We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place, and good prices on fruirts and veggies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atwater Market

Atwater Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.65*
and up
4-Hour Montreal Half-Day Bike Tour
Ranked #26 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The market, along the Lachine Canal, offers cheese, local produce, baked goods and meat from different vendors. Buy food there and head to the canal for a picnic.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun place, and good prices on fruirts and veggies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found this place easily via the Montreal Metro (subway) and bought berries in season (I was there in the summer), salad stuff, cheese, maple sugar, and a few other things. There are all sorts of foods that you can find, they have meat, bread, and

It's a fun place, and if you don't like crowds and can get there earlier, it's really not so crowded first thing in the morning (especially during the week).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    133
    47
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I wish I would have had more time; everything a foodie's heart desires. From fresh produce to fresh meat, fresh bread, cheese galore and loads of exotic delights.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Be a good guest and cook up some dins for your hosts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Atwater Market is a foodie's delight! There's everything from macaroons to fresh bread to pate. We popped in here with the babies ( I recommend a baby carrier, there's room for a stroller but there's too many steps) to pick up some items for dinner. Each of us picked a course and purchased items from Atwater market. I was incharge of appetizers and I picked up bread, pates (so many kinds!!), chorizo and fresh mozzarella. Mains was a lobster salad and dessert was macaroons.

We also had lunch at Atwater market.. I loved my smoked meat sandwich with spicy mustard from Roule ma Poulet. They had a paella that my friend got, it was good but sooooo huge!

A great way to spend an afternoon if you have the time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to plan a dinner at the condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We like to stay in VRBO apartments when we travel so that we can try the local markets and this one was one of the best we've found. We were in season for fresh corn and tomatoes, which we great. Wonderful butchers inside for overwhelming choices of veal, lamb, beef, as well as cheeses and all the fixings. We made a feast of veal picatta, fresh corn and baby tomatoes. Went back the next day to get burger meat and did hamburgers to go with the rest of our corn. Don't miss this place! It's also a feast for the eyes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hobbes63069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Satay brothers top food great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This small restaurant is a absolute must when you are at the Atwater market. Greeeeeaaaaattttt food at a fantastic price. Alex the owner always welcomes you with a big smile and the food is always made fresh.. Unique in Quebec

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank serje77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atwater Market also viewed

 

Been to Atwater Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing