We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Ranked #110 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stay at the Hotel Le Saint-Andre for 4 days with friends. The great thing about this hotel is the great location in Le Village (gay area). But it ends there. The hotel is old. The rooms are something to be desire. The staff does the best they can do and I commend them. The rooms have no iron or microwave. This is not the place I will stay again. Only because its a very busy weekend and everything was sold out. The lobby is ok and a/c is ok. If the hotel was to do a complete renovation. It will be the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel Le Saint Andre is a delightful small hotel with a convenient location, well-kept facility and cordial staff. The continental breakfast was served in the room (on your schedule -- and it was right on time)and was more ample than expected. They have a SMALL parking lot that's free, but you'll need to be an early arrival. A great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As everyone says, the location is fantastic. It is in The Gay Village, which is fun whether you're gay or not. Tons of activity, great restaurants, pedestrian area. Two blocks from UQAM and the metro. The hotel is very basic, but it is clean, quiet, and pleasant. The room was small, but we had two double beds and they fit. I would stay there again, especially for such a decent price. The hotel smells a bit like smoke, but it is Montreal. Breakfast is wonderful (warm croissants and coffee/tea/juice brought to your room). The only problem is parking. There is no free parking. They have 6-8 spots for the whole hotel. But nearby, indoor, monitored parking is only $9/night, which is far better than most cities.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank JFoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I (in our late 20s) stayed at Hotel le Saint-Andre for 4 nights in may/june 2013. This is the second time that we stayed in this hotel. We also stayed here for a week two years ago, and if you are looking for a budget hotel, i cannot recommend a better hotel.

first of all, the location is incredible... 1 minute away from ste catherine st, the UQAM central metro hub station, the gay village, patios, restaurants, shops... five-ten minutes away from st-laurent chinatown, vieux-port and st-denis st (my favourite part of montreal).

the hotel itself was great, given the price, location and its 2 star rating.... we were on the 3rd floor, and had no problem with street noise, despite our location... our room had air conditioning, a firm but comfortable mattress, and a simple breakfast delivered to our room every morning at a specified time... when we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, housekeeping did not disturb us... when they did come, the rooms were made up perfectly... i didnt detect any previous smoking in the hallway or rooms (despite what other people are saying)... we were able to get free parking for our entire stay beside the alley (don't leave valuables in your car, obviously)... the receptionists we saw were all courteous and helpful, and are available 24 hours a day.

I read a lot of reviews before booking this hotel, and frankly, people are crazy. The kinds of things that people complain about are literally insane. I go to Montreal to see the city, not hang out in my hotel... but here are the things that crazy people would complain about: small television, no shampoo/conditioner, boring view from our windows, no elevator beyond the 3rd floor... it is an old hotel, with smallish rooms (compared to a suburban hotel), and perhaps a little dated... but i couldnt care less about any of these things, because the price, location, service and cleanliness were all excellent.

i booked the room off of a discount hotel website, and got an excellent last minute deal.

if you are looking for a totally adequate, clean and safe hotel, in a fantastic location and for a very reasonable price, i recommend this hotel... if you like frills, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: LIMITED free parking, so arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Applesauce12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last weekend, we stayed 3 nights.. we wanted something that was close to the village - and that it is. the hotel is definitely very dated, the carpets in the halls are stained, the walls thin and scuffed and I found the front desk attendant un-helpful and rude. We were told there was parking before we arrived, but upon arriving we were told there is no parking provided. the room was clean - for the most part, and the croissants and coffee delivered to your room was a nice touch. the rate was VERY reasonable, however I will likely stay elsewhere on my next trip to Montréal

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room on the 4th floor (you'll have to go up a flight of stairs, but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcroz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are looking for a good location close to the Village, then this hotel is excellent. However, the hotel itself is basic and is in the 2-star category. The hotel is old and has not been updated however it is clean and reasonable. On the positive, there is a complimentary continental breakfast served to the room each morning. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant. The internet is free and works well. On the negative, the furnishings are old and the walls are thin. No drapes to even keeping out the morning light.

Room Tip: Be sure the blinds work. There are no curtains. Only one elevator at the end of the hotel, so I us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is an old, run-down hotel with stained old carpets and smells of smoke and staleness. The entry greets you with dirty and broken/ missing floor tiles and NO hand rail for the steps !
It does not offer parking for guests though there is a small locked parking area at the back for approx. 7 cars ? When we asked for close parking to the hotel (for a disabled member in our group), they referred us to the library car park a few blocks away! After much explanation the desk person handed a key to the back parking lot which by midnight had filled up by other guests?
The elevator only goes to the 3rd floor so access to the top floor (4th ) is by stairs which is not pleasant for guests who have to hear thudding footsteps above them especially at 3am when a group of loud, drunken guests ventured to their rooms,
We mentioned this to the young desk person/manager who simply said "oh young people, you know" to which we explained our whole group was awakened by the noise and we were also paying guests but he seemed to not think our comfort was important !
* Then he had the hide to ask for the "tip" envelope . NO tip after the rudeness and lack of apology for us being woken at 3am and the parking fiasco !

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#123 of 165 in Montreal
192 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#114 of 165 in Montreal
188 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#102 of 165 in Montreal
159 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Andre

Address: 1285 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $46 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Saint Andre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Andre Montreal
Le Saint Andre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing