We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel”
Review of Auberge Le Pomerol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Le Pomerol
Ranked #40 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint little hotel”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 night back in January for Igloofest. It was a lovely experience. Super close to everything, the front desk guy William was excellent, the breakfast basket was so cute, my friend and i went crazy for it. Loved it here, looking fwd to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    198
    55
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
275
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Le Pomerol was clean, nicely decorated, and provided food. The continental breakfast provided wasn't exceptional but it was nice to not have to go out to breakfast every morning. The bathroom was really clean, had a nice jacuzzi tub, and was bright. The coffee maker in the room was pretty clean but I hate powdered coffee whitener. There is creamers provided downstairs in the little kitchen and in the breakfast basket though. There were a lot of lamps in the room too, I liked that. I would stay here again. It is a block from the Greyhound bus station, so convenient. Anywhere else I wanted to go was maybe a 10-20 minute walk. It is not right in the middle of where the action is but it is definitely only a short walk away. I ate dinner in the attached restaurant one night of my stay and it was absolutely delicious! I was a bit worried it would be way overpriced and too fancy for my budget but when I got the bill I was surprised it was less than I was expecting. All the dishes were a reasonable price, especially since they were so delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved this place, clean, cosy and very French. Breakfast served to the door in a basket. Orange juice, muffins, croissants,yogurt, jam and oranges. Little kitchen with cafe style tables to have a coffee and snacks or to go down to eat your breakfast. Close to transit, right across the street.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorrain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Really cute hotel with very friendly staff, we are staying here in room 208 and it is a nice size room with a double bed an a Murphy bed, nice jacuzzi and downstairs has a little lounge area for complimentary snacks an breakfast. In the morning you awake to a picnic basket outside your door with yogurt, croissants, fruit, juice an muffins. Location is perfect if you are using public transportation and nice restaurant downstairs and the Latin quarter is a five minute walk.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Valya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Loved my stay here!
Booked a superior room with a jacuzzi, but did not have a shower (instead has a 'telephone shower'). Room was slightly on the smaller side, but still spacious enough to not feel cramped (i.e. bed was not lined up against the wall). Room was clean, not quite outdated but not modern either.

Jacuzzi was noisy and walls were thin, so it felt very disruptive! Plus the fan in the washroom was not working, but the steam did not set off any fire alarms at least.

Front desk staff was friendly, and knowledgeable about places to go and eat.
The breakfast basket at your door is great, but is probably not filling enough for some people. Luckily, the snack/food kitchen in the basement was well stocked and had better than the run of the mill foods.

Location was good, the walk to the subway is short. There is a grocery store nearby, less than a 5 minute walk, if you need some cheese or wines.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TORONT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a wonderful location - directly across the street from a metro stop and a quick walk to Rue St Denis with a ton of restaurants.

The front desk staff is friendly, helpful, and polite.

The is a lower level kitchen offering evening snacks (bread, crackers, cheese, coffee, hot chocolate, dried fruit), which I loved.

The hotel provides breakfast to your room in a picnic basket, which is a really cute and clever way to do this. It consists of oj, croissants and muffins, cheese, and fruit. You can supplement this with bread/bagels, oatmeal in the kitchen.

Rooms are equipped with an iron, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, shampoo, conditioner, coffee maker, & TV with HDMI port. Bath towels are only half sized. Shower (stall shower, no tub) does not have a shelf for toiletries, though there are built in dispensers of you wish to use their products.

A few negatives... Walls and floors are thin. I never heard people talking but heavy (or not so heavy) footsteps shakes the whole building. Also if you have a street facing room there will be traffic till about 9pm and starting around 7am. This wasn't an all night issue.

I was in an "Economy" room. I would not recommend this room unless (a) you are traveling alone, and (b) your budget necessitates it. The room was quite tight. You can see in the hotel's photo there is a structural beam adjacent to the bed. This actually is in the way and you have to move around it to get in and out of bed. The bathroom is VERY tight. To be honest, a larger person would not be able to fit on the toilet, as it is is a tight nook that even I, a petite woman, had to shimmy into and out of.

Also the heat seems a bit of a challenge. Granted I like my room warm, but it took 24 hours to increase the 4 degrees that I set the thermostat to. I think that most people would be perfectly comfortable, my body just like extra heat. :)

I did peek into another room when housecleaning entered and I can confirm that other rooms are much more spacious.

I'd stay here again but would probably upgrade to another room if possible.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank rustymambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Auberge Le Pomerol is a good option if you are on a budget and want to stay in a central location, within walking distance of downtown Montreal as well as the beautiful Old Port. The hotel has a huge parking lot right next to it (they charge an extra $30) The receptionist was extremely friendly and gave us directions to the room and told us a bit about the hotel. The room was alright- nothing fancy- the lay out could surely be better, as well as less full of furniture.. But for the price and the short duration of our stay, it did not perturb us. the bathroom is rather old fashioned too.. creaky and not exactly comfortable. Again the bath tub was too big for the space of the room. The best part about the stay though, was the breakfast basket that was hung on the door knob every morning.. it was a generous quantity and assortment of things.. from muffins to croissants, juice packs and bread butter and fruits.. a great start to a hectic day!

Overall, I would definitely return to this hotel if it were still on a deal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
404 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
242 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 164 in Montreal
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
807 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#50 of 164 in Montreal
383 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Pomerol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Pomerol

Property: Auberge Le Pomerol
Address: 819 Blvd de Maisonneuve East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Montreal
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Pomerol 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Pomerol with its ultra-design décor filled with finesse and warmth is a real jewel of style and elegance. As you will pass our doors, calm and well-being will overtake you. Its 27 spacious rooms offer you the same great comfort with a different refined look in each of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Le Pomerol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Pomerol Montreal
Auberge Le Pomerol Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing