We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamie Clafoutis

Mamie Clafoutis
Ranked #19 of 89 Bakeries in Montreal
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Outremont
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We craved something light for lunch after too many great but filling (and expensive) meals in Montreal restaurants. We happened by this bakery on the rue St Denis near Cherrier and ventured in. Beautiful place, warm and friendly, filled with the wonderful aroma of baking bread, offering the most delicious, freshly made sandwich creations at very reasonable prices. For us Americans, it gave new meanng to the term "sandwich." Yummy chocolate croissants and other pastries too, and a delightful loft area to sit and enjoy at leisure while talking about all the interesting sights we'd seen in Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AOKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome bread and other tasty treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wheter you want a nice bread or a simply delicious croissant this is the place to go!
They have great coffee too!
The choices of viennoiseries and breads they have are unbelievable and all delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Patisserie heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well, this is not a french patisserie. Their specialty is more on the viennoises and breads. Light and buttery croissants you can only dream of. Croissant amandine or with pistachio. Of course chocolatines and a ganache filled croissant called "oh mon dieu". All sinfully delicious.
Great stop for breakfast and a must for your brunch. You will find breads like you only see in magazines. You can also get outstanding sandwiches. And the coffee is not bad either. You can eat on location on an upstairs floor overlooking the kitchen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Artisanal Baking at Mamie Clafoutis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Walking on St. Denis, we were drawn in immediately to this little pastry shop. Despite it's name, its not a dessert-only place, but features a wide selection of mouth-watering, artisanal breads, tarts, and pastries.

It's an order-at-the-counter place, with real bakery activity in the background, and a nice loft to sit to enjoy your purchases.

As it is apple season, the bakery featured a number of seasonal items: bacon and apple baguette, apple tarts, tarte tatin, and a whole host of other delights. They change their items based on local product, so frequent visits would be a great way of keeping up with the selection!

We ordered butter croissants, a chocolatine (chocolate-filled croissant) and a lemon meringue tartelette, tea, and espresso. All of these goods were consumed right before supper, as they were so tempting.

A definite recommendation for anyone travelling through Montreal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best French Bakery in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We found this bakery in a NatGeo Montreal app and decided to go. We found a closer yet smaller brach on St. Denis street. When we got there we were greeted by wonderful smells, kind staff and mouth watering breads. We deiced to have breakfast there and then take some baguettes for lunch. We ordered an Almond Croissant, which was delicious. The tarts are also great and you can see the whole baking process from the small dining area upstairs. The ambience is great and so is the food. A must go in the city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamie Clafoutis also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Mamie Clafoutis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing