We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great job!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Montreal Westmount

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Ranked #73 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
“Great job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Westmount. it was our first visit to montreal and we wanted to stay close to town. we love residence inns and this one is clean, functional, and perfect for staying in the city. not as kid friendly as we'd hoped - no game rooms, fun pools, etc - but we weren't there to play. we came to sleep, relax, and stay refreshed. the westmount accomplished all of that. the pool at the top was AWESOME and relaxing, albeit a bit small for several people to enjoy at the same time. helpful, tri-lingual staff who know the area well, provide anything you need, and explain everything without making you feel like you should know what they're talking about. the only "meh" about the whole experience was the free evening buffets - VERY simple, cafeteria style food, and very limited choices. but again, it's free, and that's terrific, and its just enough to get the body going in the morning and perfect for an early evening snack. Afrterall, you're downtown, you're gonna eat in other places anyway. Grocery store, shopping mall, and metro just a few blocks away. Super safe area for walking too. Bravo, Westmont! We will see you again next year!

Room Tip: the suites are as described on the website. we had a room facing the alley behind the building so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Boy Troy,
Thank you so much for choosing the Residence Inn Westmount during your recent trip to Montreal, and thank you for sharing your feeback with us and the Trip Advisor community. The staff greatly appreciated your kind compliments. Please come back to see us soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    232
    106
    42
    23
See reviews for
167
136
47
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I like the Residence Inn for the kitchens, I feel more at home. There is some variety among this product and in this case, it was the BEST RESIDENCE INN I EVER STAYED IN!!! Wow, in 20 years of traveling that is huge. I came to Montreal for a family reunion and burned up some points for three rooms. My room had a separate bedroom/bathroom and living room/dining room/kitchen/exit to patio, it was a suite with a city view. My friends had the room just across the hall, which was a mirror of mine except for the view of Mont Royal. I paid the same points for all the rooms (15k/nt) though my daughter's down the hall was a studio or efficiency-type room (but still nice).

Their breakfast bar is well stocked with a variety of coffee tea hot chocolate eggs bacon sausage cereal muffins and even waffle irons to make your own. The family had some fun with that!

The hotel's location is 2-3 blocks from the Rue St. Catherine and the Atwater metro station. When we went there were a lot of things going on - conventions, parades, etc. so the Westmount area was perfect for being close enough to downtown but far enough away to not be inconvenienced much. There are tons of restaurants and shopping, a convenient pharmacy, liquor store, and grocery all clustered nearby.

Give yourself extra travel time from the room to the lobby if you have to be somewhere at 9 a.m. because the elevators get VERY busy around this time.

Room Tip: IMHO, mountain view (North side) is nicer than city view but rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear MsMMiler,
Thank you for your review! We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay in Montreal at the Residence Inn Westmount.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Quiet neighborhood.... friendly staff..... great breakfast... kid friendly. My only complaint? The elevators are terribly slow... that was it. The room was excellent... clean comfortable. Large spacious. Just make sure your on the highest or lowest floor because if its rush hour ( breakfast or check out ) you won't make it into most elevators as they are usually packed as they are so small.

Room Tip: high floor facing north for the beautiful view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_aexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear john_aexander1,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Residence Inn Westmount with Trip Advisor travellers. It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in Montreal soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a residential neighborhood. It's a few blocks to shopping, restaurants and the metro. The area is great if you don't like the crowds or hustle and bustle of a downtown. I booked this hotel based on reviews, price and the availability of a 2 bedroom suite which was reasonable compared to other hotels. Our suite was on the 6th floor close to the main entrance which faces an apartment building. The back of the hotel has mountain and city views (higher up) which I requested ahead of time but obviously did not get that. Be aware that if you get a room that faces the front, you will hear people talking on the street, some traffic (not too much) and truck deliveries starting bright and early. I remember hearing a truck unloading at 6:30 a.m.! The walls and windows are thin and the air conditioner was noisy. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The indoor pool and gym are on the penthouse floor. We didn't swim, but at night you can go out on the balcony and see the city all lit up which was beautiful. On a positive note I have to say that the staff and other people that we met treated us very nicely. For shopping I recommend taking the metro to Atwater, Peel and Mcgill streets for the underground shopping and mall food. Mcgill has a 4-story mall with boutiques and better stores. Old Montreal is charming with it's shops, restaurants and cobble stone streets. We also took the double decker guided bus tour of the island. Pretty much takes you every where and you can stop off to go sight see. There are buses every 1/2 hour to pick you up. No problems with the language. They speak French and English. We had a nice time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Former-Ohioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Former-Ohioan,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you had a nice time at the Residence Inn Westmount while in Montreal. We hope to welcoming you again, don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone to request a higher-floor room, we'll be more than happy to arrange this for you!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is well-managed, in my opinion. It is a converted building, so the rooms are a different style than the typical Residence Inn. Our room was quite small, the layout somewhat tight and the bed was only full-size. There are also only two elevators, which can lead to a longer wait. However, many of these things are beyond the control of management. On the plus side, the rooms/suites are clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is excellent and the hotel's location is great - in a pretty quiet residential area but only a block from the metro. All in all, I would recommend this property - and I'm a former hotel general manager.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 828Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear 828Mike,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor travellers!
We are glad to read that you had a pleasant experience at the Residence Inn Montreal Westmount. It is true that our neighborhood is great: located in a quiet residential area, we are also just steps from metro station & downtown.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was quite happy with this place. It was a busy weekend in town and this place was the most reasonably priced of hotels downtown. Location is really nice on a quieter street, but close to a metro stop and an easy walk to other areas downtown. The room was nice and the top floor pool and balcony quite a treat. Breakfast was also quite impressive. A large buffet with huge variety and several staff around making sure things are fresh and clean. The person I spoke to during the phone check out was hugely pleasant and polite. Only downside is that the wait for elevators can be lengthy. This is a fairly large property and there are only two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heliconone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Heliconone,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Apparently we arrived at a particularly bad time as there were many people checking in at the same time as we were..... Even though I called ahead to ensure that there is parking on site, there was NOT! We drive a van and they have parking for little vehicles only:( So....how do you check into a hotel on a small one way street that has no pull up and no parking (and you are the only driver travelling with 4 children?) When I called the "help" button on the street, they sent someone out to find out what the problem was...... The driver was nauseous, the baby screaming and desperate to be nursed and the 7 year old needing the bathroom. His helpful suggestion.... put all our luggage and children on the sidewalk and park at the closest parking lot only a few blocks away!!!!!!!!! SERIOUSLY??? There was much more hideousness to this story, but I'll end my rant here. The only things that saved this hotel from getting a "terrible" review instead of just poor, was Karine at the front desk and the hotel breakfast- these two made our stay a little more enjoyable.
We loved our view of Mont Royal and the kids liked the pool. The HVAC system in our room was incredibly noisy. I cannot imagine us booking here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper level facing Mont Royal- GORGEOUS!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Miranda J,
We do regret that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback since customer service is our priority and comments able us to better ourselves.
Being in a quiet residential area, street parking can be very difficult. Thankfully the city has allowed us to have a 15 minutes drop-off area that can fit up to 5-6 vehicles and that is used for the arrival of our guests at the hotel before they are given access to our indoor parking which has a 5’6 clearance. For larger vehicles, an outdoor lot located 2 blocks away is made available to our guest.
Once again we regret not meeting your expectations and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#41 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Montreal Westmount

Property: Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Address: 2170 Lincoln Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Marriott, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing