We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formula 1 Grand Prix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Pomerol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Le Pomerol
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Formula 1 Grand Prix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

my husband and i decided kind of last minute to attend the formula 1 race in montreal in june. we decided about 2 months beforehand when most hotels are already sold out. i had won a gift certificate for this hotel and that heavily influenced our decision to stay here. we were booked in a superior room (404) for 5 nights.

for grand prix, this hotel is perfect. it is right across the street from berri uqam station. from here, it is a direct transfer to the race circuit on the yellow metro line. there is a mac's convenience store right next to the station which was great for buying water and snacks to take to the track everyday. the hotel is also one block from ste catherine st which had some dining options.

we arrived at about 8:30am after a red-eye flight from the west coast and all we wanted to do was go to sleep. we had booked a superior room, however our room wasnt ready when we arrived (he hadnt expected it would be). but william (the agent that i had booked everything through) was working when we arrived, and very generously put us in an economy room for a few hours so we could sleep. we had a nap, and william called us at 11am letting us know that our superior room (room 404 on the fourth floor) was ready. our room was little small, but was more than adequate for what we needed. there was 1 queen bed, and we faced to the back of the hotel, which meant it was really quiet at night. we had a hard time getting the room to cool down, but we asked the front desk for a fan, and they were able to get one for us to use. the only issue i had with the room was there was a small step up into the bathroom, and no matter how many times i tripped on that step, i continued to do so the entire stay! that was my own fault though and no fault of the hotel. the bathroom also had a jacuzzi tub which was much appreciated after sitting in the rain everyday watching the racing!

the breakfast basket was an awesome touch. i cant have dairy, so i didnt get to have much of the basket (i did not advise the hotel of this, so i was not expecting anything special), but my husband enjoyed the extra items that i did not have.

we didnt do a lot of dining out while in montreal, we usually went to the grocery store (IGA about 1 block away) and bought salads or sandwiches. however, we wanted to have poutine one night, and we took the advice from friends, as well as the front desk agent working to try le banquise in the mont royal neighbourhood. this was 2 or 3 stops away on the metro, and then about a 10 minute walk - but it was the most amazing poutine i have ever had!!

this hotel is a little away from some of the popular tourist attractions, however the metro can get you everywhere you want to go. we got three day unlimited pass for the metro, and this worked well for us. it was a $40 flat rate for a cab from the airport. this hotel was suited perfectly for what we needed, and we couldnt have asked for a better location.

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room - 404. this room faced the back of the hotel so it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostMrsCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    164
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
47
233
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay at le Pomerol. Great location across the street from the Metro station. Very clean bedroom, comfortable bed, clean bathroom with a nice tub, great service. Breakfast came in a picnic basket as advertised. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

One night only and it was a good one. The Pomerol is a good location. 20 min walk to anywhere. A little dated but who really cares? The room was clean. The staff was great. Parking was cheap. And to top it off...they bring you a small breakfast to your door for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnomeonhiswayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Family of 4 stayed in an executive suite with a king bed. The kids loved the morning picnic basket and afternoon snacks. The location was ideal, as it was across the street from the metro which ran the orange and green lines, which were the lines we used the most. Walking distance to the port and old montreal plus close to st. Dennis for restaurants. Friendly staff and parking just in the rear. $30 total from Friday to Sunday. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just had time for only a one night stay in Montreal to see the sights and the Auberge Le Pomerol was perfect. We had the economy room which was small but fine for one night. The hotel is small with only 27 rooms so not crazy busy and crowded. The location was great for walking to the waterfront and Old Montreal and other areas. The staff were beyond kind and helpful. They gave us great suggestions for places to eat and things to see. I had to change my reservation at the last minute to the next day and they did so happily. The breakfast on the door was a sweet touch and a time saver. Auberge Le Pomerol also has snacks available in the main eating area in the afternoon. We appreciated the cookies, hot tea, cheese and crackers and dried fruit. Parking is available behind the hotel for a small fee. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice 27 room boutique hotel close to the Latin Quarter, short walk to the Old City. Room (Superior) much larger than I had expected. Very comfortable. Love the concept of the breakfast basket hanging outside the door each morning. Very civilized.

Outstanding value for the experience.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I liked the fact that we were on the top (4th) floor. Nobody above you, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived as 4 couples for 3 nights to the Just for Laughs festival. Auberge Le Pomerol was perfect. Small rooms, however all you need is there. Rooms are well equipped with, irons, lots of hangers, blow dryer, reading lights over beds, wine glasses, a flat screen tv and a stereo system. Some rooms have jacuzzi's so just ask for availability. Superior+ rooms have fridges - I don't think the standards do, but check if that's important to you. There is an ice machine in the dining/kitchen area which provides free continental breakfast (as an alternative to your picnic basket) and free snacks from 3 - 11 p.m; and a great cozy lounge area with a computer for internet access. As you've read, they provide unique picnic baskets every morning, don't forget to check your closet for a TV tray which comes in handy if eating breaky in your room. There is a daily charge for parking at the back of hotel ($15.00 per day at time of our visit). The hotel is directly across from the Metro, and just a block or two from St. Catherine, St. Laurent and St. Denis streets where you'll find lots to do. Old Montreal is about a 15 min walk away. Very easy to find your way with the helpful staff at Reception. Huge thank you to William and Jason...you are stars at your profession, Keep up the great work on behalf of Auberge Le Pomerol, they are luck to have you on board. Thank you Auberge Le Pomeral, a great first-time experience to Old Montreal. We wouldn't hesitate to stay with you again. Merci !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#22 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#37 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#35 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#45 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#43 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Pomerol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Pomerol

Property: Auberge Le Pomerol
Address: 819 Blvd de Maisonneuve East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Montreal
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Pomerol 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Pomerol with its ultra-design décor filled with finesse and warmth is a real jewel of style and elegance. As you will pass our doors, calm and well-being will overtake you. Its 27 spacious rooms offer you the same great comfort with a different refined look in each of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge Le Pomerol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Pomerol Montreal
Auberge Le Pomerol Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing