We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel in the Latin Quarter”

Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Ranked #108 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel in the Latin Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel has a good location near Sainte-Caterine street, shop arteria of the city. The Village, gay community quarter, is just 5 minutes away. Half-an-hour walk from the centre of downtown. The breakfast continental includes just croissant, juice and coffee. I would recommend the hotel to backpackers and tourists.

The staff is friendly, they helped us with a cork screw (there is not any in the hotel and they asked for us in the nearest hotels), they always warned us about parking rules and provided us with useful information about the city.

The drawbacks: no elevator, the upstairs seem to be unsafe, the hotel is a little bit filthy. The charge is on check-in for all the nights (which contradicts booking.com reservation policy for this hotel). There is no free parking, so you should find a free place in the street in accordance with city policy and re-park your car almost every day, which is ammoying. The nearest parking is 12 CAD per day.

Room Tip: ask the lowest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisha_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

I was looking for an affordable hotel near Latin Quarter, and I booked this one, despite the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. I did so because I read some not-so-bad recent reviews on another website (booking.com, which I used to book this hotel), and boy, am I happy that I followed my insticts. There were two us in a large room with high ceiling and two double beds. Everything was clean and spacious, and that was all we were looking for. We were on the top, third floor, and there were no elevators, but I didn't mind. I mean, the whole hotel is kind of old, and they use old fashioned room keys, but the emphasis here is on clean, spacious and close to Latin Quarter, where most of the screenings of Montreal Film Festival took place (and were there for this film festival). And oh - my wireless internet connection was perfect. I stayed in more expensive hotels in Montreal in the past several years, and they had much worse connections.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

My friend came from the Netherlands and I booked her in this hotel. When I got there the first day with my friend, they wanted us to pay upfront the whole period she was staying (10days) and they said they would refund her for the nights if she was going to be outside of Montreal or something. She had to argue with them how many days she was gone, cause they didn't keep track properly themselves! That neighbourhood is full of ---. No joke. One night my bf accompanied her back to her hotel and the guy behind the desk didn't allow him to enter her room (???). He was rude and drunk and violent! He chased my bf out of the hotel with a baseball bat. My friend got scared and stayed the night over at my place. The next morning when we explained what happened and how ill-treated we were, they still refused to give her back her money. Just don't go there!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikatomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

We ended up getting a room here after another hotel gave away our reservation. After explaining our situation, we were happy that the manager could accomodate us. Upon arrival he told us that he was giving away another groups reservation to accomodate us. I guess that should have given us a hint at the quality of service. The room had two double beds and cost $90 each night.

The bathroom was filthy and had mold growing on the tiles. There were holes in the wall from electrical work. The toilet obviously hadn't been cleaned in several days. The shower was too small to turn around in - and the door didn't shut - in the shower or to the bathroom itself.

We were afraid to go barefoot anywhere in the room. It had a stench too. We couldn't open any windows because of the air conditioner. Not that we wanted to - there was some kind of abandon house behind us. The fire escape had at least 20 bags of rotting garbage piled on it. The back door which was just outside of our room was not locked.

All in all it was a dirty little hotel. I would have rather slept on the street in our car than stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel de L'Elysee
Hotel de L'Elysee
#144 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#43 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#107 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#114 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#92 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#104 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Louisbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Louisbourg Hotel

Property: Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Address: 1649 Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Louisbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing