We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Ranked #18 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The quality of this accommodation at this pricepoint would be hard to beat in downtown Montreal. It gets my A+ for everything except the street noise from below. But I guess that's to be expected with antique French windows. Maybe ask Kokila which of the suites is the quietest. Kokila is the owner/manager and does her job extremely well. I had a late evening flight when I was leaving and left my suitcase in her office until late afternoon. It was a hot summer day and when I returned to pick up the luggage I must have been a little bit sweaty and dissheveled. Kokila noticed and asked if I'd like to have a shower before I started my journey home. She said that one of the suites was vacant, handed me the keys and I had the luxury of a shower before getting on the plane. You'll never get treatment like that even at a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gLoBe-HoPpErMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Right at the center of old Montreal we stayed in a three bedroom suite. Spread over 3 floors it was exactly what we were looking for. They do need to spruce things up a bit with some missing paint, dust in the bathroom vent and the screens repaired.

The residence manager was very attentive and positive and accommodated all our requests.

Steps to old Montreal it is a great location. We did heed the other reviews to bring ear plugs that were needed as the suite we had overlooked the piano bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Habitation du Vieux in September for four nights. We had booked one of the smallest units because we knew we would be out exploring the city most of the time. Upon arrival, we were shown the small unit and another apartment that was available (I had actually considered this one.) The upgrade was too good of a deal to pass up. The apartment manager was very helpful. The unit we selected was a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was very secure. The location was perfect for our daily adventures. We would certainly consider staying here again. (Although I am listing this trip under couples, it would be a great place for a family as well.)

Room Tip: Each room is fully detailed on the hotel website. Even though the smallest unit is in the "bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetovergulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was unbelievably impressed by the service, the cleanliness, and the over all experience. Kokila was incredibly accommodating and was nothing but positive. We needed an extra late checkout when we left and she completely understood and gladly accommodated out needs. The apartment was flawlessly clean when we arrived and is equipped with a washer/dryer, full kichen w/ dishwasher and the most beautiful views of Old Montreal. I know you wouldn't want to just spend time in the hotel when you're on vacation, but this place is so much more worth your money and it's literally steps to China Town, Notre Dame, Garde Manger and a ton of museums and the science center! You gotta stay here, it's just amazing. Most amazing hotel experience yet, along with all the magical experiences Montreal gave me that weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NalCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a hastily arranged last minute travel plan, was unable to book any room at this hotel through any of the booking websites. Finally, in utter desperation called the hotel directly and Kokila, the manager, was able to secure a reservation for us. Kokila manages the property and she is extremely helpful and gracious. She even assisted us with finding a parking spot even though there are plenty of parking lots around the hotel where you should expect to pay an average of $20/24hrs.

LOCATION: What more can I say about the location - it is right in the heart of Old Montreal. You can walk everywhere from here - restaurants, museums and all of Old Montreal's attraction sites are a stone's throwaway from the hotel.

ROOMS: We stayed at the loft on the 5th floor - large and airy. Very clean. There is a queen bed upstairs and a pull-out futon in the living room. The kitchen is fully equipped - with all basic utensils, pots and pans, coffee maker, microwave and even a dishwasher. There is a washer/dryer which was an added bonus. There is a small powder room on the first level and a full bathroom upstairs, so if you are in a group, there won't be any long waits for the bathroom! There is a small dining area too. The television works fine, with mostly French channels. The kids watched some French cartoons! Overall impression was pleasant - nothing fancy but it was adequate and very clean - which is what matters in the end. It was an excellent value for the money.

SHOPPING: There is a grocery store right at the corner of Boul. Saint-Laurent and Rue Saint-Paul where you will get all basic essentials - milk, bread, cereals - a bit expensive but you pay a premium for location. A short walk up Boul. Saint-Laurent will bring you to Chinatown where you can find bigger stores and better prices. There is also another big supermarket at the corner of St. Urbain and St. Catherine where you can find a wider variety of food items. We cooked dinner most nights - got fresh produce and fish from the stores in Chinatown! With a baby in tow, it's hard to eat out every night.

A few reviewers have mentioned about the noise. Up on the 5th floor where we stayed, not much noise from the streets could be heard. However, the garbage trucks can disturb light sleepers some mornings and the A/C in our room made some weird noises now and then that was rather loudly amplified at night. This too would only be an issue for light sleepers. Someone had also mentioned about the trash problem - we were told to collect all our trash and bring it downstairs and leave it by the stairwell - the cleaning lady would pick it up. We actually handed our trash to the cleaning lady who took care of it. With a baby who is still in diapers we had a lot of unmentionables to discard!

As for check-in - no need to worry. Upon arrival if you are unable to use the phone, just walk around the corner to 24 Rue Saint-Paul, a souvenir shop where you will find Kokila. That's what we did and it wasn't a problem. You will not see anyone at the management office on the first floor but if you have any problems all you need to do make a phone call. Kokila will always answer and she will assist you with everything. It's hard to get such impeccable customer service these days. Thank you, Kokila for everything you did for us!

I'd like to offer a tiny tip for those guests who will be driving - don't worry about finding parking right away - a spot (in front of the hotel) at the corner of Saint-Laurent and Saint-Paul is reserved for hotel guests and you can park there for free for 15 minutes, without having to worry about getting a parking violation ticket. So park the car there, then look for Kokila or call her and then you can unload and check-in.

This place would be ideal for families looking to stay at a conveniently located hotel. With kids, the little kitchenette was very handy. We had a comfortable stay. If we ever visit Montreal again, Habitation du Vieux Montreal will be our first choice. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed at the loft called the Caribbean, # 501, on the fifth floor - spacious and sunny. The street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SidnSaanvismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Loved the location! We walked to everything worthwhile! Old Montreal is very, very charming! The apartment was very large and clean; washer and dryer, dishwasher, hair dryer, ironing board, hardwood floors throughout, large french vintage windows...perfect vantage point for people watching to the bustling streets below!

The location is right in the heart of everything, but it is noisy...nothing ear plugs cannot cure! I loved it though... Koliha and her family are really cool! Totally nice and relaxed:-)

Shopping is wonderful! Montreal has very unique clothes! I got some wonderful buys in Chinatown about a 1/2 a mile north of the apartment. Loved Montreal and I recommend Habitations!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! It is a small building...family owned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Precious W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

After making plans to travel to Montreal at the last minute, because of a cancellation, were lucky enough to secure a reservation at this property. The location was incredible, as it was only 1/2 block from Rue St. Paul, and only a block from the port. No need for a car here! You could comfortably walk to everything. The lovely proprietor Kokila, went above and beyond her duties to personally get us settled into our accommodations, as well as assisting us when we had a bit of car trouble when checking out. She gave us a level of service that was exceedingly rare and pleasant.
this property far exceeded our expectations, as the price was very reasonable for the quality of the room( a modern condo) and the excellent location. The free Wi-Fi signal was strong, the bed comfortable, and there was even a washer dryer. The kitchen well stocked with even more than the basic essentials( We were able to make fresh juice in the mornings with the electric juicer) There was a small convenience store very near where you could procure everything you needed to stock your kitchen, and many good restaurants nearby.
We stayed on the third floor, and would definitely stay there again when the next opportunity arises! ...Merci Bien a Kokila!... A la prochaine!

Room Tip: Our room, 302, on the third floor had large windows. Even though facing Rue St Laurent, you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajunangelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,129 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,545 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 166 in Montreal
2,105 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Lofts du Vieux-Port
Lofts du Vieux-Port
#5 of 102 in Montreal
151 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 144 in Montreal
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation du Vieux Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation du Vieux Montreal

Address: 401 Saint Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $99 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation du Vieux Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Habitation du Vieux Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing