We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice train”

VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We took this train from montreal canada to quebec city both ways cost about $94 .The train is nice and has comfortable seats 2 to a row and it has english and french speaking staff they offer drinks and snacks aboard. windows are large for a nice view of the farm land etc.The way from montreal to Quebec city was nice except for a squeaky car that squeaked the whole way and gave most passengers in car 3 a headache..other than that it was good. Now the way back from quebec to montreal was a different story though..Weather was pretty hot in the 90's -100 outside and train started out with cool air conditioning =good--less than one hour in to the trip --no air conditioning--(this is a 3 hour trip one way) the car was heating up and felt like an oven--it was not good at all and there was no staff to ask what was going on...extremely uncomfortable -we pulled into the station at montreal and guess what turns on? The air conditioning..what could have been an lovely trip turned sour and uncomfortable-ruined my day-not good

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shazamm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    180
    56
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Business Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We took the train to Quebec City for a day trip and splurged on business class. We got to wait in the Panorama lounge, which was nice considering the train was delayed quite a bit. The lounge had wifi, newspapers, TVs, juices and a coffee machine. I had expected better amenities
(the coffee was terrible) but the luxury of not having to wait in line was well worth it.

The business class train was disappointing. It was clean, but old and just didn't feel like an upgrade. The coach seats in Amtrak's Northeast corridor are better. The food was terrible, but it is nice to be served on a train. If there is a cold entree available, go for that. The wine is good. We had great service on the way to Quebec City, and so much much on the way back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank gl0betr0tter_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Montreal to Quebec City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wow! What a way to go! We had 7 days in Montreal so decided to take the train for one day to Quebec City. The ride is over 3 hours each way but the train is so comfortable and the people are so so nice. There were 4 of us so we booked the first class cabin rows 14 &15 which is set up with a table so we face each other... perfect. We took the 7:10 am out of Montreal station and arrived in Quebec City by 10:30. Its a short walk to the main part of the walled city tourist area which is full of beautiful things to see. We explored the top sites and had a wonderful lunch and a 1 hour hansom cab ride around the town. And the weather was ideal... 72 degrees and sunny. The train departed back to Montreal at 5:30 pm. The day was fabulous and the train ride made it so easy! Note: the breakfast served on the train was not great but the dinner was very good and the service was superb! Even the bathrooms on the train were great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank TravelingTina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
720 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Great Modren Train Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went to this train station to ride a return train trip back to Toronto Union Station. A very large modern train station that was very clean plus lot's of space. Good place to people watch as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Via Rail Montreal to Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

So you are visiting Canada and want to know if you should use Via Rail? I use the Toronto to Montreal service regularly and find very little to complain about. The trains generally run on time, but occasionally they have equipment failure or the trains get held up by track traffic. If this happens and you have serious delays,Via always tries to make it right Via has a very complete and easy to use website, which prospective passengers should consult. There are special fares often available which can be very attractive Two classes of service are offered, with business class costing about twice as much as regular. However, you get more services, including hot meals in business.
Transit time downtown to downtown is in the 4 1/2 to 5 1/2 hour range which compares favorably to air travel with much less aggravation. Canadian trains are not as luxurious as those in some European countries, but satisfactory accommodations are offered according to the itinerary. Track can be quite rough at times, especially when going through switches at speed.
There is plenty to see from the windows of the train, and a good book will make the trip whizz by.If you decide to go economy it is a good idea to take a meal with you on the train. At Montreal, I recommend Dame Nature on the concourse Where you can get a satisfying soup and sandwich for $10 to $12. If you tell them it's for the train they will make sure you have cutlery, napkins etc. Coffee and tea on the train is good and reasonably priced, and service is always cheerful.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station also viewed

 

Been to VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing