We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the train folks”

VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Take the train folks”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

my first time on a train and we all loved it. The food was much better than the plane and the stop was in our hotel where we stayed. Can it get any better?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaim1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    205
    60
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“its safe”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

comming as a tourist especially late at night from a long trip you want to make sure your safe, i got a taxi quickly and was on my way, the down part is that most shops are closed so if you want to exchange money dont count on doing it there if your train comes in after 9 pm

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank steph rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great train service and one heck of a food court!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Travelled from Ottawa to Montreal business class on Via 1.
I skipped the lunch but had red wine and took advantage of the free WiFi to continue with my business for most of the duration. This is a real bargain way to travel comfortably and for a good price point for business travel. The Montreal station is conveniently located smack in the centre of downtown within walking distance of a wide variety of lodging, dinning, and entertainment options. My favorite hotel brands are all within a few minutes walk.

The food court at this station is really something. Everything for every taste spread over a huge area. Several brand name eateries as well as uniquely "Montréalais" venues that offer boutique gifts for your palate...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great service on trains - no stress!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were a family group travelling from Montreal to Quebec and back on the train for a wedding.Some of us were in business class and others in economy so we got to look at both. We found the organisation of boarding the train was just great - orderly and timely fashion and the train itself was very comfortable. In economy, there was plenty of leg room and the seat goes back a bit as well. But the scenery on the way is just terrific - so for a 3 hour journey, the economy was as good as anything. The staff on board were great and very friendly both ways. In business you get a table to sit around, more leg room and a meal included but not that necessary for such a short journey. Free wifi on the train which is great. Watch out if you have a lot of heavy bags as you will be charged extra for weight over the normal baggage.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Large full-service train station”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have travelled through this station a number of times as it is the main hub for Via Rail in Eastern Canada. It is also attached to the Metro subway, the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth, and is the terminal for a number of commuter trains. What makes waiting for a train more than tolerable is the number and variety of restaurants and services attached to the station.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station also viewed

 

Been to VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing