We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay in the heart of Montreal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Saint Andre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in the heart of Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Super convenient hotel. Right near the subways and close to the bus station. Nice walk to the waterfront. Rue Saint Denise. Steps from St Catherine. Easy to get anywhere in town.
Rooms are very clean. Love that they bring breakfast to your room which is included. Super nice staff, many having been with the hotel for over a decade. Rooms are small but details make up for the room size. Refridgerators, nice contemporary bathrooms, Wifi... good basics. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sirenanathalieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    94
    79
    36
    38
See reviews for
44
112
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

First, the location of this place is superb. Literally steps away from everything you could want in the village. Turn right and you get the gay district, turn left and you get the Latin Quarter. We didn't have to walk more than ten minutes to get anywhere, the bars, clubs, restaurants, and two metro stations are within a ten minute walk.

The hotel looks a little disjoint because I think they are working on making it nicer. However, the rooms are nice and fairly clean. For such an inexpensive hotel in such a prime location I was expecting something much worse.

They brought warm croissants and french bread with juices and spreads and hot coffee in the morning as a wake-up call.

There were some homeless people outside, but I never felt unsafe, its just the price you pay for being in a large city.

There was some confusion at check-in, and the gentleman implied that it was my fault that they had it in the system wrong, but once I was able to show him the price online he relented. That was only 2 minutes of bad service out of all my interactions, which were otherwise GREAT.

I would definitely come back and recommend it to friends. I don't know that I'd bring a family there, but for a weekend going out on the town, you can't beat the price/location combo.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Whenever I am in Montreal, I always stay at this hotel. I was just there in late December. The hotel rates are inexpensive. The place is in the heart of downtown Montreal so you can go shopping, go walking and the Metro is nearby.
Walking distance to Chinatown area and HSBC Bank.
The reception area is open 24 hours and always staffed with such friendly employees. The staff all speak English as well.
I love the Continental Breakfast which is served right at your room at the time you desire.
The hotel is situated within a large Gay community so there are many Gay clubs and bars in the area.
.Every room has a refrigerator and there is plenty of heat in the rooms.
The bus depot to the airport is walking distance, so need for a cab.
I highly recommend this place !!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelsonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

The first two times my husband and I stayed there (in 2005 and 2009) we were just charmed with this place - inexpensive, nothing fancy but still nice & clean, friendly staff, and a delicious breakfast served at your door - just great!
Then the last time we were there in 2010, our experience just was a bit too weird for us to feel safe there any more. First off there were people having sex right in the back of the building (which I know they can't always control, but still - just giving you an idea of what you can witness when parking your car in the back). The room was lacklustre at best, it was old and dingy, weird smelling (carpet moulding perhaps?) and not clean. The bathroom as just disastrous. So I think from this point on we're going to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hburkholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Saint Andre Hotel in the last week of November. Here is my take. Location was perhaps one of the best to be. When you visit Montreal, you want to be near where everything else is. At least I do. Location was great. It is located in a downtown area, so expect to see some homeless people at night, some police activity and some drunken fights here and there. Hey, you chose to visit Montreal right? that's all part of the big city.
The hotel itself itself is not bad. Its about a 2 star. I am am not very picky and did not expect much. I was not dissapointed. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and simple. Fine with me.
The FREE breakfast, is not breakfast at all. Its toast and coffee. Its an insult to most Americans, but at least they bring it to your room at whatever time you choose. So, you don't have to leave your room to have your morning coffee.
This hotel appears to be visited by a lot of young people. I am 40 years old and I am ok with that, but if you are going there expecting to have very quiet nights, perhaps you should go somewhere else.
The staff was probably the most helpful I have ever experienced anywhere. They are very, very helpful and are willing to do just about anything for you.
Overall, its not bad. Great price. Right in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel, DO NOT ACCEPT A ROOM IN THE 4TH FLOOR. Its some sort of weird thing they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This spartan hotel is blessed with excellent reception staff. They are friendly and choose to provide service to clients (advice, maps, etc). There is a limited capacity of free parking. Free wifi available. Short walk to Chinatown, Place des Arts and many other attractions though surroundings look unattractive at first glance. Small but nice continental breakfast included. Some decoration upgrades have been taken but more carpet replacement is needed. Fridge in room, wide selection of tv channels, very clean room and bath.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I chose this hotel after reading all the reviews posted here by the internet community. I should say that I am not disappointed by decesion, but rather well pleased. Firstly, the hotel staff are friendly, they gave me a map and lots of information about the Montreal city.Rooms decently furnished, restroom is clean and breakfast complimentary. I spent around $114 for two days and nights, it was worth it. Will surely recommend others and will stay there if I visit the city again.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#114 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Andre

Property: Hotel Le Saint Andre
Address: 1285 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Saint Andre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Andre Montreal
Le Saint Andre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing