condition and not clean at all. One of the bathrooms didn't have the toilet seat, and sometimes it would torn on the light. It was actually funny, when we could get the light on we would try to don't turn it off anymore.
The balcony from the master bedroom was in very bad condition, it looked like it would fall at any time. The beds were not comfortable.
There was no room service. Our contact person was very nice. However he would forget whatever we asked him.
If you are in a tight budget and traveling with you family, this is a good option, because the suite is huge, it has a kitchen and a big living room.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples though.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gremio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Nice accomodations, close to supermarket, andf train station to Montreal., Very nconvenient. Management terrifically helpful, let us choose which unit we wanted to stay in. We had 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. Kitchen was adequately stocked for cooking.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank cwfjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NYC
14
Reviewed October 3, 2005

I stayed in Montreal for two nights. It cost my brother and I 250.00 $US on my visa but it was worth it for the extra bathroom. The room was very big and we had a dining room section also.

I hate prof.wrestling, so having two tv's was a plus. WiFi was good too but my battery was low. They should rent laptop batteries. Otherwise the stay was reasdonable, even with the exchange rate. The General Manager, Mr.Chad Theriault was exceptional and made sure we were satisfied. He followed up my battery complaint. But, we left that day. I loved Montreal. We will probably come back. Maybe then they will have laptop batteries.

Stayed: October 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We all loved it.

It is close to the Trudeau airport and the staff was sweet. It is really a charming place. The lobby is all in marble and the rooms are the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel. We had two bathrooms and two tv's. We were laughing when we walked in because it just kept getting bigger and bigger. It was like a presidential sized room exept they have alot of them and they were really inexpensive at$ 130 US.
Parking was free but I don't know how long that will stay. We have 3 kids, and the room was still too big for us. It is like our house with separate rooms for everything.

We did need to pay for the train and bus but otherwise the building and staff was great. It was the most space for the dollar. Great hotel, we will definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank Christie77777772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank robangel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Novotel Montreal Aeroport
#69 of 165 in Montreal
506 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#53 of 165 in Montreal
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Loft Jacques-Cartier
Loft Jacques-Cartier
#17 of 99 in Montreal
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Suites

Address: 2445 Sunset Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3R 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $118 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or vacation, we offer an ideal solution, with convenient and comfortable fully furnished and equipped apartments for rent.Our furnished apartments are adapted to short-term or long-term stay in Montreal (3 nights minimum). We offer daily, weekly, monthly and also annual rates.Our furnished apartments are spacious, fully equipped and multi-serviced. They provide more space and flexibility than most hotels in Montreal. Rediscover the comfort of home away from home with the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing