We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Small Hotel”
Review of Auberge Le Pomerol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Le Pomerol
Ranked #60 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here September 2012. Read all the reviews and decided it was worth a try. The location was convenient and easy to get to. We walked everywhere and even walked down to the river to see where our cruise ship was.

The room was the size of a Hong Kong hotel room. Very tight with our luggage.

The bathroom was clean but old. Lots of cracked tiles and missing grout.

The breakfast in a basket was a cute idea. Nothing special but adequate. We grabbed coffee a couple blocks away at Second Cup.

The people at the front desk (evening & morning staff) were very helpful and nice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

So glad we decided to stay here! We went to Canada for the first time Oct 5 - 8, 2012. The large chain hotels were very expensive so decided to try a boutique hotel. Le Pomerol's price was "middle-of-the-road" and they offered the third night at half price. It is a charming hotel, definitely had european flair. The rooms were adequate size, had a flat screen tv, huge closet and the bathroom with whirlpool tub was beautiful. They have a private parking lot right around the corner for $15 a day which is a good deal compared to other hotels in the area and you definitely do not want to park on the street as "smash and grabs" are quite common. We actually saw 2 such cases of this while in Montreal, it is when someone smashes your windows and grab anything of value inside the car. From what I understand, if reported, the owner of the car may be fined for leaving valuables in the car therefore tempting the thieves. (Sounds crazy to me but who am I to argue Canadian law.) The best part of this hotel has to be the people! I have traveled to many places and NEVER encountered so many pleasant, smiling, helpful people. They all were helpful with making suggestions from restaurants to sight seeing. Everyone spoke both french and english so this made things much easier considering my 5 years of french 2 decades ago just weren't going to cut it. (Quebec is the only province in Canada that speaks french, all others speak english, just an interesting fact that we picked up on a ghost tour in Old Monteal). Rue St-Denis which is one block over from the hotel has lots of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The hotel is a short walk (about 15 minutes) from Old Montreal, which is old world charm at its best with outdoor cafes, great architecture and history. Montreal is a big city so don't be surprised to see hypodermic needles and homeless people on your way to the metro. Speaking of the metro, there is a metro station diagonally across the street from the hotel, very convenient.

Do take a walk up to Mont Royale to witness a great view of the city. The 1976 Olympic park was ok, we stopped on our way home and spent about an hour, the tours are pricey so we didn't do them. I was glad we went on our way out of the city and didn't spend too much time there as you have to drive because it is quite a way from the hotel.

I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Quebec. Great people, great location and great price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pumpkins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

- We stayed four nights in Sept. of 2012.
- The hotel's best attributes were its price and its location. We couldn't find anywhere that was so close to the Old Town at a better price. Then, it turns out it's right at the intersection of two of the main subway lines. We used the Metro a few times, and it was fast and convenient. Much less confusing than New York's! Just get on the right color, and go the right direction.
- The other benefit of the location was its proximity to the Latin Quarter (also called Gay Village). This was handy since it has so many interesting restaurants.
- A basket breakfast was included in the price, but we did not find it to be very appetizing. We went four blocks to Amherst, turned left and ate at a nice little bakery that serves egg sandwiches, etc. The attached restaurant was closed for renovations, so check that out in 2013. This might help the breakfast baskets, too.
- The desk had a different person almost every time we went past it, and we got a range of service there. Some people were better than others. Always friendly and generally quite helpful.
- We used the computer near the lobby to search the Internet and check email.
- We reserved rooms through an online service, but found out later that the hotel had a promotion that gives the 3rd night free. We were not eligible, after the fact. Should have phoned them directly to check for specials. This could happen at any hotel, and I will try to remember in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightning1nbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

hotel was not cheap and we only stayed one night just to get our bearings. Found the name in the Cycling Quebec handbook so it was one of the hotels recommended for cyclists. Very conveniently located close to old Montreal and the restaurants on St. Denis. We got a fabulous room with a jacuzzi tub in the room as well as a shower but although the room itself was large the design was such that parts of it were cramped, e.g. Need to be careful opening bathroom door as there was a dresser right there. This was my only complaint about the hotel. It is being marketed as an intimate European-styled personal service hotel and it was all of that, but reception area cramped - could only really fit two people and their luggage at the same time. They bring a basket of breakfast which they hang outside your room which you can either eat in bed or take to breakfast nook to supplement with other food. The breakfast nook is very small. They also have snacks available for 3:00pm - 11:00pm. Our friends got a very small room so for them it was quite a hefty price to pay. Have somewhere to store your bikes (we arrived by bike) and a bike pump. So to recap great service, beautifully appointed but kind of like "honey I shrunk the hotel!"

Room Tip: All the same price I think so go for one with a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 593hjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I came here for our honeymoon. Our first trip together was at this hotel. We enjoyed ourselves very much the last trip we figured we'd try it again. The picnic baskets were charming & appreciated the kitchen being open later in the afternoon for snacks. We figured we'd get a bigger room then last time but we really only got a bigger bed. Which wasn't very comfortable. Our view was of a fire escape & the room had either a javex smell one day or muggy smell the next. The room could have used an air freshner. The bathroom had a small step done which we tripped on many times. The room was very small with oversized dresser and chairs. I would recommend it only if you don't need anything special. Our first trip was nothing special but this was our honeymoon & we expected a better room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittikatmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms small but clean and have everything you need.
Staff are very helpful.
Area is quite lively at the weekend, lots of shops and bars of the Latin Quarter very nearby. Other areas within walking distance.
Breakfast is delivered in a basket to your door at 6am, and further snacks are available for free downstairs throughout the day.
Great value, would Definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delberto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Don't waste your time doing anymore research on what hotel to stay at in Montreal! I did it all and found this hidden gem! I could easily write a short book about our experience, but I will just try to point out the highlights. We had an Executive Room. First: All hotel staff we encountered we're friendly and extremely helpful! A special shout out to Noelle who made our trip an incredibly positive experience! Second: While not huge, the room was more than adequate. I found the decor to be very pleasant. Loved the cabinet in the bathroom. Good sized refrigerator. EVERYTHING was extemely clean! Third: Free WiFi! Need I say more? Fourth: Location, Location, Location! Metro easy to learn! Noelle was a GREAT teacher. And last, but not least. Fifth: Parking was close at a REASONABLE price. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Laurelee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 166 in Montreal
329 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 166 in Montreal
705 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#58 of 166 in Montreal
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#59 of 166 in Montreal
498 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 166 in Montreal
286 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#41 of 166 in Montreal
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Pomerol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Pomerol

Address: 819 Blvd de Maisonneuve East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $78 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Pomerol 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Pomerol with its ultra-design décor filled with finesse and warmth is a real jewel of style and elegance. As you will pass our doors, calm and well-being will overtake you. Its 27 spacious rooms offer you the same great comfort with a different refined look in each of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Le Pomerol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Pomerol Montreal
Auberge Le Pomerol Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing