We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesloch, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Some say that Rosemont is the New Plateau in Montréal and that’s true in many aspects: the friendly neighborhood, the shops and restaurants, the easy access to public transport – all there. And in the heart of this one can find this small but extremely comfortable B&B with the wonderful hosts Petra and Daniel who make you feel at home as soon as you cross the threshold. The place is perfect to stay if you want to explore the city: leave the car on the private parking lot – Bus stop and BIXI station are around the corner. But don’t leave without savoring the wonderful breakfast Daniel prepares (I’m talking of the probably best pancakes in town!).
We’ll come back every time we’re in Montréal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT-Bratscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
211
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhein-Neckar-Raum
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stay at A la carte B&B each time we are in Montreal (and we are there quite regularly) - and each stay is just as it should be. Not only are there the comfortable and quiet rooms, Daniel's famous pancakes (not to miss!), and the great location in the middle of an authentic, bustling Montreal neighbourhood with good public transport to town; there is also that extra attention and care that makes the real difference, from thorough explanation of the city and event tipps to providing water bottles and chargeable metro cards. Five stars, in every respect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontrealMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before, and now after staying with Daniel and Petra, we are converted. We had a lovely time in Montreal, thanks to the fantastic guidance of Petra. She sat down with us, went over maps to show us places of great interest and then how to get there by bus or Metro. We had lively, enjoyable conversations with Daniel and Petra over breaksfast. Our meals were delicious, fresh and right off the griddle. We are dog lovers so we also enjoyed the company of Monsieur Petit. We would recommend this very clean B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewoods2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Set in a quiet neighbourhood but close enough to get the the action easily, this place is great. The hosts are brilliant and breakfasts really set 6 you up for the day.

The DVD collection is a nice touch and Monsieur Petit is the best dog ever!

Only slight downside is the squeaky floors, but then it is an old building...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekrabwuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wonderful, from arrival to departure we were made to feel special. We came away with wonderful memories. We would describe this to be the perfect B & B that had it all and more. Friendly, clean, very comfortable, great breakfast, our hosts were awesome. We experienced Montreal to the fullest by using the buses and metro system. Staying on the outskirts of the city gave us a good realistic view on how the everyday people are and live. We would encourage who ever we know travelling to Montreal to stay at A la Carte bed and breakfast. You will experience a warm welcome, firstly from a wonderful little dog named "Monsieur Petit" then the hard working caring hosts Petra and Daniel............excellent place to stay.!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a great long weekend at "A la carte Bed and Breakfast". It was raining cats and dogs but there is great brew pub at the end of the street so you don't need to go far.
Petra and Daniel are the greatest hosts that you can imagine and Daniel makes mean omelets. Monsieur Petit is the cutest dog ever and very cuddly. I just can say enough good things about this place. If you are staying in Montreal, you should give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The A La Carte has it all. It is a beautiful, clean place run by two of the kindest and most accommodating people we have ever met. Petra and Daniel worked very hard to make sure our stay was the best it could be and despite the horrible weather, we had a wonderful time. Petra is extremely knowledgeable about Montreal and Daniel cooks an incredibly delicious breakfast. He is also beer connoisseur and can lead you to the best brew pubs in town! It was a pleasure chatting with them and getting to know them. And as an added bonus, the have the cutest dog on the planet. He is called Monsieur Petit, but he has a big personality. You will fall madly in love with him! We cannot recommend the A La Carte highly enough. We are looking forward to returning there as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laynehudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
#74 of 164 in Montreal
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 144 in Montreal
225 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#13 of 144 in Montreal
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Carte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Carte Bed & Breakfast

Property: A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5477 10th Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1Y 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one-of-a-kind, award-winning Bed and Breakfast with style! An elegant, urban B&B accommodation in a quiet residential neighbourhood with convenient bus and subway connections to downtown Montréal and all tourist attractions. Offering two designer rooms and an apartment - luxurious, spacious and air conditioned; cozy fireplaces, Jacuzzi, patio, BBQ ... delicious breakfasts and charming services beyond cordial hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing