We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is about it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Saint Andre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Location is about it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is in a great location if you want to go to the bars of the Gay Village. It's right there. I paid $100 per night. I think I am only paying for location. The room was very dirty. The toilet had caked urine on the bowl and toilet seat. The bed had long black hairs in it (i'm blonde with a buzz cut). The comforter might as well had been used in a seedy bathhouse. I removed this immediately.

Now, The staff was friendly and they do bring a delightful continental breakfast to your room in the morning .

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    94
    79
    36
    38
See reviews for
44
112
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VEENENDAAL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice litte hotel near Vieux-Montreal.
Neighboorhood not the best, but that didn't bother us.
Good Staff of course bilangual, nice clean rooms.
Like all other hotels too little outlets for a laptop and charging a cell-phone.
Breakfast brought to the room on the desired time.

Room Tip: couldn't tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

the St Andre is a quaint little European hotel right in the middle of the Gay Village in Montreal. Its located just of the main street St Catharines on St Andre. Its clean, the front deskp people are super friendly and helpful. What's nice is that they will deliver your breakfast to your room whatever time you request. Not a big breakfast but enough to carry you over....the croissants and baquettes were fresh along with a nice carafe of coffee and a box juice. The rooms are newly renovated, clean and most have a fridge. (they might all have one now).
The only thing is that sometimes there is not enough parking at their lot but they wil direct you to another lot. You might have to pay though so be prepared. Other than that this is a great little find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penny687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

this hotel is a few yards down a side street just off Rue St Catherines......and if you know anything about this neighbourhood you know this is the PARTY place. As a group we go every year on the long weekend. The rooms on the 4th floor are huge....and we usually occupy the entire floor. Some say this hotel is old and tired but I disagree....the staff are EXCELLENT....the location is EXCELLENT...we can walk to the bars and back in a few minutes. The rooms have hardwood floors which is a big plus for those "few" spilled drinks. We have been in other local (within a few blocks) hotels but the rooms are claustrophobic compared the Saint Andre. And as they say it is the simple things that make your day ..so after a long night out...you wake up to your free breakfast of croissants, breads, coffee, juices right are your door. TRES EXCELLENT

Room Tip: First floor has street noise, I prefer higher. The elevator only goes to the 3rd floor so the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stayed at hotel le saint andre on aug 16 for one night,
the room was ok but this place is old and needs ugrade,the location is good close to subway and restaurants bars.
their was a mini fridge in the room,the fridge was very dirty with some spill pop ,inside and left over coke bottle.
the bathroom i found some black hair behind the toilet,i told the clerk at the reception,she said she would relay message.
in the mornig the manager was their roger ,he said its things that happen, for 100. .00 dollars i paid i will not stay their again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Saint Andre this past July. I booked it online based on it's price and reviews and it did not disappoint. The location was fantastic. Everything was walkable even in the heat and humidity. There were tons of restaurants and fun bars to check out in the area, and all of the different sections of Montreal were within a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I chose this place also because it had parking. Although the parking lot was a bit difficult to maneuver, it was nice to be able to park the car and not worry about it again! You can't beat the price either for this area. The rooms themselves were extremely clean. They also had a mini fridge in them which is always appreciated. The breakfast served to your room every morning was a really special treat and way more than expected for such a bargain! We will continue to stay at Saint Andre whenever we're in Montreal.

Room Tip: I'd ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. In addition to being nicer, the floor is also air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

OMG - I read the other reviews and booked this place . Its in the most dreadful area. We met more beggers and dealers than anywhere else in Canada. I would not let my daughters out alone . ( The point of staying in the city!) There was a bug in my daughters bed , she found it and we checked the rest of the beds . My husband had spots all over his back after we stayed there ! There was blood and Im not sure what else on the walls. Our water did not work so we had to use another room to shower . The place stunk , it was filthy . We did not eat the breakfast having seen the kitchen the night before . The rooms were tiny . I have stayed in some dives in my youth but none of them beat this place . Really stay away . Health Canada should go take a look . The Delta was in a great part of the city so book around that area. If it had not been so late we would have moved hotels. If you want to have a good nights sleep and feel that you and your car are safe , book some other area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Andre

Property: Hotel Le Saint Andre
Address: 1285 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Saint Andre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Andre Montreal
Le Saint Andre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing