We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must to do when visiting Montreal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kava Tours

Kava Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.42*
and up
Ice Wine Tour from Montreal with Exclusive Winery Access
Ranked #4 of 23 Food & Drink in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With departures from Montreal and the Eastern Townships, Kava Tours is Quebec's only wine tour specialist. Kava Tours carefully plans its tours to ensure that your experience at Quebec's top vineyards is second to none. With Kava Tours you are guaranteed to taste an exceptional selection of products and participate in exclusive activities.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must to do when visiting Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We decided to book a wine tour before we left for our holiday in Canada & through our research, we booked with Kava Tours. It was a full day trip & we were picked up fairly near to our hotel. We had an enjoyable day visiting three different wineries, one which specialised in apple cider & iced apple wine - which was absolutely amazing. At the last vineyard we were also given three different varieties of cheeses to try. We were given a packed lunch at the second vineyard which contained a well filled sandwich, crudities, a maple tart, which was to die for, & fruit. The driver, who was also the guide, spoke excellent English & helped us out with any questions we had about the vineyards. It was a very enjoyable day & we would definitely use Kava Tours again - Well Done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kazlar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    29
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small, Local, Passionate: a Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

A wine tour in Quebec? Might sound odd but it's actually a great experience. The people you meet, including guide and driver Gaëlle, are passionate people who explain what they do with their heart and soul. They take you places that are amazingly beautiful (I did the half-day tour which took us to the Montérégie) and to vineyards where winemakers are audacious, friendly and take pride in anything locally sourced. It's a great activity that takes you out of Montreal. I did this tour in late automn - the colours where still astonishing and the day was sunny which made it all the more magical.
The wine tasting itself is fun and informative. Quebec wines from that region are very mineral and have a specific taste. Whether you like them or not is beside the point: the experience is great and Kava Tours' organization impeccable and friendly. Kudos to this small business. I highly recommend it. Note to Kava Tours: including lunch for an additional fee with the half-day tour could be an interesting third option (in addition to the full day and the half day tour).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yulcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wineries in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great tour. Gayle was our guide and we visited two small wineries. At both locations, our hosts were gracious and informative, the vineyards offered spectacular views of the area, the wines were delicious, and the cheese tasty. It really opened my eyes (and palate) to Montreal wines and cheeses.
Do it!
Robyn

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RS923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I took the tour after receiving a gift certificate from our kids. I must admit I had low expectations having just come back from a 3 week tour of the Bordeaux region in France, the wine mecca of the world. Well much to our surprise we had a great half day tour. The tour guide Gaele was very nice and engaging while the wineries we visited had passionate and interesting
winemakers who are very articulate and knowledgeable. We are from montreal and I would encourage locals and tourists alike to take a tour. Worth every penny and very enjoyable!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful day and tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

On a recent trip to Montreal for my Mom's birthday, we took the Kava full day winery tour with Michel as our guide. Michel is an absolute pro, both as a driver and guide! We thoroughly enjoyed our day, visiting 3 beautiful wineries. The winemakers who hosted us were knowledgeable, friendly and very accommodating to the French and English visitors in our group. The wines we tasted were excellent. The lunch provided was delicious. We were very well looked after!
When we dropped part of our group off in Bromont, Michel informed us the bus brake light was on and he did not feel confident driving back to Montreal. We all really appreciated the fact he did not take our safety lightly. There were 9 of us remaining on the bus so we were treated to drinks at the local pub while we waited for the owner to arrive with a van and suv. Michel handled everything very professionally and we had a wonderful time visiting with him and the others in our group.
The co-owner of Kava, Benoit, was our driver back to Montreal. The traffic was horrible, but he spent the long ride answering my Mom's many questions. We learned a ton about his company, Quebec, his travels, etc. Even though we arrived home late and tired, we enjoyed the whole experience, plus, we each received an excellent bottle of wine as a gift from Kava. I have taken several other winery tours in other parts of the world and felt this was among the best. I would highly recommend Kava.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kava Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kava Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing