We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in the heart of Le Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Ranked #1 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here! The hosts, Phillipe & Nicolas, are very friendly, welcoming, and gracious. The B&B is super quiet--even when it is full! I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms next to the shared bathroom. The room was very comfortable and very clean. It had a sink, a TV, an air conditioner and most importantly a strong Wi-Fi connection. The bed was super comfortable and very clean-I normally toss and turn at night in an unfamiliar bed - not here. The bathroom was all modern and new. And, it was always clean - don't know how they managed that!

I did not take advantage of breakfast every morning as I either slept in or tried to be out and about as early in the day as possible. But the couple times i joined breakfast, I enjoyed the food and the company.

I highly recommend this B&B - it is a great value in a great location with such very excellent hosts!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate about the shared bathroom. The rooms I saw each had a sink. And I never had to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierrejosephbradette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nicolas and Philippe are very welcoming and make you feel at home. Breakfasts were a fun social moment that reminded me of a large family or a student flat. Everyone shares the table and you get to meet guests from all over the world and exchange tourist tips with them and the hosts. We met Italians, Indians, Russians. I recommend Philippe's egg and cheese speciality!

There are Montreal guidebooks and maps to borrow during your stay. The BBV is right around the corner from St Catherine street which is a pedestrian area full of restaurants and shops. Very nice area with a Metro station very close by.

Our room was very small (room 10 I think, right opposite to the kitchen), not the kind you would spend a lot of time in, but comfortable. Shades/blinds do not do a very good job of blocking sunlight but that was the case in every single hotel we stayed in Canada except one (7 hotels in all).

We had never stayed at a BB before and it was a pleasant experience. We would definitely go back to BBV if we ever return to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Philippe and Nicolas are warm hosts, and over our nine days there we enjoyed friendly and amusing conversations--both with them and with their other international guests. They are great housekeepers and served excellent breakfasts. (The egg and cheese sandwich on "English" muffin was a special treat, and the croissants and bread were freshly baked each morning.)
The room and bath, which were beautiful and comfortable, were cleaned and the towels refreshed daily. The whole B&B is cozy and welcoming, with upstairs and downstairs porches on an inner court, perfect for reading and visiting in the cool afternoons.
BBV is in the heart of the Gay Village, just 1 1/2 block from Beaudry metro station (itself just one stop from the central Berri-UQAM station). Restaurants and coffeehouses are within walking distance in both directions on Rue St. Catherine--which is closed to vehicles in the summer and a popular promenade for both gay and straight folks of all sorts.
We greatly appreciated the guidance and recommendations both Nicolas and Philippe gave us about restaurants and sites of interest. Great friends. BTW, Slooby, the French spaniel, is as sweet as she can be.
We would gladly visit again.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms which share a common bath are just as attractive and comfortable as those with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful hosts, a filling breakfast...this place really made our time in Montreal pleasant. And there's parking on site! The BBV is right near Rue Saint Catherine, which is convenient, but it's on a side street so it feels removed from all the commotion. Really nice to sit on the back porch at night and listen to the wind in the trees. Nothing but good things to say about this place. Stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jartrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I feel like I am echoing the sentiments of many other visitors, but here goes nonetheless: Philippe and Nicolas are excellent hosts, and truly make you feel at home in this charming B&B. We spoke in French on the phone when confirming our reservation and arrival time, but they both also speak excellent English, which is a relief when you are tired from a long day's drive! We chose room 20, one of three with an en suite bathroom. The room, although small by American hotel standards, was just perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower was terrific. Breakfast was continental plus -- Philippe was happy to make eggs or a breakfast sandwich to order, and they also offered some local cheeses and breads. Both Philippe and Nicolas were very helpful with tips on what to see and how to get around. All in all, a perfect stay in a great location!

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 and 20 have private en suite washrooms with showers. Room 20, although on the street, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I felt right at home with host Phillipe! Breakast was wonderful and he could not be more accomadating and friendly. Would defintely recommend to all. Their place is beautiful and an excellent location. Their place is decorating very nicely and it seemed to be very well maintained!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a private bath and the bed was very comfortable! Felt right at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this fine bed and breakfast in Montreal. The hosts , Phillipe and Nicholas, were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are a tad bit small but for us it was ok since we were hardly in the room. The breakfast is very lively and filling . The best part is that you get to interact with fellow travellers at the breakfast table which is never the case when staying in some hotel. Phillipe was kind enough to help out with maps and books on Montreal . This place is also very near to a metro. Met some lovely and interesting people here. I can go on and on !!!! Lets just say it was a great stay in Montreal *****

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 10. Had a squeaky bed which I was told would be replaced soon. Room was street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kauserdabhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
409 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,417 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV

Address: 1279 Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $122 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BBV, situated in the heart of Montreal, in the Village, sets itself apart by its warm and welcoming atmosphere. Boasting its clean and comfortable rooms, covered parking, onsite laundry and a nice kitchen, you will feel right at home. Proud of over 22 years experience in the hospitality, we know that our spacious and clean accommodations add to the quality of your stay. Please note that the prices listed are based on double occupancy and include continental breakfast for two, television, cable, wireless Internet and new central air conditioning. We look forward to acting as your hosts! Comfort and Warmth: our Bed and Breakfast. Philippe and Nicolas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Du Village - Bbv
Bed & Breakfast Du Village - Bbv Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing