We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Tandem

Restaurant Tandem
Ranked #79 of 5,655 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Description: Where is Tandem? Located on Villeray Street near metro Jarry, Tandem is a neighborhood bring your own wine restaurant that welcomes you in its warm and intimate setting. What do they eat? In tandem, the chef offers a host of French inspiration table includes three services and varies seasonally. Discover refined and inventive dishes opting for our tasting menus five or seven services, you will love the kitchen Pascal. Who is Tandem? Tandem is owned by an imaginative couple. Having both worked in restaurants for many years, this young energetic and enthusiast couple has decided to open its first restaurant in February 2011. Pascal is a chef of the new generation, passionate about his craft and who charmingly combines flavors and colors on your plate. Ericka, meanwhile, welcomes you with a pleasant mood and an attentive professional service. And our team? Tandem is also a professional, warm and dynamic team that will make sure you spend a lovely evening. Bring your best bottle and come see us! A scoop? In summer time we have a nice front terrace to enjoy warm evenings!
Montreal
Level Contributor
279 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was a group dinner organized by one friend. It was a large group so the restaurant closed for just us. We had our "cellar-master" organize the wines. First of all, the staff was terrific, they took our coats, poured the bubbly, served the "munchies" making sure everybody got a chance at them.. and they were great. beef satay, gouda rice balls perfectly crispy and a salmon tartare. The courses were equally great from the sea dory, and the lamb to the duo dessert. All the wines were served at the appropriate time. For a small BYOB typically used to handling individual tables of 2 or 4, they handled our 40+ with aplomb. My only beef.. paper napkins. However, despite that, I would definitely go back. I did see the usual blackboard menu, so I don't know if they usually use a "paper" one as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tedster074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandemrestaurant, Propriétaire at Restaurant Tandem, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment
We hope to welcome you again in our restaurant
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    17
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious neighborhood restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

First of, it is a BYOW and the closest SAQ is a 7-10 min walk away and has regular shop hours, so think ahead if you want to avoid dépanneur wine!

Although it's a small, square (wherever you sit, you see all the tables) restaurant and the tables are close to each other, it's cozy and intimate enough to have a romantic dinner. Our waitress, Amélie, was joyful and friendly. The staff was also friendly and professional and contributed to the atmosphere of the restaurant.

The food is delectable with subtle flavors and nicely presented. I had
verdure aux pommes: tasty vinaigrette with poppy seeds
croustillant de chèvre: crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside with subtle chèvre flavor
filet de veau avec son espuma de champignons et pommes de terre dauphinois au gouda: meat melts in the mouth and the gouda gives a good kick of flavors to the potatoes.
My husband had:
potage courge butternut avec confiture de marron: flavorsome and creamy
crevettes sauce vierge à l'ail: nicely presented and garlicky!
tartare de boeuf, noix de pin: generous portion of finely chopped meat, pine nuts, onions, and loads of garlic. Lighter overall taste than other versions which is refreshing.
For dessert, we shared a 'lemon pie' which is in reality a generous portion of smooth, subtly flavored lemon cream with a crunchy buttery biscuit on top.
Longue life to Tandem in my lovely neighborhood!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy and soooo nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Time after time, always good food, warm ambiance, nice service. One of the owner serve at table and she is gorgeous ! The menu written on a blackboard is varied - always good choice - good price too and it's a bring your own wine. In addition there is a small terrace at the front of the restaurant.
One of the best BYOW in Montreal for now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NRRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must try !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very good experience, I've been there 3 times and will definitely go back ! Good for couples and friends. Need to reserve on Friday and Saturday :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy little BYOW French resto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's hard to get a reservation as the place is really tiny. I do not mind that it's so small, as they pay more attention to details and the food was great. After the meal, the chef even came out to ask our opinions on his food. We will definitely go back as the menu changes with the seasons.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinybijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tandem also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Tandem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing