We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Level Your Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Versailles
Ranked #64 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Level Your Expectations”
Reviewed August 17, 2006

This is a boutique hotel in a very good downtown location. I arrived with great expectations because of impressive pictures I had seen of other Le Meridien hotels, but I was immediately disappointed. When we got off the elevator to our floor, we were struck by the cold, dark passageway. Our room was average size but the bathroom was tiny. Overall, the room decor left much to be desired, especially for a hotel marketed as a four-star and on some websites, it's even listed surprisingly as five-star. It's definitely not the latter. Though clean and spacious, a room with frayed bedspreads, not-so-clean carpets, and limited sunlight was not very inviting. It was definitely OK for the rate we got, but I don't think we'll stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bathroom and the room decor and ambiance
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    235
    142
    61
    20
See reviews for
108
209
62
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I stayed here for 1 night. The location is fine since it's on Sherbrooke and a few blocks away from St Catherine's. It's about 2-3 blocks away from the metro station. It is a smallish boutique hotel. I received a smaller Queen room on the Exec floor. As a Plat, I should have gotten a better upgrade but I'll accept it since I know the hotel was sold out for the time I was here.

The room has been renovated and reminds me of a W hotel. However, you can tell it's age since not everything is renovated, most notably the bathroom. The bathroom toiletries were from Crabtree & Evelyn and were pretty good. The a/c unit is the older type that is against the window but worked well enough. The bed is not a Heavenly bed and was a little softer than I expected. But, quite decent and was able to sleep well. Surprisingly, the alarm clock was glued to the end table and I couldn't move it. Was there a lot of theft in the past? The desk provided was an average size. The biggest gripe is that they only offer wireless highspeed internet and I had to go across the street to the sister hotel to get internet access.

The service encountered was top notch. The wait staff in the restaurant (Bronte) was excellent. As a Plat, I was told I was entitled to a free breakfast. When I got there and sat down with my food, I was told I was entitled to a continental breakfast only and had to pay an upcharge for the hot buffet. It was only $4 so I considered it reasonable but thought the check-in staff should have been more specific. I have no idea how the dinner is but the prices looked reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Braindrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Stayed in Montreal end of Nov 2005 for the U2 concert, cold and snowy but a warm and friendly hotel. Small foyer bar etc but nice well proportioned rooms with all usual mod cons.
Booked it last minute so was delighted with price. A mere 500yrds from the bustle of downtown Montreal and McGill Uni. A great place to visit any time of year. Would definetely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We needed a suite with adjoining room for elderly father-in-law and this hotel was the only hotel in Montreal who could accomodate. Very, very nice rooms. Spacious with great view of Mont Blanc. Very accomodating staff. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tandbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2005

As people have stated, this is a recent conversion property. The elevator is small but typical of an old boutique hotel, which is fine. But it needs to be renovated.

The rooms are small, I stayed in an executive room although I booked a small suite, and it was nice except for the bathroom. The bathroom needs to be renovated.

I accept the fact that everything is smaller since this is an old boutique hotel, but the bathrooms need some serious work for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveler993996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2005.

It is well located for bars, shopping and parks but a bit of a way from the old town.

The room was spacious and comfortable although there was some noise from the elevator located next to the room.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chall32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

It really should be 3.5 stars but I'll give them 4. I got a decent rate on a "jacuzzi suite". First, the jacuzzi is just a couple of jets in the bathtub but it fills quickly and with very hot water. Bathroom is not big but nice with marble everywhere. Suite just means a larger room with a small sitting area on one end, I've been in larger "non-suites". I guess it's the whole European boutique thing where smaller is better, that's seems to be the whole feel throughout the hotel. The lobby is small, the gym is small, the elevators are small, etc. If you are claustrophobic, look elsewhere. I also stayed in a regular room over New Years, same deal but not as nice in the service dept. The staff is friendly and helpful for the most part. Location is good, just far enough away to be quiet but not too far to walk to everything (unless it's 35F and raining, then it seems like it's miles away!). Bottom line, if you get a great rate, stay here, if you can find something cheaper, stay there!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hjs19712003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#61 of 164 in Montreal
521 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#42 of 164 in Montreal
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Versailles

Property: Le Meridien Versailles
Address: 1808, Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Versailles 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on elegant Sherbrooke Street West in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, Le Meridien Versailles is just a few steps from trendy Montreal boutiques, art galleries and eminent museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Versailles Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Montreal
Montreal Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing