We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”
Review of Hotel Casa Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Bella
Ranked #122 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect luxury. Staff really helpful. Car park a bit small but entrance up fire escape handy. Can't complain. Was boxed in carpark but quickly sorted when needed to leave. Close to police station if you need it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whittn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in room 9 up on the third floor. Be aware that there is not an elevator in the hotel, and that the hallways are narrow, and the stairs are steep and narrow. The bed was clean and free of bed bugs, but the floor was not all that clean (very dusty and dirty). The shower had an awful stench that smelled as if something had been dead in there for weeks, and the towels were quite small. The bed was comfortable, but the frame seemed wobbly and unstable. Road noise was not an issue unless an emergency vehicle was going by blaring their siren. The wifi had adequate strength and speed for our needs. The parking is free, but the first night they didn't have any room in their lot for my car (they can only fit 6 to 8 cars in their lot at a time). The free breakfast was good (2 cressants, 2 slices of toast, butter, peanut butter, jelly, and your choice of coffee, tea, or orange juice) and was brought up to your room when requested. It was a good hotel for the money spent, but if you can afford it, try to spend a little more to stay at somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here without any review from Tripadviser or Booking.com.
I was happy cause of cheap price but I really regetted that after my wife opened the refregiator in the room and frowned.

Yes! Only thing good was cheap price.
and I learned one lesson. "You get what you pay for"

We left earlier than we planned at maybe 7 o'clock because my wife did not want to stay anymore and just drove to Kingston.

I would recommend here to people who want only cheap price.
But no picky allowed here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were in room nine. Avoid it. Dirty carpet. Moldy shower stall. Hot water takes about 5 minutes to make it to third floor. The WIFI is very weak at best and then shuts off at 11pm when desk closes. It was noisy but that is understandable being on one of Montreal's busiest streets. Anxious to leave the room the next day. Did not risk the "in room" breakfast. Wished it was better after coming back to our home town.
The night before we were in a suite with a King bed in Fredericton for 5 dollars more. Huge disappointment arriving in Montreal to this poor room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaMontreal, Manager at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

First of all, I want to thank you for you comment, bad or good we need to know what was the minus or plus during your stay to always correct things to the better.

For the cleanng, I will check with the people working that week-end and have a discussion about it, it should have never happened. I'm sorry about it.

For the Wi-Fi, you should have call the reception, we would have shutdown the system and restart it. A huge amount of bandwidth has been used that week-end (too much downloading?), but for that we can't do very much, people are taking advantage of the free internet and the invibility... BUT the Wi-Fi isn't blocked at 11:00pm, it's always on.

I feel sorry that you didn't order the breakfast, the crescents are freshly baked every morning (not Pillsbury, but real crescent), fresh orange juice, toast, jam, fruits in season, and more...

As for the price, they reflect mainly the activity in town. Now it was a huge week-end in Montreal (Earth Day and opening of the International Polar Year 2012 Conference) so 80$ for a room downtown Montreal, next to the Convention Center it's really cheap.

Thank you again for your comment, I hope our response is satisfying and that you may try again our Hotel to compare the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in January and found it to be quite comfortable, friendly and in a great location near St Catherine shopping. Being able to park the car for free was a big plus as we walked and took the metro around the city. Another reviewer said the hotel was cold so we planned ahead with extra blankets, but found our room to be comfortable - we had our own thermostat so could control the temp. Breakfast was simple, coffee and toast, but they delivered it to our room promptly. The staff was helpful and courteous and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one week and was mostly happy with my stay. The room was reasonably nice, with big but somewhat unnecessary decor (massive doors and a massive radiator which was a decoration only - the real heating came from somewhere else). It was nothing annoying, however - the room was quite tasteful. Although there were a few signs of wear (one of shelves was scratched at several places), I was satisfied with the room. It was clean and the hotel staff would carefully make it up every day.

Location is good - in the center of Montreal, within a short walk of the business district, sights and metro.

Staff is friendly and helpful. In standard situations, their English communication skills are very good but we had some problems explaining a non-standard situation (two people staying in one room but arriving at different times) to one of receptionists (a young Asian man).

There is a "continental breakfast" served in the room every day. It consists of a croissant, a toast, coffee/tea and juice. I would prefer a bigger breakfast but it seems that "continental breakfast" of this type is standard in Montreal. There is free wireless internet and it worked well throughout my stay.

I had two problems when I arrived. First, the water flushing mechanism in WC was broken. I informed the hotel staff and they fixed it quite quickly. Second, the room was quite cold on the first evening. This also got fixed - in the next days, the temperature in the room was normal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our room was clean, and huge for what we paid ($50/night). The parking was good, the location was fantastic, and the room was decorated well. The hotel was quiet, and the staff were polite.

The only thing that makes this hotel get four instead of five stars was that it was cold. We had extra blankets with us, so we were fine...but, without them, we would have frozen! There was also no heater in the shared bathroom, and the water was cold in the morning. The hot water was also broken. But, it was fixed in under 10 mins.

Overall, if you are travelling on a budget, this place is a steal. If you're staying here, and expecting a five-star hotel.. don't pay $50.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 165 in Montreal
192 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#124 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#109 of 165 in Montreal
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#110 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
584 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#112 of 165 in Montreal
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Bella

Address: 264 Sherbrooke ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1X9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casa Bella 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our location downtown Montreal, we are 2 minutes away from the Quartier des Spectacles and the Place-des-Arts subway station, and walking distance from the Business District, the Shopping Area, the Convention Center, Latin Quarter, Chinatown, Universities (McGill and UQAM). We are also a few minutes away by walk from the Mont Royal (20 minutes), the Old Montreal & the Notre-Dame Basilica (10 minutes), the Bell Center, Museums, everything is within a few blocks of our hotel. Free parking (if available, places are limited). Free continental style breakfast (served in your room) and Free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing