We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Ranked #1 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Montreal”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice bed & breakfast.. Comfortable.. Really nice owners, and a great location in the heart of the Gay village in Montreal, plus close to Old Montreal and the cultural area. I've been staying there at the end of May and end of November for the last 7 years. I have my reservation set for this coming November!!

Room Tip: Room 20 is upstairs so it is quieter, plus has it's own private bathroom.. Really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjfrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    53
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
325
81
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the property was fine. Not luxurious, but fine. Good location. Hosts not as friendly as others have remarked... maybe it was us? On our first morning, the host told us breakfast was not included. Not sure why... as their name and website indicates that it is. We ate breakfast at a nearby restaurant both of mornings there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysebaert p, Owner at Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guests,

It is unfortunate your experience at the BBV was not up to your expectations. At the time of your reservation, the BBV was already fully booked, so we offered you our cottage for your stay. As the cottage is not part of the BBV and has its own fully-equipped kitchen, breakfast is not typically included . That is mentioned twice on our website (please see our Rooms and Rates pages) and confirmed with Tripadvisor reviews by guests who stayed in the cottage.

As with all our guests, we did everything within our power to offer you a great stay in Montreal. We arranged an early check-in and were happy to provide you with a travel guide and other useful information. On your first morning, you showed up for breakfast around 11:30 am, and even though breakfast had finished a half an hour earlier we kindly offered you breakfast, which you refused.

We apologize for the misunderstanding and will do our best to avoid a similar situation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very pleasant surprise. One always takes a bit of a chance on a B & B but with the tools available nowadays a little research is often well rewarded. That was the case with BBV. We stayed in the cottage, a lovely self contained up & down apartment. Very clean, well appointed and contemporary in style. Off street parking for $10 meant we used the very convenient metro station- Beaudry 5 mins away. I would not recommend the cottage to the elderly as the stairs to the bedroom are steep and narrow. A very convenient location as we were there for the fireworks and enjoyed the people watching on St Catherine. Breakfast was not included with the cottage but the full kitchen makes serving yourself very easy. Given the opportunity we would definitely choose to stay here again. "Sloopy" (sp) the dog made us feel right at home. Almost forgot - The email communication was excellent. Always a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've stayed at the BBV 3 times. They continue to upgrade their bed and breakfast to ensure that their visitors have a great stay. New this time, they upgraded central air so our stay was nice and cool even during the heat wave. They have always been very helpful and their place is extremely welcoming (and very convenient location). We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: make sure to let them know if you want the en-suite washroom, or if you're ok using the shared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I totally recommend phil and Nicolas's b&b, it's central, very cosy and offers a lot of peace in the busy neighbouring streets of the village. the room is comfortable and stylish and the hosts are the friendliest in town as well as being serious they keep a good dose of humour which distinguishes them from the others! and Phil's breakfast is a treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobertberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at the BBV for a few days in early July as a single woman, and I always felt safe and welcome. The location couldn't be more perfect--ease of access to all areas via walking or subway--and Phillipe is a wealth and warm source of info. Rooms are pristine and comfortable as well! I'll stay here again whenever I visit Montreal again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

i have stayed at the house for 10 years and love the location you cannot beat it close to everything and feeling of being so weclomed during your stay . Phillpe and Nicolas are perfect host so warn , caring and wecloming they have make the place very special. They alsohave done an outstanding job in some great improvemnts to the house, it truly an amazing place to stay . They make you feel at home and the rooms are so clean and great beds . I love this b and b and will not go wrong staying here, I highly recommend this B&B if you are heading to Montreal i know i will back again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
242 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,317 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV

Property: Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Address: 1279 Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BBV, situated in the heart of Montreal, in the Village, sets itself apart by its warm and welcoming atmosphere. Boasting its clean and comfortable rooms, covered parking, onsite laundry and a nice kitchen, you will feel right at home. Proud of over 22 years experience in the hospitality, we know that our spacious and clean accommodations add to the quality of your stay. Please note that the prices listed are based on double occupancy and include continental breakfast for two, television, cable, wireless Internet and new central air conditioning. We look forward to acting as your hosts! Comfort and Warmth: our Bed and Breakfast. Philippe and Nicolas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Du Village - Bbv Hotel Montreal
Bed And Breakfast Du Village - Bbv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing