We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and extremely friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Arrived in the afternoon without a reservation. Had seen the place on the website and the pictures really did not do the room justice. The caretaker of the hotel met me on the street after my call and guided me to the hotel. The room was spacious, bright, and completely self sufficient. The apartment looked down on the corner of St. Laurent and St. Paul which allowed us a perfect view of the old downtown and its charm. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to stay in the old section of the downtown. I only hope that I wil get the opportunity to enjoy this place in the years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14outs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Habitation du Vieux Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed here two nights in Room 303 for a girl's weekend with a party of 6. What a wondeful little place in the heart of Old Montreal.
Extremely clean and quiet!! Loved that there were 2 bathrooms to share for 6 women (you know how it is ladies..) The hotel operator Gulhan is very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again. They also have rooms for 2 or 4 people, very reasonably priced with full kitchen and all. The creperie down at street level was also FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SheriMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

This is located perfectly in Old Montreal. Walk out the front door into the hustle and bustle of this beautiful city. Everything is close by, we parked our car and didn't touch it till we left. The metro is close by if you want to travel around the city more extensively. From our hotel room (The Carribean Room) we walked around Old Montreal, the Port, Quartier de Chinois, the Village and shopping on rue Sainte Catherine. Having a kitchen was great so we could have breakfast before heading out after sleeping in. You can head back for lunch or a nap before an evening out because it is so close to everything. The place was spotlessly clean. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable but there were two futons downstairs and the 2nd night we slept there very comfortably. Having two bathrooms was also a nice surprise.

You do not get room service or cleaning service here so please don't expect that. For us the privacy was great and not having to "tidy" before the cleaning crew came in was great.

The management was very friendly and they are nearby if needed. If you didn't see them in the office downstairs they were across the street at the store or reachable by phone.

Great room at a great price. Will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank linda235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We had a wonderful time in Montreal and the "Habitation du Vieux Montreal" was the perfect place for us to stay. It is exactly like having your own apartment.

It would *not* be perfect for people looking to be pampered in the lap of luxury--there are no "amenities," like a fitness center, concierge, etc. like you would find in a hotel, and the management does not come in and clean while you're there. It's exactly like having your own apartment. But if you want to stay in the best location without spending a lot of money, it's perfect.

There are a lot of reasons why this place was perfect. As for the location, it's right in the middle of the lovely older area of town (Vieux Montreal), with old stone buildings and churches and so on. Restaurants (some ordinary, some divine), art galleries, and shops (some cheesy souvenir shops, some fancy boutiques) line the streets, and you can get a horse-and-buggy ride or drink your wine or cafe au lait and watch the world go by. It's about a seven-minute walk to a metro station, and a two-minute walk to a bus stop. Get a bus map at the tourist information bureau.

Second, the whole "it's like having your own apartment" aspect was perfect for us. We loved it because we bought groceries and stocked the fridge, so we ate breakfast and sometimes lunch "at home" every day, which saved the budget, and also the calories (it's all fancy french food all the time around here!), and also the *time* (when you're on the road a week or more, sitting in restaurants gets old fast!)

We also really liked that nobody came in the whole time. We stopped hiding the computer and when we wanted to sleep late or come home in the middle of the day for a nap, nobody disturbed us. There is a washer and dryer in the apartment, so we washed our own towels and sheets (though I'm sure the management would have given us clean ones if we'd asked) as well as our laundry (clean laundry--without paying sky-high hotel prices or sitting in the laundromat all day--in my book, *that's* a real "amenity"!)

The management was incredibly helpful, responsive, kind, friendly, anything you could want. They are right across the street in their store (24 Rue St Paul), which is open til late at night, and they are also available by phone. We were two for a couple days and then were joined by a third friend; when we stopped by to ask for an extra towel and sheets for the pullout sofa, the response was immediate, and extremely friendly and helpful--a gentleman came up to the apartment with us to get our friend's bed ready, and provided multiple extra pillows and towels. It was like staying with a friend almost.

My partner was attending a conference so we talked with a number of her colleagues who staying in other hotels, and many were disgruntled with either the price or the location of their hotel. We were extremely happy with our place on both counts.

I should say that it wouldn't be best for people who want a very quiet place--it is right on the main street in the "old city," with crowds and cars (and horse-and-buggies!) going by much of the day and night. For me, the noise wasn't annoying, even though I stayed in the room and worked all day a couple times; the windows insulate the sound well. But, it wasn't silent and sealed off. I kind of liked the sense of being right in the middle of the action, actually.

It was extremely, extremely clean, sparkling clean. I was surprised how clean it was.

I can't say enough good things about it. I would totally recommend it to anyone except the luxury traveller. I would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank birdfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2004

We were pleasently suprised by the size and the location of this place. It's in the center of the hub of old Montreal. It's clean you can't hear the neighbours. It could use a little more seating in the living room but besides that we enjoyed every minutes of it. There were five women in my group with three washroom in the apartment. Great ratio.
Thank you

5  Thank laldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island, New York
19
Reviewed August 28, 2003

This place is where to go if you want to feel like you actualyy live in Montreal. They have actually apartments for your stay. The prices are alot cheaper then the hotels around it in the old port of Montreal. The apartments have everything you could need..washer/dryer... even hair dryers and irons. This is the only place I stay in Montreal. It's clean and situated in the beautiful old port. Tons of activities, restaurants and souvenier shops. Pefect location extremely romantic, horse drawn carriage rides all year round, jet boating on the rapids (a must do activity). The old port has much history and cobblestone streets, you have to see it I can't say enough....just go. Au revoir :)

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reisemaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,005 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation du Vieux Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation du Vieux Montreal

Address: 401 Saint Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $100 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation du Vieux Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Habitation du Vieux Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing